Research Help
AskAway
Key Resources
If you have a specific article you're searching for, Summon is a good place to start. Summon lets you simultaneously search the Library's book collection and many full text journal articles.
If you're searching for articles on a topic, you'll probably want to search a database which is more focused on engineering than Summon. Here are some starting points for finding engineering journal articles or conference proceedings. Look for the UBC eLink icons to check for full text articles.
Can't find an article? Contact me (sarah.parker@ubc.ca).
- Compendex Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowPremier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowIncludes statistics and reports from the International Energy Agency.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFrom off-campus, use this link to Google Scholar to activate UBC eLinks to full text.
Related Guides
- Energy IndustriesThis guide provides sources and strategies for researching energy industries from a business perspective.
Library Access Browser Extension
Step 1: Download and install the extension: leanlibrary.com/download
Step 2: Select University of British Columbia
Step 3: Start searching! When off-campus, Library Access will let you know when you are on a website that the library has access to.
Step 4: Login with your UBC CWL (campus wide login)
Research Skills for Engineering Students
- Research Skills For Engineering StudentsThis tutorial is a self-guided overview of engineering information sources and how to find, evaluate and cite.
The content in this guide is for both novice and expert learners building their information literacy skills.
The guide addresses the following information literacy framworks:
1. Authority is Constructed and Contextual
2. Information Creation as Process
3. Information has Value
4. Research as Inquiry
5. Scholarship as Conversation
6. Searching as Strategic Exploration
For more details on the frameworks see Companion Document to the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education: Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.