Education Booklists

Grades: K-2
Explores the connection between music and science through the use of everyday objects. Includes creative ideas and lessons on how we can use our bodies to make sounds, making and using instruments, what sounds occur in nature, and more.

Grades: K-4
Provides practical guidance and ideas on using the visual arts as a starting point for imaginative, effective learning across a wide range of curriculum subjects. Underpinned by established and current educational thinking, it uses real-life examples to explore how this approach has been used successfully by individual class teachers and as whole-school projects. eBook only

Grades: K-5
Provides ideas on how to utilize visuals, including everyday objects, works of art, food, and more, to teach math in order to reach a variety of learners. Includes lessons with clear instructions and photographs, as well as guiding questions, and curriculum connections.

Grades: K-8
This book explains why and how art can be used across the curriculum in order to deepen student learning. Includes lively examples of examples of public school teachers integrating visual arts, music, drama, and dance with subject matter, including English, social studies, science, and mathematics.

Grades: K-12
Using the Getty Museum’s collection, including their sculptures, drawings, antiquities, photographs, paintings, and more, this book encourages teachers to utilize art in science instruction. Includes lesson plans, handouts, a glossary of terms, questions, and links to additional resources.

Grades: K-12
Provides inspiration and practical guidance for teaching with works of art across the curriculum in order to deepen engagement and improve student learning. The book introduces the Pyramid of Inquiry, a flexible framework that teachers of all subject areas can use to support connections between students’ lives, academic curriculum, and works of art from across time and place.

Grades: K-12
This book uses a series of case studies to showcase that five principles of Education for Sustainability – critical thinking, systems thinking, community partnership, participation, and envisioning better futures – are found at the heart of much arts practice in schools. The joining of arts and sustainability education is suggested as a viable way of deepening understanding, engaging students, and thinking creatively about the cross-disciplinary connections between art and sustainability.

Grades: K-12
Provides an overview of six different reading strategies and integrated reading and art lessons that can be implemented in the classroom. Emphasizes the value art as a way of improving reading comprehension without text for both art and classroom teachers.

Discover innovative ways to incorporate fluency practice into reading instruction! This professional resource provides teachers with engaging and practical strategies for bringing fluency instruction into daily reading routines. Written by literacy experts Timothy Rasinski and Chase Young, this book offers instructional strategies to help teachers understand fluency and how to teach it. With step-by-step strategies, detailed lessons, and ideas for improving fluency, this meaningful guide allows teachers to provide purposeful reading opportunities for their students. Help every student become a confident and fluent reader with this professional resource!

Music connects the lives of students, teachers, and school communities in many ways. Music is also integrally related to other art forms, history, culture, and other subjects commonly taught in schools. These relationships deserve critical attention, particularly as educators seek to reorient their curricula and pedagogy toward the pressing aims of social justice. Seeking Connections encourages interdisciplinarity as a capacity to be exercised-an orientation or habit of mind that teachers and students can develop. This capacity depends upon viewing music as permeable, recognizing that music influences related ways of knowing, just as related ways of knowing influence music. This book invites teachers to create educational experiences that engage students in exploring an expansive relationship with music. With imaginative examples drawn from diverse musical genres, visual art, poetry, and historical cases, Seeking Connections provides thoughtful principles, models, and instructional strategies to deepen students' understandings of musical works and inspire interdisciplinary inquiry throughout elementary and secondary music programs, as well as settings in music teacher education and professional development.

Grades: K-6
This book offers a creative and practical guide for K-6 teachers on how to effectively integrate movement into the curriculum to increase student engagement, deepen learning, improve retention, and get kids moving during the school day. Chapters offer concrete ideas for integrating creative movement and theater into subjects such as math, science, literacy, and social studies. Drawing on two decades of experience, Dr. Becker outlines key skills, offers rich examples, and provides adaptable and flexible classroom tested lesson plans that align with Common Core Standards, the NGSS, C3 Social Studies Standards, and the National Core Arts Standards. Activities are grounded in arts integration, which is steadily gaining interest in school reform as an effective teaching strategy that increases student outcomes academically and socially--particularly effective for students who have traditionally been marginalized. This book will benefit practicing educators who want to invigorate their practice, preservice teachers who want to expand their toolkit, and school leaders looking to employ policies that support movement and arts during the school day. Jump in and get your kids Learning Through Movement and see how active and engaging learning can be!