Featured Book
Evidence Based Practice for Health Professionals by Call Number: WB102.5 .H865e 2014 at Biomedical Branch Library and Woodward LibraryISBN: 1449652778Publication Date: 2013-02-06Evidence Based Practice for Health Professionals covers the fundamentals of applying medical evidence to clinical practice and discussing research findings with patients and fellow professionals.
- Covers Evidence Based Practice (EBP) fundamentals and their application to clinical practice
- Teaches the skills needed to interpret medical research and apply it to patient care
- Enables students to develop EBP skills with practical learning activities
- Prepares students to communicate about medical evidence with patients and fellow professionals
- Instructor resources including instructor's manual, PowerPoint presentations, test bank, and handouts
- Student resources including access code for the companion Website
Selected Resources
50 Studies Every Doctor Should Know by ISBN: 9780199343560Publication Date: 2013-11-26eBook
50 Studies Every Doctor Should Know: The Key Studies that Form the Foundation of Evidence Based Medicine presents key studies that have shaped the practice of medicine. Selected using a rigorous methodology, the studies cover topics ranging from dieting to cardiovascular disease, insomnia to obstetrics. For each study, a concise summary is presented with an emphasis on the results and limitations of the study, and its implications for practice. Brief information on other relevant studies is provided, and an illustrative clinical case concludes each review. A section of review questions and answers is included at the back of the book to ensure that readers take away the key messages from each study. This book is a must-read for health care professionals and anyone who wants to learn more about the data behind clinical practice.
Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Call Number: WB890 .C6464 2003 at Biomedical Braanch Library and St. Paul's Hospital LibraryISBN: 0323020283Publication Date: 2003-03-12This popular, evidence-based overview of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) emphasizes clinical research, analyzes the effectiveness of each therapy, and presents practical information on how these therapies can be used to treat health conditions and diseases. It not only acquaints the reader with information about CAM, but provides evidence for the effectiveness of various therapies used to treat medical conditions ranging from allergies to psychiatric conditions in all populations relevant to CAM including children, women and the elderly. Summary tables embedded throughout highlight clinical data, statistics, and major research findings. More thorough documentation in this edition is achieved through new tables and added commentary on the quality of studies, making research findings more relevant and useful. Chapters are grouped according to condition and special populations rather than treatment, so readers can easily compare all possible treatments for a specific condition.
Evidence-Based Practice by Call Number: WB102.5 .E93 2014 at Woodward LibraryISBN: 9781449625917Publication Date: 2012-08-17Evidence-Based Practice: An Integrative Approach to Research, Administration, and Practice is an excellent reference for interdisciplinary education and clinical agencies, as well as disciplines focused on translating research evidence to quality practices. The authors provide sound information on the research process and critical appraisal, and use a unique integrative collaborative approach to apply these principles. They also develop a strong conceptualization of integration of research and evidence-based practice from a clinical practice and administrative perspective specifically for this book. Learning objectives are included at the beginning of each chapter to identify important concepts and guide readers through the content covered in the text.
Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care by Call Number: WX218 .E935 2010 at Woodward LibraryISBN: 9781416054764Publication Date: 2010-06-29Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care provides objective data and expert guidance to help answer the most important questions challenging ICU physicians today. It discusses the clinical options, examines the relevant research, and presents expert recommendations on everything from acute organ failure to prevention issues. An outstanding source for "best practices" in critical care medicine, this book is a valuable framework for translating evidence into practice.
Evidence-Based Rehabilitation by Call Number: WB320 .E93 2014 at BMB and Woodward LibrariesISBN: 9781617110214Publication Date: 2013-11-15Designed and written by an occupational therapist and a physical therapist with extensive research, education, and practice experience, Evidence-Based Rehabilitation: A Guide to Practice, will guide both occupational therapy and physical therapy students and practitioners as they incorporate evidence-based practice into their work. The text is organized by the steps of the EBP process--introduction to EBP, finding the evidence, assessing the evidence, and using the evidence.
Health Promotion and Wellness by Call Number: WA590 .H434 2013 at Woodward LibraryISBN: 9781451120233Publication Date: 2013-03-20This unique resource is separated into two sections: The first section gives information on risks, ways providers can assess for risk and tools they can use to advise and help patients move forward. The second section is a tool kit with information, resources, tools and other items that can help the clinician provide evidence-based, patient-centered information to their patients. This accessible reference provide readers with the basic elements necessary to help their patients change their health behavior related to the most prevalent risk factors, and to serve as a springboard to keep pace with the latest evidence arising in the applied science of wellness, prevention and health promotion.
How to Read a Paper by Call Number: WB102.5 .G813 2010 at BMB, Okanagan and Woodward LibrariesISBN: 1444334360Publication Date: 2010-05-24eBook also available
How to Read a Paper describes the different types of clinical research reporting, and explains how to critically appraise the publications. The book provides the tools to find and evaluate the literature, and implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centered way. Written for anyone in the health care professions who has little or no knowledge of evidence-based medicine, it provides a clear understanding of the concepts and how to put them into practice at the basic, clinical level.
Introduction to Nursing Research by Call Number: WY20.5 .I6196 2014 at Woodward LibraryISBN: 9781449695071Publication Date: 2012-12-06Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice emphasizes the meaning of evidence and how it relates to research. With practical examples that provide context for students, this text is surely the best available resource for nursing students today.
Practical Biostatistics by ISBN: 9780124158573Publication Date: 2012-01-01eBook
Practical Biostatistics provides a detailed outline of implementation steps complemented by a review of important topics. This book can be used as a quick reference or a hands-on guide to effectively incorporate biostatistics in clinical trials.Customized presentation for biological investigators with examples taken from current clinical trials in multiple disciplines. Clear and concise definitions and examples provide a pragmatic guide to bring clarity to the applications of statistics in improving human health. Addresses the challenge of assimilation of mathematical concepts to better interpret literature, to build stronger studies, to present research effectively, and to improve communication with supporting biostatisticians
Research Methods for Clinical Therapists by Call Number: WB460 .H525 2004 at Woodward LibraryISBN: 0443074305Publication Date: 2004-05-04This text provides a comprehensive introduction to research for allied health students and practitioners of all levels of experience. It offers an overview of major research approaches with emphasis on experimental methods and data analysis. With an aim to demystify research methods and statistical analysis, this book makes it easier for practitioners to conduct their own research and be able to critically evaluate published material.
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice and Evaluation by Call Number: WB102.5 .R896s 2013 at Woodward LibraryISBN: 9780840029140Publication Date: 2012-01-06Both practical and easy to read, Rubin's Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice and Evaluation provides you with a step-by-step guide that will help you succeed in your course. Practice illustrations and exercises support your ability to study and retain core concepts, while practical examples provide you with the opportunity to see how and when data analysis and statistics are used by helping professionals in the real world.
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature by ISBN: 9780071794152Publication Date: 2015-01-05The streamlined companion to the classic Users' Guides to the Medical Literature--fully updated and revised This compact guide condenses the most clinicallyrelevant content of the landmark Users' Guides to the Medical Literature to help you incorporate evidence-based medicine into your practice. You will learn the principles of evidence-based medicine, how your practice can benefit from the constant stream of new medical literature, and how to differentiate good medical evidence from that which is inadequate or misleading. This edition includes numerous updates, several newchapters, and a greater emphasis on the role of patientpreferences and preappraised resources.
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: Essentials of Evidence-based Clinical Practice by Call Number: WB102.U84 2008 at Okanagan and Woodward LibrariesISBN: 0071590390Publication Date: 2008-01-01eBook version also available
The "essential" companion to the landmark - Users' Guides to the Medical Literature.
This streamlined reference distills the most clinically-relevant coverage from the parent Users' Guide Manual into one highly-focused, portable resource. Praised for its clear explanations of detailed statistical and mathematical principles,The Essentials concisely covers all the basic concepts of evidence-based medicine--everything you need to deliver optimal patient care. It's a perfect at-a-glance source for busy clinicians and students. Abundant real-world examples drawn from the medical literature are woven throughout, and includes important related principles and pitfalls in using clinical research in patient care decisions.
