Skip to main content

Maps & Atlases

Information and resources about the UBC map collection.

Collection Overview

On this page you can find a list of some of the map collection Inventories in UBC libraries. There is no single location where all of the maps are located. Instead each map collection is located based on the topic of the map and its relation to the other collections held in the library.

The UBC online catalogue includes over 87,000 print and digital maps that are searchable. For more information on these maps you can consult a librarian on the second floor of Koerner library where the main map collection is located

Canada National Topographic System (NTS) Maps

The National Topographic Series (NTS) is produced by Natural Resources Canada. The standard scales are 1:50,000 and 1:250,000, but they have also been produced in various other scales.


Canada 1:25,000


Canada 1:50,000


Canada 1:100,000


Canada 1:125,000 and 1:126,720


Canada 1:250,000


Canada 1:500,000

Canadian Speciality Maps

Canadian Air and Nautical Aviation Charts 1:500,000

These Canadian aeronautical charts and air navigation charts were produced by various branches of the federal government of Canada


Geological Survey Maps and Papers of Canada

The maps from the papers of the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC). The GSC Paper/Map Number is listed in the below spreadsheet. The call number of the accompanying papers is QE185.A11


Canada Joint Operations Graphics Series 1:250,000​

The Joint Operations Graphic (JOG) Series is a topographic world map series produced by the US National Imagery and Mapping Agency. This part of the series displays Canada.


British Columbia Composite Town Plans

This collection of detailed maps of BC townships is available in a variety of scales.

UK Ordnance Surveys

UBC has an extensive collection of UK Ordnance Survey maps, which cover Great Britain, England and Wales, Scotland, Ireland, and Northern Ireland. There are various scales of this series, including 1:25,000, 1:50,000, 1:250,000, and 1:500,000, as well as older scales that are no longer in use including 1:63,360 and 1:253,440.

This series has not been fully inventoried yet at the sheet level. If you would like more information about this collection, please ask at the Research Desk on Level 2 of Koerner Library or email.


England & Wales 1:253,440


Great Britain 1:25,000


Great Britain 1:50,000


Great Britain 1:63,000


Great Britain 1:250,000


Great Britain 1:500,000

World Maps

 World Maps 1:1,000,000

The maps in this spreadsheets are topographic maps of the world at a scale of 1:1,000,000, and include maps of locations in North America, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, and Oceania. They are organized in this list by continent, and span the years 1914 to 1979.

They are produced by a variety of map publishers, including the USA Army Map Service, the American Geographical Society the Geographical Section of Great Britain's War Office, Natural Resources Canada, and the governments of India, Germany, South Africa, Brazil, and Australia.


World Aeronautical Charts 1:1,000,000

This collection of aeronautical charts shows locations around the world has been produced by a variety of publishers from Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Denmark, France, Great Britain, India, Norway, Spain, South Africa, and the USA.