Textbooks & Commentaries: Selective Listing
-
Aboriginal and Treaty Rights in Canada by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY level 3: E92 .A23 1997Publication Date: 1997 -
Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Practice
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): E92 .M322 2000Publication Date: 2000-or online
-
Aboriginal Law
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE7709 .I823 2016Publication Date: 2016Highlights the most important aspects of Canadian law, its impact on Aboriginal peoples, and their relationship with the wider Canadian society. -
Aboriginal Law Handbook, 5th ed.
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE7709.2 O48 2018Publication Date: 2018Practice-oriented guide to Aboriginal law issues. -
Aboriginal Law Since Delgamuukw
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY (level 3): KE7709 .A73 2009Publication Date: 2009Analyzes the major legal developments since Delgamuukw & provides practical guidance for those who work in this quickly changing legal landscape. -
Aboriginal Legal Issues: Cases, Materials & Commentary, 5th ed.
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE7708.5 .B67 2018Publication Date: 2018A leading Aboriginal law textbook. -
Aboriginal Peoples and the Law: A Critical Introduction
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY (level 3): KE7709 .R47 2018 (and other locations)Publication Date: 2018or online
Outlines significant legal developments and provides the historical context needed to understand the relationship between Indigenous peoples and settlers and explains key topics such as sovereignty, fiduciary duties, the honour of the Crown, Aboriginal rights and title, treaties, the duty to consult, Indigenous laws, and international law. -
Aboriginal Peoples, Colonialism and International Law
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY level 3: KU354 .W38 2015Publication Date: 2015or online
-
Canadian Law of Planning and Zoning, 2d ed
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE5258 .R63The only Canadian text comprehensively treating all aspects of municipal regulation of land use. This loose-leaf set includes coverage of cases and legislation in every Canadian province.
-
Essentials of Canadian Aboriginal Law
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY level 3: KE7709 .E87 2018Publication Date: 2018Print version of the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest title that discusses the current Canadian law about Indigenous peoples living in Canada. It deals with Canadian constitutional law and federal non-criminal statute law as they pertain to Indigenous peoples. -
For Seven Generations
by
Call Number: KOERNER LIBRARY gov pubs (Floor 2): E78.C2 F77 1997 CD-ROMPublication Date: 1997A CD-ROM with Information Legacy of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples 1997: includes the final report, research reports, and educational guides on Aboriginal issues. -
Freedom and Indigenous Constitutionalism
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE7709 .B6738 2016Publication Date: 2016or online
Celebrates the emancipatory potential of Indigenous traditions, considers their value as the basis for good laws and good lives, and critiques the failure of Canadian constitutional traditions to recognize their significance. -
Indigenous Legal Traditions
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE7735 .I54 2007Publication Date: 2007 -
Indigenous Peoples and the Law in Canada: Cases and Commentary : 2023
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE7709 .I53 2023Publication Date: 2023 -
Law and Aboriginal Peoples in Canada
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY level 3: KE7709.5 .L38 2005Publication Date: 2005Textbook on Canadian law as it applies to Aboriginal peoples. -
Métis Law in Canada
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY reference room: KE7749.M48 T44 2013or online (pdf)
Contains full collection of Canadian Métis case law. -
Native Law
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE7709 .W65 1989Publication Date: 1989-
-
Reconciling Sovereignties: Aboriginal Nations and Canada
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE7709 .H64 2012Publication Date: 2012Presents a persuasive case that the once unquestioned and uncritical acceptance of the Crown’s assertion of sovereignty over Aboriginal peoples and their territories is now being replaced by an emerging paradigm that recognizes the equality of Aboriginal and settler peoples and requires these peoples to negotiate how they will share sovereignty in Canada. -
Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples
by
Call Number: LAW LIBRARY level 3: E78.C2 C3256 1996 (and other locations)Publication Date: 1996or Online
Landmark report on the relationship between Aboriginal peoples and the Canadian government and greater Canadian society.
Suggested Subject Keyword Search Terms
To search the UBC Library catalog by subject, select "Subject Keyword" in the drop-down menu and enter a subject heading.
Subject headings:
First Nations
Indigenous peoples
Native peoples
Indians of North America
Indians, North American
Aboriginal Australians
Maori (New Zealand people)
Indigenous women
Indian women
Indigenous children
Indian children
Subject headings specific to Aboriginal title:
Indian land transfers
Aboriginal title
Native title
Native title (Australia)
Land tenure
These subject headings may be used in combination with other search terms including:
Legal status, laws, etc.
Law and legislation
Treaties
Government relations
Claims
Politics and government
Self government
Customary law
