About this research guide
Created by the Rare Books and Special Collections Librarian, this guide provides information about ephemera in Rare Books and Special Collections at UBC Library. You will find a definition of ephemera, as well as information on how to search for and access ephemera in the collection.
Ephemera at RBSC
The term "ephemera" refers to documents such as broadsides, leaflets, pamphlets and posters which are intended for use for a short period of time. Ephemera can be used as a primary source in a variety of types of research.
Our Collections
-
Special Collections Pamphlet Collection (SPAM)
Rare Books and Special Collections collects ephemera in the form of pamphlets, posters, broadsides, tokens, postcards and other related material. Image source: https://open.library.ubc.ca/collections/chung/chungtext/items/1.0374463 -
Comic Book CollectionRare Books and Special Collections also collects comic books written by Vancouver-based artists whose work is primarily Vancouver or British Columbia focused. Many of the comics are self published.
-
Digital Collections
Many collections containing ephemera from UBC Library Rare Books and Special Collections or University Archives have been digitized and are freely available online. Image source: http://digitalcollections.library.ubc.ca/cdm/singleitem/collection/bookplate/id/1143/rec/307
Related Resources
If you want to continue your research beyond our collections, the links below will help guide you in finding other useful sources.
Related UBC Sites
Department of Political Science
Department of Art History, Visual Art & Theory
Department of Theatre and Film
UBC LibGuides
- This is a guide to searching for archival material in Canada and internationally, with an emphasis on British Columbia. Archival material includes primary sources (generally unpublished material ) such as manuscripts, letters, photographs and audio-visual material.
- This guide will help you locate books, articles, online databases, journals, primary sources, and theses concerning English literature and language.
- This guide will help you locate books, articles, online databases, journals, primary sources, and theses concerning history.
Organizations and Associations
The Ephemera Society of America
- The Ephemera Society of America, Inc. is a non-profit organization formed in 1980 to cultivate and encourage interest in ephemera and the history identified with it, and is a good way to connect with other people interested in ephemera.
