Engineering Librarian, Vancouver Campus
AskAway Online Chat
Key Resources
For a specific article title you are looking for, Summon is a good place to start. Summon lets you simultaneously search the Library's book collection and many full text journal articles.
If you're searching for articles on a topic, you'll probably want to search a database which is more focused on biomedical engineering than Summon. Here are some starting points for finding engineering journal articles or conference proceedings. Look for the UBC eLink icons to check for full text articles.
-
PubMed (1946 - present)Premier database containing with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version wiht UBC eLink.
For help searching PubMed, refer to the guide: https://guides.library.ubc.ca/pubmed -
Compendex Engineering VillagePremier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies.
-
ScopusSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
-
Web of Science Core CollectionMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
Anatomy TV
In addition to article databases, UBC has reference databases like Anatomy TV
Anatomy TV is a three-dimensional interactive anatomy resource that includes over 6500 models of human anatomy. These models focus on individual organs, regions of the body, or anatomical systems. The 3D images can be peeled away in layers and anatomical models can be rotated 360 degrees to demonstrate the interaction of nerves, muscles, ligaments, and bones. Built-in self-assessment quizzes are also included. Images and clips can be used in online courses.
