This guide highlights some resources that can be used for researching case law. Instructions for accessing library databases from off-campus are available here.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ CONTACT A LIBRARIAN FOR HELP: UBC Law Library Reference Staff
Canadian Case Law Gateway CanLII, Canadian Legal Information Institute Provides free access to Canadian case law and legislation on the Internet via a uniform search interface. Coverage is more extensive than official court websites.
LexisNexis Academic - Legal Access to primary source material such as case law, statutes and regulations and secondary source materials such as legal news or law reviews for background or analysis of a legal topic. BestCase Contains Canada Law Book (CLB) report series, Canadian Criminal Cases, Dominion Law Reports, Labour Arbitration Cases, as well as a comprehensive collection of unreported decisions dating back to 1977. It also includes CLB's case summary services, such as All-Canada Weekly Summaries and Weekly Criminal Bulletin, as well as a note-up citator feature. LexisNexis Quicklaw Westlaw Canada
Supreme Court of Canada Home Page Judgments Supreme Court of Canada Decisions (BestCase) Rules, Forms, Notices
Administrative Boards & Tribunals Artists and Producers Professional Relations Tribunal Canada Industrial Relations Board Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries Commission for Public Complaints Against the RCMP Competition Tribunal Copyright Board of Canada Employment Insurance Jurisprudence Library Human Rights Tribunal Immigration and Refugee Board Industrial Relations Board International Trade Tribunal Labour Arbitration Cases (LAC) Mutual Fund Dealers Association of Canada Privacy Commissioner Public Service Labour Relations Board Radio-Television and Communications Commission Review Tribunals for CPP/OAS Trade-marks Opposition Board Transportation Agency Transportation Appeal Tribunal Transportation Safety Board
Charter: Charter of Rights Decisions (BestCase) Criminal: Canadian Criminal Cases (Criminal Spectrum) Criminal: Weekly Criminal Bulletin (W.S.B) (Criminal Spectrum) Human Rights: Canadian Human Rights Cases (CHRR Online) Labour: Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries (C.L.A.S.) (BestCase) Labour: Labour Arbitration Cases (L.A.C.) (BestCase) Labour: Labour Arbitration Summaries (Labour Spectrum) Land: Land Compensation Reports (L.C.R.) (BestCase) Tax: CCH Tax (CCH Online) Tax: TaxnetPRO (CCH Online)
Judgments - Superior Court 1990- British Columbia Decisions, Civil Cases (BestCase) British Columbia Decisions, Criminal Cases (BestCase) British Columbia Reports 1867-1948 British Columbia Reports Tutorial Civil Rules - Supreme Court Criminal Rules - Supreme Court Judgments and Rules - Provincial Court 1999- Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions British Columbia Labour Arbitration Decisions British Columbia Labour Relations Board Decisions British Columbia Workers' Compensation Appeal Tribunal Building Code Appeal Board Employment Standards Tribunal Environmental Appeal Board Financial Services Tribunal Forest Appeals Commission Human Rights Tribunal Information and Privacy Commissioner Labour Arbitration Awards Labour Relations Board Law Society of British Columbia Police Complaint Commissioner Property Assessment Appeal Board Real Estate Council of British Columbia Securities Commission Workers’ Compensation Board
Alberta | Manitoba | New Brunswick | New Brunswick | Newfoundland & Labrador | Northwest Territories | Nova Scotia | Nunavut | Ontario | Prince Edward Island | Quebec | Saskatchewan | Yukon Alberta Judgments - Court of Appeal Judgments - Court of Queen's Bench Alberta Decisions, Civil Cases (BestCase) Alberta Decisions, Criminal Cases (BestCase) Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions (Alberta) Alberta Employment Standards Umpire Alberta Human Rights Commission Alberta Securities Commission Appeals Commission for Alberta Workers' Compensation College of Physicians and Surgeons Discipline Committee Energy Resources Conservation Board Environmental Appeal Board Labour Relations Board Law Society of Alberta - Hearing Committee Natural Resources Conservation Board Workers' Compensation Appeals Commission Manitoba Judgments - Court of Appeal Judgments - Court of Queen's Bench Manitoba Decisions, Civil Cases (BestCase) Manitoba Decisions, Criminal Cases (BestCase) Rules of Court Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions (Manitoba) College of Physicians & Surgeons of Manitoba Discipline Committee Human Rights Commission Labour Board Manitoba Law Society Discipline Committee Manitoba Securities Commission New Brunswick Judgments - Court of Appeal Judgments - Court of Queen's Bench of New Brunswick Judgments - Provincial Court Rules of Court Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions (New Brunswick) New Brunswick Assessment and Planning Appeal Board New Brunswick Labour and Employment Board New Brunswick Office of the Ombudsman New Brunswick Securities Commission Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission Appeal Tribunal Newfoundland & Labrador Judgments - Supreme Court - Court of Appeal Judgments - Supreme Court - Trial Division Judgments - Provincial Court Rules - Supreme Court Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions (Newfoundland & Labrador) Information and Privacy Commissioner Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador Newfoundland and Labrador Human Rights Commission Newfoundland and Labrador Labour Relations Board Northwest Territories Judgments Rules of Court Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions (Northwest Territories) Employment Standards Appeals Office Human Rights Adjudication Panel Law Society of the Northwest Territories Northwest Territories Information and Privacy Commissioner Rental Officer Nova Scotia Judgments Rules - Family Court Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions (Nova Scotia) Labour Arbitration Awards Nova Scotia Barristers' Society Hearing Panel Nova Scotia Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Review Officer Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission Nova Scotia Labour Board Nova Scotia Labour Relations Board Nova Scotia Labour Standards Tribunal Nova Scotia Occupational Health and Safety Appeal Panel Nova Scotia Police Review Board Nova Scotia Securities Commission Nova Scotia Utility and Review Board Nova Scotia Workers' Compensation Appeals Tribunal Nunavut Judgments - Court of Justice Court of Appeal of Nunavat Rules of Court Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions (Nunavut) Nunavut Registrar of Securities Ontario Judgments - Court of Appeal Superior Court of Justice Ontario Court of Justice Rules of Court Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions Ontario Municipal Board Reports (O.M.B.R.) (BestCase) Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions (Ontario) Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario Child and Family Services Review Board Consent and Capacity Board Conservation Review Board Custody Review Board Energy Board Environmental Review Tribunal Grievance Settlement Board Health Professions Appeal and Review Board Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario Health Services Appeal And Review Board Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario Information and Privacy Commissioner Ontario Labour Arbitration Awards Landlord and Tenant Board Law Society Appeal Panel Law Society Hearing Panel Law Society of Upper Canada Discipline Committee / Convocation Municipal Board Ontario College of Pharmacists Discipline Committee Ontario Labour Relations Board Ontario Pay Equity Hearings Tribunal Ontario Securities Commission Ontario Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal Ontario Workplace Safety and Insurance Board Public Service Grievance Board Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal Prince Edward Island Judgments - Supreme Court Prince Edward Island Judgments - Appeal Division Prince Edward Island Judgments - Trial Division Rules of Court Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions (Prince Edward Island) Information and Privacy Commissioner Human Rights Commission: Board of Enquiry and Panel Hearing Decisions Human Rights Commission: Legal Decisions Prince Edward Island Human Rights Commission Prince Edward Island Labour Relations Board Quebec Judgments - Court of Appeal, Labour Tribunal (in French) Human Rights Tribunal Judgments - Provincial Court Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions (Quebec) Gateway to Quebec Tribunal Decisions L’acces a l’information (Access to Information): Decisions in English L’acces a l’information (Access to Information): Decisions in French Droits de la personne (Human Rights Tribunal) Administrative Tribunal of Québec Arbitration - The Guarantee Plan For New Residential Buildings Arbitration - performing, recording and film artists Barreau du Québec Disciplinary Council Bureau de décision et de révision en valeurs mobilières Chambre de l'assurance de dommages Discipline Committee Collège des médecins du Québec Discipline Committee Comité de discipline de la Chambre de la sécurité financière Comité de déontologie policière Commission d'accès à l'information Commission de l'équité salariale Commission de la fonction publique Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail Commission de protection du territoire agricole du Quebec Commission de reconnaissance des associations d'artistes et des associations de producteurs Commission des lésions professionnelles du Québec Commission des relations du travail Commission des services juridiques Commission des valeurs mobilières du Québec Commission municipale du Québec Conseil de discipline de l'Ordre des dentistes du Québec Conseil de discipline de l'Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec Conseil de discipline de l'Ordre des pharmaciens du Québec Conseil de discipline de l'Ordre des sages femmes du Québec Conseil de la justice administrative Conseil de la magistrature Conseil de presse du Québec Conseil des services essentiels Corporation of Master Pipe-Mechanics of Québec Labour Arbitration Awards (including Conférence des arbitres) Labour Court Quebec Autorité des marchés financiers Régie des alcools des courses et des jeux Régie du Bâtiment - licences d'entrepreneur de construction Tribunal d'arbitrage de la Commission administrative des régimes de retraite et d'assurances Saskatchewan Judgments - Court of Appeal, Court of Queen's Bench, Provincial Court Saskatchewan Decisions, Civil Cases (BestCase) Saskatchewan Decisions, Criminal Cases (BestCase) Rules of Court - Court of Queen's Bench Administrative Boards and Tribunal Decisions (Saskatchewan) Automobile Injury Appeal Commission Information and Privacy Commissioner Labour Arbitration Awards Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission Saskatchewan Labour Relations Board Yukon Judgments - Court of Appeal, Supreme Court, Territorial Court Rules of Court
BAILII (British and Irish Legal Informations Institute) English Reports 1220-1867 (HeinOnline) English Reports 1220-1873 (CommonLII) Famous Trials (Selected U.K., Commonwealth and U.S. trials) House of Lords Judgments 1996- Law Reports 1865- (Justis) LexisNexis Quicklaw Reported cases from 1865; unreported cases from 1980. Includes decisions from the All England Law Reports, the Law Reports and Lloyd's Law Reports Old Bailey Proceedings 1674-1913 Privy Council Judgments 1999- Also includes landmark decisions pre 1999 Times Law Reports 1990- (Justis) Weekly Law Reports 1953- (Justis) Westlaw Canada Coverage from 1865. Includes Fleet Street Reports, the Law Reports and Lloyd's Law Reports
LII (Legal Information Institute) U.S. Supreme Court 1893- (via Findlaw) U.S. Supreme Court U. S. Federal Cases State Courts (via Washburn University) LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis Quicklaw Westlaw Canada
World WorldLII (World Legal Information Institute) Asia AsianLII (Asian Legal Information Institute) LexisNexis Quicklaw Australia AustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute) LexisNexis Quicklaw Westlaw Canada China Westlaw China Commonwealth CommonLII (Commonwealth Legal Information Institute) France DROIT Francophone Legifrance Hong Kong HKLII (Hong Kong Legal Information Institute) Hong Kong Judiciary Judgments (HKSAR Government) LexisNexis Quicklaw Westlaw Canada Ireland IRLII (Irish Legal Information Institute) New Zealand NZLII (New Zealand Legal Information Institute) Courts and Case Law Courts and Tribunals (University of Waikato Law Library) Pacific Islands PacLII (Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute) South Africa SAFLII (South African Legal Information Institute) LexisNexis Quicklaw
Justis Cases | JustCite Includes The Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports and Times Law Reports. LexisNexis Quicklaw Westlaw Canada International Court of Arbitration International Court of Justice International Criminal Court Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA)
Justis Cases Includes The Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports and Times Law Reports. Justis EU Includes CELEX and Official Journal C. LexisNexis Quicklaw Westlaw Canada European Court of Human Rights European Court of Human Rights (Justis) European Court of Justice