Reference Sources
A good starting point for all research, references sources provide an overview of research topics and historical context, identify key events and people, and often include a short bibliography of important books and articles for further reading. Reference books and online sources include specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, companions, and biographical resources.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Film Studies (Online) by Publication Date: 2020Offering exhaustive and authoritative coverage, this A-Z is written by experts in the field, and covers terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism; national, international, and transnational cinemas; film history, movements, and genres; film industry organizations and practices.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory (Online) by Publication Date: 2014An international reference work representing the essential ideas and concepts at the centre of film theory from the beginning of the twentieth century, to the beginning of the twenty-first.
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film (Online) by Publication Date: 2006Approximately 200 entries provide a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.
Filmmaker's Dictionary (Print) by Publication Date: 2000Contains over 1500 film terms, words, phrases, jargon, expressions and definitions.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory (Online) by Publication Date: 2000This dictionary provides readers with the conceptual apparatus to understand the often daunting language and terminology of screen studies.
Online Reference Sources
- Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis Literary Sources) This link opens in a new windowOver 1 million full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines, critical essays, topic overviews, biographies and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works and literary movements.
- American Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new windowOver 1,000 film scripts, opening an exploration into American culture though the decades. Consists of a bibliographic and biographical database of directors, writers and the full authorized text of the movies themselves.
Specialized Reference Sources
