Xwi7xwa Library Guide
Articles
- Gathered Together: Listening to Musqueam Lived Experiences byPublication Date: 2016Biography (Honolulu), 06/2016, Volume 39, Issue 3. Adapted from Wilson's 2015 thesis.
- Wrapped in Wool: Coast Salish Wool Weaving, Vancouver's Public Art, and Unceded Territory byPublication Date: 2019Journal of textile design, research and practice, 01/2019, Volume 7, Issue 1. This research is focused on the city of Vancouver, and engages most directly with weavers from the Indigenous community of Musqueam and their relationships as artists within this urban center.
- ʔeləw̓k̓ʷ – Belongings: Tangible Interactions with Intangible Heritage byPublication Date: 2015Journal of Science and Technology of the Arts, 12/2015, Volume 7, Issue 2. In this paper we discuss the tangible tabletop interface as a response to the desire to reconnect fragmented collections and physical belongings from c̓əsnaʔəm with Musqueam intangible cultural knowledge.
- 'Who were these mysterious people?' Musqueam, the Marpole Midden, and the dispossession of aboriginal lands in British Columbia byPublication Date: 2007BC studies, 01/2007, Volume 152. Article version of Roy's book by the same name.
General Databases
Searching within databases can be more time consuming than using Summon, but there are advantages to this research strategy:
- Databases are usually limited by academic discipline, which means you will retrieve fewer results but they may be more relevant.
- Databases are highly structured, which means you can perform complex searches using controlled vocabulary.
The following databases are useful for finding articles related to this topic. For a more comprehensive list, see the Articles page of our First Nations and Indigenous Studies research guide.
Each database may have their own way and limitations of searching within the database. Some may use "And," "Or," quotation marks and other search strategies listed on the books & media tab, but some may not. If you are not getting the results you expected within a database, make sure the search is worded the way the database works.
TIP: Searching databases with the keywords recommended in this research guide is a good starting strategy. However, be aware that some databases may use different terminology. When you find a relevant article, check the subject headings and article description for terminology that could be useful in a new keyword search.
- Academic Search CompleteIndexes over 10,000 journals, with many full-text articles. Try searching for Musqueam or combining location with more specific search terms, for example: "Coast Salish" AND Vancouver.
- JSTOR CollectionFull-text searching of hundreds of journal titles in the sciences, humanities, social sciences, business, and more. Searches can result in hundreds or thousands of hits, so use the "Advanced Search" to narrow your search down. Search Musqueam or combine location searches with First Nations, Native American, Indigenous, or Aboriginal.
- CBCA Complete (Canadian Business, Reference & Current Affairs)Indexes academic periodicals, special interest publications, and newspapers, including the Aboriginal press: Windspeaker, Kahtou, Aboriginal Nurse. Search terms: Musqueam, ("Native peoples") AND (Vancouver), ("First Nations") AND Vancouver.
- America History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndex of literature covering history and culture in the United States and Canada. Use search term Musqueam or "Coast Salish" or combine general search terms with specific place names, for example: "First Nations" AND Vancouver.
- First Nations Periodical Index (last updated 2004)Mainly First Nations/Aboriginal Canadian content. Searchable index of 20 Aboriginal newspapers, magazines and periodicals.
- Project MuseFull-text collection of over 400 humanities and social sciences journals. Use the "Advanced Search" to narrow down your results. Use search term Musqueam or combine location with First Nations, Native American, Indigenous, or Aboriginal.
Journals
Try searching local, Canadian, and Indigenous focused journals for articles about Musqueam.
Finding Journal Articles
Also try searching for journal articles through the Summon search engine by selecting either the "Scholarly & Peer-Review" or "Journal Article" filter on the left-hand side of the screen.
- UBC Library Guide to Finding ArticlesHow to find and use journal articles and citations