Skip to main content

Chinese Special Collections

Digitized Rare Editions 數 字 化 珍 本 系 列

清道光間內府精寫本《五經》

圓明園文源閣舊藏,劫後僅存,稀世珍品。

《周易義海撮要》十二卷,(宋)李衡集

清康熙鈔本,清趙昱小山堂舊藏

《詩演義》十五卷,(元)梁寅演義

清道光間孔氏嶽雪樓鈔本

《毛詩故訓傳定本》三十卷,(清)段玉裁撰

清嘉慶初年(1796-1815)刻本,清吳鼒批校

《說文解字繫傳》四十卷,(五代)徐鍇傳釋

清乾隆四十七年(1782)汪啟淑刻本,清曾釗批校

《摭古遺文》二卷,(明)李登撰,姚履旋增補

明萬曆二十二年(1594)姚履旋刻本

《正韻統宗》四卷,(明)王畿校正;任世鏜編輯

明萬曆六年(1578)王畿刻本,線裝,一函五冊。

是書初見於《千頃堂書目》,《天祿琳瑯續目》亦曾著錄,然今日公私藏家已不見著錄。

《韻瑞廣萃》五卷,稿本

(清)王鏜撰,雍正十一年(1733)稿本

《蓮香集》五卷,(清)彭日貞輯 ; 梁釪續輯

清乾隆三十年(1765)梁釪西城艸堂刻,修補本

Recommended titles 蒲 坂 藏 書 別 錄 系 列

山水寺廟志目錄

  • 中國古代對於名山、湖泊、庭院、寺廟等均有專書記載其歷史沿革,蒲坂藏書中彙輯了相當豐富的資料……

印學書錄解題(節選)

  • 蒲坂藏書中,印學之書無多,僅六十餘種,然皆淵源有自,或南州書樓舊藏,或潘飛聲故物,亦或是得自於澳門梁汝洪紫雲青花硯齋者,其於印學不無小補,尤其致力於嶺南印學……

南州書樓藏書簡目:文字學部分

  • 南州書樓藏書是廣州徐信符的藏書,散出後,姚均石先生所得甚多,是蒲坂書樓藏書的主體,大約占了百分之八十……

 

Celebration of the 60th Anniversary of Puban Collection on Campus

Puban Collection was acquired from Macao and reached the UBC Library in February 1959. The acquisition decision was made by the Board of Governors to support UBC's Asian Studies Programs, with funding support by the Council of the Friends of the Library and Dr. Walter C. Koerner. The collection contains about 3000 single titles and 200 sets of series in a total of 45,000 volumes which cover most of the important subject areas on Chinese studies, such as Chinese classics, philosophy, history, language, literature and arts etc. In the age of 1960s-1990s, as one of the five primary resources on Chinese studies in North America, Puban Collection benefited not only UBC students and faculties, but also external researchers. Currently Puban Collection still attracts many scholars from all over the world.
In 1960, based on the collection, UBC Library established an Asian Studies Division, which is now the Asian Library, and hired the first Chinese librarian, and also the University formally established the Department of Asian Studies.
Mr. Yao Junshi / 姚鈞石 (1889-1973), the former owner of Puban Collection, was a Cantonese merchant, also a registered physician on traditional Chinese medicine. Born in Guangzhou, he successfully rebuilt his private library “Puban shu lou” (蒲坂書樓) in Macao in 1940s and accumulated a large number of Chinese rare books by a chance of purchase from “Nan Zhou Shu Lou” (南州書樓), one of the largest private libraries in Guangdong in early 20th century whose collection were focusing on Guangdong local history.

服 務 教 學 六 十 年!

蒲坂藏書之軼聞趣事
  • 決策者與推動者: 學校董事會、校長、歷史與亞洲學系、圖書館、圖書館之友委員會,共襄盛舉……
  • 高起點與高發展:北美地區五大中文藏書之一,加拿大必須意識到將來東方崛起的重要性……
  • 蒲坂書樓與南州書樓:80%的蒲坂書樓藏書來自於南州書樓,廣東先賢的著作、廣版書籍以及廣東藏書……

【更多內容……】

Conservation and Preservation 蒲 坂 藏 書 的 保 護 與 搶 救

Puban Collection was known as “in extraordinarily fine condition” when it arrived UBC Library in 1959. But about 8% of the collection by titles assessed in 1992 were in serious condition. Currently at least 50% of the collection by titles need some kinds of basic preservation treatment and 20% need special preservation treatment. The primary facts that caused the condition changes include Vancouver’s warm and humid climate, heavy uses for teaching and researches, as well as an accidental roof leaking in the vault.

UBC Library has relocated the collection into a climate control vault which was designed for rare collections with temperature and humidity monitored 24/7. A conservation lab is also on planning.

蒲坂藏書的整體狀況在1959年運抵UBC圖書館時是非常好的,但是情況惡化的很厲害。1992年時就有大約8%的藏書已經破損得無法使用了。按照中國文化行業國家標準《古籍特藏破損定級標準》(國標WH/T22-2006)的定級劃分,目前至少有50%以上的藏書屬於四、五級破損,大約20%的藏書屬於一級破損,其嚴重程度已經不容忽視,對蒲坂藏書的保護和搶救已經刻不容緩。

引起蒲坂藏書狀況惡化的原因很多,如溫哥華溫熱潮濕的氣候,過度的使用,書庫的意外漏雨,以及缺乏專業的修復與保護人員等等,從而導致藏書狀況一再惡化。UBC圖書館對此一直很重視,已經將館藏中文善本書全部移至總館善本書庫,並正在積極籌建中文古籍修復室,尋求與中國及世界各地的圖書館進行合作,開展對中文古籍善本書的保護與搶救。

 

Publications on the Collection