Research Guides: Film Studies: Finding Videos

Videomatica

The Videomatica Collection in Koerner Library has more than 28,000 DVDs, 4,000 VHS titles and 900 Blu-Rays, ranging from cult favourites to Hollywood blockbusters, TV series and foreign films. Search the UBC Library catalogue by title, director, etc. to find films in this collection.

Use Videomatica as a keyword in combination with other search terms. For example, to find German films in the Videomatica Collection, try the following keyword search: videomatica german?

Note that the call numbers for films in the Videomatica Collection begin with VMatica. For example, VMatica W-451. The catalogue records for the Videomatica Collection are based on the old Videomatica database and the quality of the records varies.

Streaming Video

UBC Library has a diverse collection of video recordings and DVDs. Many recent purchases are also available on streaming platforms. For more information on how to search for video materials, see our guides on Films - Finding and Using and Streaming Media at UBC Library.

Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
Audio Cine Films collection offers access to thousands of titles from the world's most renowned film studios and producers.
Criterion On Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 2000 streamed feature films including classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles and independent features.
NFB Explore (National Film Board) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to online viewing of over 3,000 films films produced by the National Film Board of Canada (NFB), including documentaries, animations and interactive productions..
World Cinema Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes over 1000 films and series from the silent era, groundbreaking international directors, masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and contemporary films from around the world.
Global Environmental Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
The documentaries in this collection are suitable for use in a wide range of subject areas including Asian, Indigenous and environmental studies, film making, journalism, anthropology, religion and the humanities. Associated teaching guides highlight the environmental justice aspect of each film.
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window
Explores many of the conflicts, tensions and uprisings of the twentieth century from the unique perspective of socialist filmmakers around the globe. The films in the collection have been conserved and digitised from the original 16mm and 35mm reels. They are fully transcribed and searchable.