Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Artists' Books, Fine and Private Press Books, and Miniature Books at RBSC

Fine and Private Presses of British Columbia

Book Artists of British Columbia

Barbara Hodgson is an artist, author, and book designer from Edmonton, AB. She received a BA from Simon Fraser University and has lectured at Emily Carr University of College & Design in addition to writing, illustrating, and creating books. She is based in Vancouver, BC. 

RBSC has records in our archives that were created and donated by Barbara Hodgson, related to her nonfiction works on opium. Learn more about those materials here

Her frequent collaborator, Claudia Cohen, is a bookbinder who has been working with some of the top names in fine press and artists' books for over three decades. She is based in Seattle, WA. 

An example of their work that can be found in our collection:


Jan Kellett spent much of her artistic career creating miniature books that were published under the De Walden Press imprint from 1996 to 2013. She trained originally as a bookbinder and uses her experience and skills to ensure that everything she makes reaches a high standard of construction. She is based in Qualicum Beach, BC.

An example of her work that can be found in our collection:


Charles Mayrs is an artist, writer, and book designer from Winnipeg, MB. After fifty plus years in the arts, in 2003, he shifted the focus of his creative energies on writing, illustrating, and publishing fine press limited-edition letterpress books. He is based in West Vancouver, BC.

An example of his work that can be found in our collection:


Ann Vicente is a local Vancouver artist who has been making handmade paper for over thirty years. As the owner of Papermaker’s Press, she often creates artists’ books for special collections at public institutions and for private collectors. She is involved with the entire process of creating books, from making the paper, to setting the type on her old-fashioned press, to binding and decorating the books.

An example of her work that can be found in our collection:

Highlights from Our Collection (British Columbia)

Title & Author

Year

Call Number

Publisher

Tom's Diary by Tom Graff

1982

PR9277.R119 T65 1982

Vancouver, BC: Tom Graff

A Selection of Neighbourly Birds of the New World (Canada) by Charles Noel van Sandwyk

1987

N7433.4.V35 A4 1987

Vancouver, BC: C.N. van Sandwyk

Come Under the Bridge with Me to Granville Island by Ann Vicente

199?

N7433.4.V52 C65 1990z

Vancouver, BC: Handmade Papers and Books

Five Endemic Species of Psittaciformes Found in the Fiji Islands: Handcoloured Etchings and Observations by C.N. van Sandwyk

1990

N7433.4.V35 A4 1990

Vancouver, BC: The author

Logo Leo by Tom Graff

1994

N7433.4.G69 A4 1994

Vancouver, BC: the Author

Wee Folk: Drawn from Life by Charles van Sandwyk

1994

PZ4.9.V3718 Wf 1994

North Vancouver, BC: C. van Sandwyk

A Selection of Neighbourly Birds of the New World (Canada) by Charles van Sandwyk

1995

N7433.4.V35 A4 1995

North Vancouver, BC: Charles van Sandwyk Fine Arts

Sketches from the Dream Island of Birds by Charles van Sandwyk

1995

N7433.4.V35 A4 1995a

Vancouver, BC: C. van Sandwyk

Glacier by Ann Vicente

1996

N7433.4.V52 G52 1996

Vancouver, BC: Handmade Papers and Books

[Tree] by Ann Vicente

1996

N7433.4.V52 T73 1996

Vancouver, BC: Ann Vicente

The Columbia Icefield by Ann Vicente

1997

N7433.4.V52 C64 1997

Vancouver, BC: Papermaker’s Press 

Sketches from a Tropic Isle: Drawn and Annotated in the Fiji Islands by Charles van Sandwyk

1997

N7433.4.V35 A4 1997

North Vancouver, BC: C. van Sandwyk

Vancouver Summer by Ann Vicente

1997

N7433.4.V52 V36 1997

Vancouver, BC: Papermaker’s Press

Concrete Abstracts: An Artist Book by Jurgen Joachim Hesse

1998

PR9279.E86 C66 1998

Vancouver, BC: Thinkware Publishers

Satisfaction text by Linus Pauling; artwork and design by Ann Vicente

1998

Q143.P25 A25 1998

[Vancouver, BC]: Ann Vicente

Winter Journey: Then & Now: An Artist Book by Jürgen Joachim Hesse

1998

PR9279.E86 W56 1998

Vancouver, BC: Thinkware Publishers

The Lotos-Eaters by Alfred Lord Tennyson; with twelve woodblock prints by Derek Cowan

1999

PR5566 L45 1999

Hornby Island, BC: Cowan & Tetley

Twenty-One Small Songs by Jan Zwicky

2000

PR9349.W43 T83 2000

Mission, BC: Barbarian Press

Tempest. Selections. Sea Change edited by Jan Kellett

2001

PR2833.A3 K45 2001

Qualicum Beach, BC: De Walden Press

Fall by Ann Vicente

2001

N7433.4.V52 F34 2001

Vancouver, BC: Papermaker’s Press

Fire in the Cove by Maxine Gadd

2001

PS8513.A22 F5 2001

Salt Spring Island, BC: (m)Öthêr Tøñgué Press

Rehearsing the Miracle by Linda Rogers

2001

PR9318.O74 R45 2001

Victoria, BC: Poppy Press

Reid's Leaves: A Bibliography of the Books from the Private Press of Robert R. Reid, published in Vancouver from 1949 to 1962 with commentaries by him and sample sheets from three of his books;  preface by Takao Tanabe

2001

Z232.R45 R63 2001

Vancouver, BC: Heavenly Monkey

Antarctica by Pat & Rosemarie Keough

2002

G860 .K45 2002

Salt Spring Island, BC: Nahanni Productions

The Balancing Act, or, How the Universe Works by Ramsay

2002

N7433 .4.R3574 A4 2002

Vancouver, BC: R. Chaplin

The Fortune Teller by Jan Kellett

2002

N7433.4.K448 F67 2002

Qualicum Beach, BC: De Walden Press

The Eve of St. Agnes by John Keats; wood engravings by Andy English

2003

PR4834 .E8 2003

Mission, BC: Barbarian Press

Winter by Ann Vicente

2004

N7433.4.V52 W56 2004

Vancouver, BC: Papermaker’s Press

Genuine Original Canadian Fun Tickets by Robert Chaplin

2005

HG657 .G46 2002

Vancouver, BC: Robert Chaplin, BfA

Mystical Mosquito by John Grande; illustrations by Arnold Shives

2005

PS8613.R3585 M9 2005

North Vancouver, BC: Prospect Press

Sea Monsters by Andrea Taylor

2005

QL89.2.S4 T39 2005

Vancouver, BC: Cotton Socks Press

Spring by Ann Vicente

2005

N7433.4.V52 S67 2005

Vancouver, BC: Papermaker’s Press

Summer by Ann Vicente

2005

N7433.4.V52 S85 2005

Vancouver, BC: Papermaker’s Press

Ten Counting Cat by Robert Chaplin

2005

PZ4.9.C38369 Tn 2005

Telkwa, BC: R. Chaplin

Venus and Adonis by William Shakespeare; with wood-engraved illustrations by Andy English

2005

PR2845.A2 E53 2005

Mission, BC: Barbarian Press

Dancers: Drawings and Poems by Charles Mayrs

2006

PS8576.A9677 D36 2006

Vancouver, BC: Black Stone Press

Qualicum Blue by Jan Kellett

2006

QC495 .3 .K4 2006

Qualicum Beach, BC: De Walden Press

The Tale of Three Black Boxes by Shinsuke Minegishi

2006

NE1184.5.M56 A4 2006

Vancouver, BC: Heavenly Monkey Editions

The Wolf's Carol by N.R. Jackson

2006

PZ7.J137 Wl 2006

Mission, BC: Barbarian Press

According to Peaceable Creatures by Charles van Sandwyk

2007

PZ4.9.V3718 Af 2007

Vancouver, BC: Charles van Sandwyk Fine Arts

Altered Faces, Faithless Altars by Wesley Mulvin

2007

NC143.M844 A4 2007

Mayne Island, BC: Perro Verlag

Chasing Paper compiled by Claudia Cohen

2007

TS1124 .C63 2007

Vancouver, BC: Heavenly Monkey Editions

Dragons of the Air: The Roswell Notebook of Frances Zorn edited by Åg Zorn; with an introduction by Florentine Perro

2007

spam30142

Mayne Island, BC: Perro Verlag Books by Artists 

The Simple Line by Charles van Sandwyk

2007

NE2013.5.V35 A4 2007a

Vancouver, BC: Heavenly Monkey Editions; CVS Fine Arts

Under Strange Sail: Translations & Improvisations from Many Hands

2007

PN6101 .U53 2007

Mission, BC: Barbarian Press

Faces I've Seen on Television by Andrea Taylor

2007

N7433.4.T39 F32 2007

Vancouver, BC: Cotton Socks Press

A Handful of Odes by Jennifer Van de Pol

2007

N7433.4.V34 H36 2007

Vancouver, BC: Heavenly Monkey

Color Blind: Drawings and Poems by Charles Mayrs

2007

PS8576.A9677 C6 2007

West Vancouver, BC: C. Mayrs

El autobus azul: Handmade Papers from Costa Rica by [Rollin Milroy]

2008

TS1124.5 .M54 2008

Vancouver, BC: Heavenly Monkey

The Apocryphal Codex of Resolutions Transmitted from Planet *Coelan* to Frances Zorn, August, 1947; transcribed by Frances Zorn; edited by Michael McCormack & Florentine Perro

2008

spam30139

Mayne Island, BC: Perro Verlag Books by Artists

Adagio in Two Parts by Jennifer Van de Pol

2009

N7433.4.V34 A75 2009

Ladysmith, BC: Strathcona Press

Canadian Content by Charles Van Sandwyk

2009

PZ4.9.V3718 Cn 2009

North Vancouver, BC: Charles Van Sandwyk Fine Arts

Fourteen People of Interest by Charles Mayrs

2009

PS8576.A9677 F6 2009

Vancouver, BC: Black Stone Press

The Fairy Market by Charles van Sandwyk

2009

PZ4.9.V3718 Fy 2009

North Vancouver, BC: The Fairy Press

The Philosopher's Cupboard by Charles van Sandwyk

2009

PZ4.9.V3718 Ph 2009

Vancouver, BC: Savuti Press

Two Lovers on a Bench: An Extract from the Opera Einstein on the Beach by Samuel M. Johnson; with an etching by Mariko Ando

2009

ML50.G56 E325 2009

Vancouver, BC: Heavenly Monkey

Nunuvata: Stories and Hand-Coloured Letterpress Drawings by Charles Mayrs

2010

PS8576.A9677 N86 2010

Vancouver, BC: Black Stone Press

The WunderCabinet: The Curious Worlds of Barbara Hodgson & Claudia Cohen

2011

AM221 .H623 2011

Vancouver, BC: Heavenly Monkey

Occupied by Colour: Putting the Palette to Work by Barbara Hodgson & Claudia Cohen

2012

QC495.8 H623 2012

Vancouver, BC: Heavenly Monkey Editions

Famous Lost Letters: A Collection of Philatelic Ephemera from the Royal Gosland Post Office

2015

PR9291.L85 F35 2015

Cobble Hill, BC: Trisha Klus

Decorating Paper: Pattern & Technique by Claudia Cohen & Barbara Hodgson

2015

TS1124 .C635 2015

Vancouver, BC: Heavenly Monkey Editions; Black Stone Press, [2015]

Folding Paper: Technique, Design, Obsession by Barbara Hodgson & Claudia Cohen

2017

TT870 .H55 2017

 

Vancouver, BC: Heavenly Monkey Editions; Black Stone Press

Field Guide to Decent Humans by Charles van Sandwyk

2018

N7433.4.V35 F53 2018

N. Vancouver, BC: Charles van Sandwyk Fine Arts

Conjoin: To Come Together to Form a Single Unit by Charles Mayrs

2018

PS8576.A9677 C66 2018

Vancouver, BC: Black Stone Press

PatternPattern: The Geometry of Motion by Barbara Hodgson & Claudia Cohen

2019

NK1505 .H634 2019

Vancouver, BC: Heavenly Monkey Editions

Highlights from Our Collection (Canada and Beyond)

Title & Author

Year

Call Number

Publisher

Crystal Palace as a Winter Garden

1852

NA6750.L6 C74 1852

London, UK: Ackermann & Co.

Excellent Articles of Japan by David Rosenberg

1969

PR9318.O843 E93 1969 

Toronto, ON: The Coach House Press

The Canned Think: Yours to Open: A Selection of Poetry by Tyrrell Mendis; graphics by Jon Matthews

1970

PS8576.E54 C36 1970

Winnipeg, MB: Joel Matthews

Rain Five Days and I Love It by Richard Hugo

1975

PS3515.U3 

Port Townsend, WA: Graywolf Press

Aléa: Poèmes de Réjean Beaudoin; eaux-fortes de Lucie Lambert

1982

PS8553.E192 A75 1982

Saint-Sévère, QC: Editions Lucie Lambert

A Ship of Leaves: Twelve Poems by Hans Lodeizen; selected and translated by Geert Lernout

1982

PT5854.L77 A613 1982

Toronto, ON: Aliquando Press

Four Books by Four Artists by Andy Fabo, Doug Guildford, Michael Merrill, & Erella Vent

1987

N6545 .F67 1987

Toronto, ON: Droplit Books

Falling in Love by B. Klunder

1988

N7433.35.C3 D76 V. 3

Toronto, ON: Droplit Books

He Sees Himself: Un Cadavre Equis by Stephen Andrews

1988

N7433.35.C3 D76 V. 4

Toronto, ON: Droplit Books

A Snake in the Glass by Adly Gawad & Erella Vent

1988

N7433.35.C3 D76 V. 1

Toronto, ON: Droplit Books

Stream by Andy Fabo

1988

N7433.35.C3 D76 V. 2

Toronto, ON: Droplit Books

Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence by Nick Bantock

1991

PR6052.A54 G75 1991

San Francisco, CA: Chronicle Books

Sample Book of the Fancy Paper Factory Aschaffenburg by Karli Frigge

1993

Z271.3.E53 F75 1993

Buren, Netherlands: Frits Knuf

Virtue vs. Vice by Cecily Moon & Sandra Meigs

1993

N7433.2.M65 A75 1993

Banff, AB: Walter Phillips Gallery

Elements by Ulf Nilsen, Robert Bringhurst, & Russell Maret

1995

N7433.4.N558 E5 1995

New York, NY: Kuboaa Press

Enoch Soames: A Memory of the Eighteen-Nineties by Max Beerbohm

1997

PR6003.E4 E56 1997

Lunenburg, VT: Privately printed

Ufology Keepsake by Christine Kermaire

2000

N7433.4.K47 U4 2000

Charleroi, Belgium: C. Kermaire

Home Country: Selected Poems by Al Purdy; wood engravings by Alan Stein

2000

PR9314.U7 A6 2000

Parry Sound, ON: Church Street Press

Millennium in a Box: A Portfolio Collection of Work by Book Artists from Across Canada; edited by Susan Corrigan and Shelagh Smith

2000

N7433.35.C3 M54 2000

Toronto, ON: Canadian Bookbinders and Book Artists Guild

Theaters by Hiroshi Sugimoto

2000

TR659 .S84 2000

New York, NY: Sonnabend Sundell Editions

The Apprentice's Dividend: Being an Excerpt from the Autobiography of Mark Twain; embellished with a wood engraving by Wesley W. Bates

2001

PS1322 A66 2001

Dundas, ON: Aliquando Press

The Book of Silences by Robert Bringhurst; photographs by Carolee Campbell

2001

PR9257.R534 B77 2001

Sherman Oaks, CA: Ninja Press

Pseuds: A Cheerful Fraud Involving Wrenches from an Editor's Toolkit by Geoff Spencer; illustrated by Chris Sharp

2001

N7433.4.S684 P74 2001

North Newbald, York, UK : Parrot Press

Jack! [designed, assembled, and with linocuts by Tara Bryan]

2002

N7433.4.B793 J33 2002

Flatrock, NL: Walking Bird Press

Aunt Sallie's Lament by Margaret Kaufman; designed by Claire Van Vliet

2004

PS3561.A8612 A96 2004

Newark, VT: Janus Press

A Book Arts Mosaic: A Portfolio Collection of Work by Book Artists from Across Canada; edited by Susan Corrigan and Shelagh Smith

2005

N7433.3 .B65772 2005

Toronto, ON: Canadian Bookbinders and Book Artists Guild

New World Suite Number Three: Four Movements for Three Voices by Robert Bringhurst

2005

PR9257.R534 N48 2005

New York, NY: Center for Book Arts

Gros Morne Time Lines by Kevin Major, Anne Meredith Barry, & Tara Bryan

2007

PS8576.A523 G76 2007

Flatrock, NL: Walking Bird Press

World Libraries of Artists’ Books 2007-2017 by Christine Kermaire

2007

N7433.4.K47 W67 2007

Charleroi, Belgium: Christine Kermaire

Concord of Sweet Sounds: Musical Instruments in Shakespeare by Gerard Brender à Brandis

2009

NE1113.5.B72 A4 2009

Erin, ON: Porcupine’s Quill 

Historians' Stories from Canada; edited by Susan Mann

2010

FC85 .H578 2010

Montréal, QC: Editions Samuel Lallouz

L'Essence Scripturale du Trait Gravé: Les Livres d'Artiste de Lucie Lambert; collectif sous la direction de Réjean Beaudoin

2010

N7433.4.L355 Z84 2010

Montréal, QC: Éditions du Noroît

Duality: An Art Experiment by Shannyn Higgins & Erica Wilk

2014

spam825A

Milwaukee, WI: Moniker Press

Down the Rabbit Hole by Lewis Carroll; designed by Tara Bryan

2016

PR4611.A4 B79 2016

Flatrock, NL:  Walking Bird Press