Locating Midwifery Books
Find links below to Midwifery core texts and new titles in both print and e-book formats.
To browse the catalogue for additional print and e-books, try using the following Subject Headings: Childbirth, Labor (Obstetrics), Maternity Nursing, Midwifery, Midwives, Nurse Midwives, Obstetrics, Pregnancy.
To browse for print books in person, visit Woodward Library and try the following call numbers: WP Gynecology, WP 400-480 Uterus and Cervix Uteri, WP 505-660 Physiology and Functional Disorders, WQ 1-175 Obstetrics, WQ 200-260 Pregnancy, WQ 300-330 Labour, WQ 400-450 Obstetrical Surgery, WQ 500-505 Puerperium
Also, see other core resources such as:
McMaster Midwifery Education eBook Bundle
1st Year Core Readings
-
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking
by
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781496398178Publication Date: 2020-08-26 -
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking
by
Call Number: WB205 .B583b 2017ISBN: 9781496398178Publication Date: 2020-08-26
-
Bates' Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking
by
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781975109875Publication Date: 2020-11-25 -
-
Breastfeeding Answers
by
Call Number: WS125 .M699 2020ISBN: 1734523905Publication Date: 2020-05-15 -
-
-
Maternal, Fetal, and Neonatal Physiology 5th ed.
by
Call Number: WQ205 .B532 2018Publication Date: 2017-11-01 -
Optimal Care in Childbirth: The Case for a Physiological Approach
by
Call Number: WQ175 .G63 2012Publication Date: 2012 -
Tappero & Honeyfield's Physical Assessment of the Newborn, 7th Ed.
by
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780826140623Publication Date: 2024-02-28 -
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780323761833Publication Date: 2022-03-02 -
Skills for Midwifery Practice, 5E
by
Call Number: WQ165 .J68s 2023ISBN: 9780702081910Publication Date: 2022-03-22 -
2nd Year Additional Core Readings
-
-
Fundamentals of Fetal Health Surveillance Online Manual
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2021
-
3rd Year Additional Core Readings
-
-
-
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination
by
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 0323761836Publication Date: 2022-03-02
4th Year Additional Core Readings
Recommended / Optional Books for First Year and Beyond
-
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 15e
by
Call Number: Woodward Library Reserve Collection & BMB Library (VGH) & Okanagan Library - QV4 .B382ISBN: 9781260452310Publication Date: 2020-12-05 -
-
-
-
-
Examination of the Newborn
by
Call Number: WS141 .E96 2021ISBN: 9781119645597Publication Date: 2021-06-01 -
-
-
Gray's Anatomy for Students
by
Call Number: QS4 .D762g 2020ISBN: 9780323611053Publication Date: 2019-02-22 -
-
Guidelines on Sexually Transmitted Infections
by
Call Number: Online from PHACPublication Date: 2016 & updates -
Holistic Midwifery - A Comprehension Textbook for Midwives in Homebirth Practice
by
Call Number: Woodward Library - WQ165 .F948h 1998ISBN: 9781891145551Publication Date: 1998-04-01
-
Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Physiology
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781496385826Publication Date: 2019-01-08 -
-
-
-
Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk
by
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780826163134Publication Date: 2025 -
The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119235101Publication Date: 2017-11-15 -
Mims' Medical Microbiology and Immunology
by
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780323937252Publication Date: 2024 -
-
Myles Textbook for Midwives
by
Call Number: BMB Library - WQ165 .T355 2020ISBN: 9780702076428Publication Date: 2020-08-14 -
-
The Natural Pregnancy Book 3rd ed.
by
Call Number: Woodward Library - WQ150 .R766n 2014Publication Date: 2014 -
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 2-Volume Set
by
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780323529501Publication Date: 2019-04-19 -
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 2-Volume Set
by
Call Number: Woodward Library Reserve & BMB Library (VGH) - WS100 .N432 2016ISBN: 9780323529501Publication Date: 2019-04-19
-
-
-
Pharmacology for Women's Health 2nd ed.
by
Call Number: Woodward Libary - QV37 .P536 2017Publication Date: 2017 -
-
-
-
-
Supporting a Physiologic Approach to Pregnancy and Birth
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013 -
-
-
Trials of Labour
by
Call Number: Woodward Library & Okanagan Library - WQ160 .B87 1994Publication Date: 1994 -
-
Williams Obstetrics 25th ed.
by
Call Number: Woodward Libary Reserve Collection - WQ100 .W7283 2018Publication Date: 2018
General Midwifery & Obstetrics Books
-
All-in-one nursing care planning resource : medical-surgical, pediatric, maternity, and psychiatric-mental health
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016 -
-
-
-
Drugs during pregnancy and lactation : treatment options and risk assessment
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014 -
Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation
by
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781975162375Publication Date: 2021-04-30 -
Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation
by
Call Number: WQ210 .B75 2022ISBN: 9781975162375Publication Date: 2021-04-30
-
Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, 2-Volume Set
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780323567114Publication Date: 2019-05-29 -
-
Hacker and Moore's Essentials of Obstetrics and Gynecology
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015 -
-
Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780323608701Publication Date: 2020-03-09
Open Education Resources
AAP Neonatal Resuscitation Collection
Please find links below to both online and print copies of the NRP (Neonatal Resuscitation Program) texts from the American Academy of Pediatrics.
-
Guidelines for Air and Ground Transport of Neonatal and Pediatric Patients
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016 -
-
-
-
PCEP Book 1: Maternal and Fetal Evaluation and Immediate Newborn Care
by
ISBN: 9781610024952Publication Date: 2021-08-20 -
-
-
Theses
-
EThOS UK e-theses online service (UK's national thesis service)Please note that as of October 2023, EthOS service is not available due to a cyberattack experienced by the British Library. Please see the following guide for more information: https://bl.libguides.com/currently-available
-
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsA collaborative effort of the NDLTD, OCLC, VTLS, and Scirus, the NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations.
-
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses GlobalIncludes nearly 3 million citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present and over 1 million full-text dissertations available for downloading. International coverage but with North American emphasis.
-
UBC Library Guide: Theses and DissertationsA research guide for locating theses and dissertations from UBC, British Columbia, Canada, and International databases and repositories.
-
UBC Theses and DissertationsUBC graduate theses and dissertations are available through the Open Collections portal dating back to 1919.
