Clinicians Guide to LGBTQIA+ Care by Randi Singer (Editor); Ronica Mukerjee (Editor); Linda Wesp (Editor); Dane Menkin (Other)Strive for health equity and surmount institutional oppression when treating marginalized populations with this distinct resource!This unique text provides a framework for delivering culturally safe clinical care to LGBTQIA populations filtered through the lens of racial, economic, and reproductive justice. It focuses strongly on the social context in which we live, one where multiple historical processes of oppression continue to manifest as injustices in the health care setting and beyond. Encompassing the shared experiences of a diverse group of expert health care practitioners, this book offers abundant examples, case studies, recommendations, and the most up-to-date guidelines available for treating LGBTQIA patient populations. Rich in clinical scenarios that describe best practices for safely treating patients, this text features varied healthcare frameworks encompassing patient-centered and community-centered care that considers the intersecting and ongoing processes of oppression that impact LGBTQIA people every day--particularly people of color. This text helps health providers incorporate safe and culturally appropriate language into their care, understand the roots and impact of stigma, address issues of health disparities, and recognize and avoid racial or LGBTQIA microaggressions. Specific approaches to care include chapters on sexual health care, perinatal care, and information about pregnancy and postpartum care for transgender and gender-expansive people. Key Features: Emphasizes patient-centered care incorporating an understanding of patient histories, safety needs, and power imbalances Provides tools for clinician self-reflection to understand and alleviate implicit bias Fosters culturally safe language and communication skills Presents abundant patient scenarios including specific dos and don'ts in patient treatment Includes concrete objectives, conclusions, terminology, and references in each chapter and discussion questions to promote critical thought Offers charts and information boxes to illuminate key information
Publication Date: 2021-01-28
The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health [2 Volumes] by Jason S. Schneider (Editor); Vincent M. B. Silenzio (Editor); Laura Erickson-Schroth (Editor)This comprehensive review is the first handbook on LGBT physical and mental health created by the world's oldest and largest association of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender health care professionals. Recent years have seen a flood of high quality research related to the health of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals and families. The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health is the first comprehensive resource to gather that knowledge in one place in the service of vital information needs. Both accurate and easy to understand, the two-volume handbook addresses physical, mental, and emotional health, as well as policy decisions affecting the LGBT community from youth through old age. Volume One is devoted to overall health of the population and preventive care, while Volume Two examines disease management. Entries discuss concerns as diverse as HIV/AIDS, substance abuse, domestic violence, depression, heart health, policy and advocacy, and research. The clear but detailed articles in this groundbreaking work will help readers cut through the noise and controversy surrounding scientific advances to make informed choices about their health and well-being. Includes issues of physical, emotional, and sexual health, as well as prevention of disorders An appendix of organizations that may serve as sources for more information or assistance
Publication Date: 2019-05-17
Health Care Disparities and the LGBT Population by Vickie L. Harvey; Teresa Heinz HouselThis co-edited volume addresses a population of people whose lack of health care access, mistreatment in health care settings, and refusal of health care services are often omitted from discussions about health care disparities and insurance reform. The perspectives and needs of LGBT people should be routinely considered in public health efforts to improve the overall health of every person and eliminate health disparities. Previous research suggests that LGBT people experience worse health outcomes than their heterosexual counterparts. Differences in sexual behavior account for some of these disparities, but others are associated with social and structural inequities. Low rates of health insurance coverage, high rates of stress due to systematic harassment, stigma, and discrimination, and a lack of cultural competency in the health care system frequently manifest in negative health-related behaviors. The lack of data collection on sexual orientation and identity in state and federal health care surveys leads to inadequate information about LGBT populations and impedes the establishment of health programs and public policies that benefit them. This volume's research will increase people's understanding of the social and structural inequalities that LGBT populations experience. With its diverse perspectives, this book will not only benefit LGBT people, but will also more broadly improve the lives of entire communities, medical care, and prevention programs and services. Improvements to our country's health care system should go beyond providing universal insurance and should ensure equitable health care for all.
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Healthcare by Kristen Eckstrand (Editor); Jesse M. Ehrenfeld (Editor)Written by experienced clinicians and edited by Vanderbilt Program for LGBTI Health faculty, this book contains up-to-date expertise from physicians renowned for their work in LGBT health. This important text fills an informational void about the practical health needs of LGBT patients in both the primary care and specialty settings remains, and serves as a guide for LGBT preventive and specialty medicine that can be utilized within undergraduate medical education, residency training, and medical practice. Beginning with a short review of LGBT populations and health disparities, it largely focuses on the application and implementation of LGBT best practices within all realms of medical care. In addition, the book offers recommendations for the integration of LGBT health into systems-based practice by addressing intake forms and electronic health records, as well as evidence-based emerging concerns in LGBT health. This is a must-have volume for medical students, residents, and practicing physicians from all medical specialties.
Publication Date: 2016-02-17
LGBT Health by K. Bryant Smalley (Editor)LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities offers a first-of-its-kind, comprehensive view of mental, medical, and public health conditions within the LGBT community. This book examines the health outcomes and risk factors that gender and sexual minority groups face while simultaneously providing evidence-based clinical recommendations and resources for meeting their health needs. Drawing from leading scholars and practitioners of LGBT health, this holistic, centralized text synthesizes epidemiologic, medical, psychological, sociological, and public health research related to the origins of, current state of, and ways to improve LGBT health. The award-winning editors have assembled LGBT health experts who have conducted extensive research into diverse areas of LGBT health. Sections guide the reader through the entire spectrum of LGBT health, from the historical roots of LGBT health research all the way to modern, emerging lines of inquiry to improve health among diverse gender and sexual minority groups. Specific groundbreaking coverage includes such populations as LGBT veterans; reproductive health and parenting; sexual minority persons living with chronic illness and disability, and more. This encompassing volume serves as a go-to reference, a call to action, and a guide for anyone involved in researching and improving the health of LGBT populations. KEY FEATURESSynthesizes research from the psychological, sociological, medical, and public health fields into a comprehensive discussion of LGBT healthCovers the continuum of health from antecedents and sociocultural determinants through specific evidence-based approaches for improving outcomesIncludes specific focus on a wide range of health outcomes, including topics often neglected in the field such as reproductive health and parenting, intimate partner violence, cancer, and other chronic diseasesSpecifically investigates a variety of LGBT subgroups and their unique health needs including for LGBT veterans, transgender men and women, and racial and ethnic minorities who are LGBTPowerPoint slides with discussion questions available for qualified Instructors
Publication Date: 2017-10-28
LGBTQ Cultures by Michele J. Eliason, Michele J; Peggy L. ChinnDrawn from real-world experience and current research, the fully updated LGBTQ Cultures, 3rd Edition paves the way for healthcare professionals to provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients. This vital guide fills the LGBTQ awareness gaps, including replacing myths and stereotypes with facts, and measuring the effects of social stigma on health. Vital for all nursing specialties, this is the seminal guide to actively providing appropriate, culturally sensitive care to persons of all sexual orientations and gender identities. Care for LGBTQ patients with awareness, sensitivity, and knowledge . . . NEW and updated content includes references to case studies, discussion aids, links to videos, and action steps Explains basic concepts and terminology r elated to sexual orientation and gender identity--what constitutes culturally appropriate care and its importance for nurses Offers up-to-date statistics on healthcare refusal rates, prominent LGBTQ health issues, and social, psychological, and environmental factors affecting LGBTQ health and healthcare Specific information on LGBTQ populations that helps nurses improve quality of care, care decisions, and referrals Essential classroom and clinical guide-- illuminates LGBTQ healthcare needs for all professional healthcare schools and all practice settings--hospitals, clinics, residential programs, private practices, public health policy settings, and more Ideal best practices guide for all nurse clinicians, nurse educators, community health workers, and policy-makers Delineates the needs of different LGBTQ communities, cultures, and populations. Topics include: Diversity issues Developmental issues LGBTQ families Structural changes that need to occur in healthcare systems to create culturally sensitive services Substance abuse issues Mental health issues Risk behaviors, chronic disorders, and serious illnesses Studies and resources for improving inclusion in practice and curricula Structural barriers to quality care--making healthcare settings inclusive Individual, institutional, community, and societal calls to action.
Publication Date: 2017-11-16
The Remedy: Queer and Trans Voices on Health and Health Care by Zena Sharman (Editor)To remedy means to heal, to cure, to set right, to make reparations. The Remedy invites writers and readers to imagine what we need to create healthy, resilient, and thriving LGBTQ communities. This anthology is a diverse collection of real-life stories from queer and trans people on their own health-care experiences and challenges, from gay men living with HIV who remember the systemic resistance to their health-care needs, to a lesbian couple dealing with the experience of cancer, to young trans people who struggle to find health-care providers who treat them with dignity and respect. The book also includes essays by health-care providers, activists and leaders with something to say about the challenges, politics, and opportunities surrounding LGBTQ health issues. Both exceptionally moving and an incendiary call-to-arms, The Remedy is a must-read for anyone--gay, straight, trans, and otherwise--passionately concerned about the right to proper health care for all. Contributors include Amber Dawn, Sinclair Sexsmith, Francisco Ibanez-Carrasco, Cooper Lee Bombardier, Kara Sievewright, and Kelli Dunham. Zena Sharman is a passionate advocate for queer and trans health. She has over a decade's experience in health research; currently she is Director of Strategy at the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research. Zena is also co-editor of Persistence: All Ways Butch and Femme. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia.
Publication Date: 2016-10-24
Trauma, Resilience, and Health Promotion in LGBT Patients by Kristen L. Eckstrand (Editor); Jennifer E. Potter (Editor)This book has two goals: to educate healthcare professionals about the effect of identity-based adversity on the health of their LGBT patients, and to outline how providers can use the clinical encounter to promote LGBT patients' resilience in the face of adversity and thereby facilitate recovery. Toward this end, it addresses trauma in LGBT populations; factors that contribute to resilience both across the lifespan and in specific groups; and strategies for promoting resilience in clinical practice. Each chapter includes a case scenario with discussion questions and practice points that highlight critical clinical best practices. The editors and contributors are respected experts on the health of LGBT people, and the book will be a "first of its kind" resource for all clinicians who wish to become better educated about, and provide high quality healthcare to, their LGBT patients.
Publication Date: 2017-06-14
Gender Dysphoria and Disorders of Sex Development by Baudewijntje P. C. Kreukels (Editor); Thomas D. Steensma (Editor); Annelou L. C. de Vries (Editor)This book provides a state of the art review on the care and treatment of and current scientific knowledge on gender dysphoria (GD) and disorders of sex development (DSD). The book elucidates the history, the present situation, and the newest developments and future perspectives in both research on GD and DSD and the clinical management of individuals with GD and DSD of all ages. With contributions from a selection of leading scientists and established clinicians in the field of GD and DSD, this is a unique and comprehensive book focusing on the etiology and developmental trajectories of GD and DSD regarding gender identity development, psychiatric comorbidity, classification dilemmas, ethical dilemmas in treatment, influences of societal stigmatization, and discussion of the medical and psychological implications and outcomes of treatment, and providing treatment guidelines for individuals with GD and DSD (distinct guidelines each for children, adolescents, and adults). By presenting not only an historic overview and the current state of the art, but also challenges for the future, the book aims to demonstrate the need for further research and to stimulate the development and improvement of the clinical care of individuals with GD and DSD.
Publication Date: 2013-07-01
A Guide to Transgender Health by Rachel Ann Heath; Katie WynneProvides the most up-to-date information on transgender science and its applications, for gender-diverse people, their supporters, and the professionals who assist them to lead healthy, happy, and successful lives. The number of people presenting at gender clinics worldwide for assistance has increased exponentially in the last decade. Transgender people also have become much more prominent in the media. An increase in political populism, however, has brought unprecedented attacks on trans* people. Covering a wealth of topics relevant to transgender people and their supporters, both social and professional, Heath and Wynne help readers to see through the flawed arguments of those who wish to inflict damage on the trans* community. The content of this book ranges from theoretical ideas about the origin of gender diversity to practical solutions for trans* people to enjoy life in their chosen gender. Physical health topics include hormone therapy, puberty blockers, breast augmentation/reduction, gender confirmation surgery, and speech therapy. Mental health topics include dealing with discrimination, bullying, and transphobia. The text is presented so that it can be understood with no scientific background, but is also highly relevant to the health professional. Copious footnotes and references allow those wishing to delve more deeply into the topics to do so easily. The book is also supported by readily accessible resources available online and on social media. Covers the full spectrum of current knowledge on trans* health and issues Surveys transgender history and defines transgender terminology Addresses new developments for young and elder transgender people Includes copious footnotes and references Lists further resources available online and on social media
Publication Date: 2019-06-24
Mobile Subjects by Aren Z. AizuraThe first famous transgender person in the United States, Christine Jorgensen, traveled to Denmark for gender reassignment surgery in 1952. Jorgensen became famous during the ascent of postwar dreams about the possibilities for technology to transform humanity and the world. In Mobile Subjects Aren Z. Aizura examines transgender narratives within global health and tourism economies from 1952 to the present. Drawing on an archive of trans memoirs and documentaries as well as ethnographic fieldwork with trans people obtaining gender reassignment surgery in Thailand, Aizura maps the uneven use of medical protocols to show how national and regional health care systems and labor economies contribute to and limit transnational mobility. Aizura positions transgender travel as a form of biomedical tourism, examining how understandings of race, gender, and aesthetics shape global cosmetic surgery cultures and how economic and racially stratified marketing and care work create the ideal transgender subject as an implicitly white, global citizen. In so doing, he shows how understandings of travel and mobility depend on the historical architectures of colonialism and contemporary patterns of global consumption and labor.
Publication Date: 2018-10-25
Non-Binary Genders by Ben VincentMethodologically innovative in its use of mixed-media diary research, this timely book offers a focused sociological study of non-binary people's identities and experiences in the UK. From negotiating a sense of legitimacy when 'not feeling trans enough' to how identities can shift over time, it reveals important nuances of diverse gender identities while offering crucial insights into trans-related healthcare inequalities.The findings of this ground-breaking research mark an important contribution to the wider fields of gender studies, LGBTQ scholarship and medical policy.
Publication Date: 2020-07-23
Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: the Fenway Guide by Alex Keuroghlian; Jennifer Potter; Sari L. ReisnerThe very first textbook of its kind delivers the evidence- and case-based review clinicians need to address the unique healthcare realities of transgender and gender diverse adults As the visibility and acceptance of transgender and gender diverse adults increases, the demand for state-of-the-art health care services increases, too. Fenway Guide to Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care offers everything you to provide basic, culturally responsive care that meets the primary, preventive, and specialty health needs of transgender and gender diverse adults patients. With the most up-to-date scientific and clinical information, this comprehensive, practical guide reviews new data on terminology, demographics, and epidemiology; highlights key aspects of gender identity emergence across the lifespan; and provides comprehensive instruction on both hormonal and surgical gender affirmation. Applying a health-equity model of care, it offers a roadmap that clinicians can use when addressing health needs of transgender and gender diverse communities.
Publication Date: 2021-10-08
Transgender Health by Ben Vincent; Stuart Lorimer (Foreword by)BMA Medical Book Awards Finalist The number of people coming out as transgender continues to rise, and this book shows healthcare and medical practitioners how to deliver excellent primary and secondary care to gender diverse patients. This guide provides accessible and practical advice on tailoring the social and ethical aspects of practice to the needs of each individual. Beyond setting out how clinical procedures should work for gender reassignment, it explains how to use language and pronouns in a respectful way, provides information on transgender services and resources, and offers insights into the challenges commonly faced by transgender people in both medical and social contexts. Based on cutting edge research and the lived experience of the author as a non-binary person, this is essential reading for all those working to meet the needs of transgender people in healthcare settings.
Publication Date: 2018-06-21
Transgender Health and Medicine: History, Practice, Research, and the Future by Dana Jennett BevanThis text starts with the history of transgender science and provides current, evidence-based information on theories and treatment procedures, concluding with projections of future scientific developments. A transgender person is one whose congruent gender behavior (e.g., masculine, feminine, genderqueer) does not match the culturally assigned gender category based on their sex at birth. For example, a transgender person may behave and present as a woman despite being born with male genitalia.This book provides background on transgender history, needs, assessment, and procedures; side effects of procedures; and outcomes that all providers need to understand to treat transgender patients and relate to their particular expectations. The current etiquette basis for establishing an effective provider-patient relationship is highlighted. Pathological terms are no longer acceptable and new non-pathological terms are rapidly replacing them, because being transgender is now recognized as a natural part of diversity rather than a disease or disorder. Also included here are new theories of causation and treatment approaches for providers.The book additionally outlines current and earlier schools of thought and provides an integrated theory of transgender causation that includes genetic, epigenetic, cultural, and early learning/emergence factors and highlights research needs and expected future research topics. Offers comprehensive, evidence-based scientific information Contains a glossary of key terms Provides a resource list for reference
Publication Date: 2019-07-26
Transgender Health Issues by Sarah BoslaughPRINT COPY LOCATED IN BMB LIBRARY STACKS.
Transgender individuals face unique challenges when it comes to their physical, psychological, and social health and well-being. This accessible reference investigates these concerns in depth, offering readers insights into topics such as discrimination and access to health care. Although transgender individuals have always existed, their fight for acceptance and equal rights is just beginning. Within this larger context, one area of emerging concern is their health--physical, psychological, and social. From legislation determining public restroom access to insurance coverage of hormone therapy for transitioning individuals to harassment and discrimination, transgender people face a number of challenges that can negatively affect their well-being. A part of Greenwood's Health and Medical Issues Today series, Part I of this book explores definitions of sex and gender, the history of transgender awareness and activism, physical and psychological health concerns specific to transgender individuals, and how identifying as transgender can have different effects on individuals' health at different stages in their life. Part II examines issues and controversies related to the health and well-being of transgender individuals. Part III provides a variety of useful materials, including case studies, a timeline of critical events, a glossary, and a directory of resources. Confronts a topic that has historically been ignored by researchers and public health officials Examines key issues that affect transgender individuals, such as discrimination and access to health services Offers illuminating case studies that use engaging real-world scenarios to highlight key ideas and debates discussed in the book Provides a Directory of Resources to guide readers to reliable sources of additional information
Call Number: WA300.1 .B743 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-03
Topics in 2SLGBTQIA+ Health
Black LGBT Health in the United States by Lourdes Dolores Follins (Editor, Contribution by) & Jonathan Mathias Lassiter (Editor, Contribution by)Black LGBT Health in the United States: The Intersection of Race, Gender, and Sexual Orientation focuses on the mental, physical, and spiritual aspects of health, and considers both risk and resiliency factors for the Black LGBT population. Contributors to this collection intimately understand the associations between health and intersectional anti-Black racism, heterosexism, homonegativity, biphobia, transphobia, and social class. This collection fills a gap in current scholarship by providing information about an array of health issues like cancer, juvenile incarceration, and depression that affect all subpopulations of Black LGBT people, especially Black bisexual-identified women, Black bisexual-identified men, and Black transgender men. This book is recommended for readers interested in psychology, health, gender studies, race studies, social work, and sociology.
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
Cancer and the LGBT Community by Ulrike Boehmer (Editor); Ronit Elk (Editor)This book covers the scope of current knowledge of cancer in the LGBT community across the entire cancer continuum, from understanding risk and prevention strategies in LGBT groups, across issues of diagnosis and treatment of LGBT patients, to unique aspects of survivorship and death and dying in these communities. Each chapter includes an in depth analysis of the state of the science, discusses the many remaining challenges and unanswered questions and makes recommendations for research, policy and programmatic strategies required to address these. Focus is also placed on the diversity of the LGBT communities. Issues that are unique to cancer in LGBT populations are addressed including the social, economic and cultural factors that affect cancer risk behaviors, barriers to screening, utilization of health care services, and legislation that directly impacts the health care of LGBT patients, healthcare settings that are heterosexist and unique aspects of patient-provider relationships such as disclosure of sexual orientation and the need for inclusion of expanded definition of family to include families of choice. The implications of policy change, its impact on healthcare for LGBT patients are highlighted, as are the remaining challenges that need to be addressed. A roadmap for LGBT cancer prevention, detection, diagnosis, survivorship, including treatment and end of life care is offered for future researchers, policy makers, advocates and health care providers.
Publication Date: 2015-06-09
The Equal Curriculum: The Student and Educator Guide to LGBTQ Health by James R. Lehman (Editor); Kristine Diaz (Editor); Henry Ng (Editor); Elizabeth Petty (Editor); Meena Thatikunta (Editor); Kristen Eckstrand (Editor)This first-of-its-kind textbook marks a revolutionary effort to reform medical education nationally by providing a comprehensive, high-quality resource to serve as a foundation for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) health education across multiple disciplines. Addressing the decades-long unequal weight of medical education generally offered about the care of LGBTQ people, The Equal Curriculum was created to advance clinicians' competencies in optimizing the health of LGBTQ people. This textbook is designed to be integrated into health sciences curricula and offers pointed strategies to evaluate the integration of LGBTQ health topics. Starting with a brief overview, chapters 1 through 4 cover general content that is highly relevant to all health professionals working with LGBTQ people. Chapters 5 through 12 focus on specific patient populations and clinical specialties, and chapters 13 and 14 cover special topics. Key points in each chapter are highlighted to aid in the comprehension, and case vignettes are provided throughout the textbook, allowing learners to apply the content to clinical scenarios in order to evaluate how the application of relevant knowledge may impact health outcomes. Questions similar to National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME) style are provided in most chapters to assist in the application of content. As major addition to the clinical literature, The Equal Curriculum: Student and Educator Guide to LGBTQ Health should be of great interest to health sciences instructors, medical students in their preclinical and clinical phases, and trainees from other disciplines, such as physician assistants, nurses, social workers, and public health professionals.
Publication Date: 2019-11-14
The Gay Science: Intimate Experiments with the Problem of HIV by Kane RaceSince the onset of the HIV epidemic, the behaviour of men who have sex with men has been subject to intense scrutiny on the part of the behavioural and sociomedical sciences. What happens when we consider the work of these sciences to be not merely descriptive, but also constitutive of the realities it describes? The Gay Science pays attention to lived experiences of sex, drugs and the scientific practices that make these experiences intelligible. Through a series of empirically and historically detailed case studies, the book examines how new technologies and scientific artifacts - such as antiretroviral therapy, digital hookup apps and research methods - mediate sexual encounters and shape the worlds and self-practices of men who have sex with men. 　 Rather than debunking scientific practices or minimizing their significance, The Gay Science approaches these practices as ways in which we 'learn to be affected' by HIV. It explores what knowledge practices best engage us, move us and increase our powers and capacities for action. The book includes an historical analysis of drug use as a significant element in the formation of urban gay cultures; constructivist accounts of the emergence of barebacking and chemsex; a performative response to Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis and its uptake; and, a speculative analysis of ways of thinking and doing sexual community in the digital context. 　 Combining insights from queer theory, process philosophy and science and technology studies to develop an original approach to the analysis of sexuality, drug use, public health and digital practices, this book demonstrates the ontological consequences of different modes of attending to risk and pleasure. It is suitable for those interested in cultural studies, sociology, gender and sexuality studies, digital culture, public health and drug and alcohol studies.
Publication Date: 2017-08-04
Handbook of LGBT Elders by Debra A. Harley (Editor); Pamela B. Teaster (Editor)This groundbreaking resource presents a wealth of findings and perspectives previously unseen in the LGBT literature. Its focus on psychological, sociopolitical and care delivery issues affecting LGBT elders reveals both the nuanced interplay between diverse sources of identity and multiple sources of stigma and discrimination. Specific chapters highlight challenges and resiliencies impacting subpopulations (e.g., racial groups, veterans, immigrants), examine employment and advocacy issues, discuss later-life concerns in context and offer guidelines for relevant, ethical practice. Contributors represent a wide range of fields from psychiatry and gerontology to public health and public policy, reflecting the scope and needs of this diverse and complex population. Among the topics in the Handbook: Family relationships of older LGBT adults. The intersection of identities: race, age, sexuality and care network. Bisexuality: an invisible community among LGBT elders. Implications of the Supreme Court ruling on same-sex marriage. No money, no work and you're old. Disabilities among LGBT elders: responses of medicine, public health, rehabilitation and social work. Handbook of LGBT Elders is an essential reference for mental health professionals, psychologists and social workers who work with the LGBT community and the elderly, as well as researchers interested in the LGBT community and aging.
Publication Date: 2015-08-05
LGBT Psychology and Mental Health: Emerging Research and Advances by Richard Ruth (Editor); Erik Santacruz (Editor)This cutting-edge guide spotlights some of the most exciting emerging discoveries, trends, and research areas in LGBT psychology, both in science and therapy. LGBT Psychology and Mental Health: Emerging Research and Advances brings together concise, substantive reviews of what is new or on the horizon in science and in key areas of clinical practice. It will equip professionals at institutions with mental health programs that deal with lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues with information and insight to help psychologists, mental health clinicians, and counselors better serve the LGBT populations that, increasingly, are seeking their services. The book begins with introductory chapters that present an overview of the field, chronicle the relationship between the LGBT community and the field of psychology in past decades, and identify emerging issues covered in the volume. It then addresses subjects such as social psychology and LGBT populations, health disparities and LGBT populations, the evolution of developmental theory related to the LBGT populations, emerging policy issues in LGBT health and psychology, and recent efforts to make the field of psychology more trans-inclusive and affirmative. Chapters are also dedicated to examining contemporary, LGBT-affirmative psychoanalysis and treating addictions and substance abuse in the LGBT community. The book concludes with chapters that address how the concept of intersectionality can serve as a way to better understand LGBT members who possess multiple cultural identities and the unique stressors they experience in daily life. The final chapter summarizes issues that bridge the contributions provided by the authors, and it highlights current issues of focal concern in order to project future directions for the field of LGBT psychology in the next two decades. Presents a concise history of LGBT psychology as well as coverage of current LGBT psychology in various subfields, including social, developmental, psychoanalytical, minority psychology, and women's psychology Addresses issues in the LGBT community ranging from health disparities (physical, biological, and psychological illnesses that disproportionately affect the LGBT community) to addictions and substance abuse, stressors, and emerging policy issues Includes contributors who are well-known trailblazers and noted experts in the field
Publication Date: 2017-10-27
Marginality and Global LGBT Communities by Sheri R. NotaroThis book examines the interconnectedness of LGBT civil and political rights, bias, discrimination, homophobia, and LGBT health disparities both in the United States and globally. According to Notaro, the failure to extend equitable civil and political rights to LGBT individuals--combined with recent reversal of past gains--will continue to be associated with bias, stigma and discrimination toward the LGBT community. In turn, this sustained bias and stigma fosters a host of LGBT health disparities, including access to culturally competent health care, HIV/AIDS, substance use, homelessness, suicide, and violence. Thus, the bias and discrimination levied at the LGBT community is discussed as a major explanatory factor in life-threatening health disparities experienced by the community, particularly in urban areas worldwide. The volume provides a framework for considering future research that must identify ways to prevent these health disparities, being mindful of and harnessing the protective factors and supports that exist within the diverse LGBT community.
Publication Date: 2019-09-06
Punishing Disease: HIV and the Criminalization of Sickness by Trevor HoppeFrom the very beginning of the epidemic, AIDS was linked to punishment. Calls to punish people living with HIV--mostly stigmatized minorities--began before doctors had even settled on a name for the disease. Punishing Disease looks at how HIV was transformed from sickness to badness under the criminal law and investigates the consequences of inflicting penalties on people living with disease. Now that the door to criminalizing sickness is open, what other ailments will follow? With moves in state legislatures to extend HIV-specific criminal laws to include diseases such as hepatitis and meningitis, the question is more than academic.
Publication Date: 2017-11-10
Research Methods in the Study of Substance Abuse by Jonathan B. VanGeest (Editor); Timothy P. Johnson (Editor); Sonia A. Alemagno (Editor)See pp. 341-355: "LGBT Populations and Substance Abuse Research: An Overview", Diane Kerr
This authoritative handbook reviews the most widely-used methods for studying the use and abuse of alcohol and illegal drugs. Its thorough coverage spans the range of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-method approaches to documenting and measuring the complex psychological, behavioral, and physical experience of substance misuse and dependence, to ensure valid, useful results. Experts discuss special issues and considerations for conducting ethical research with specialized populations, including youth, inmates, and the LGBT community. Throughout these chapters, contributors demonstrate the multidisciplinary nature of substance abuse research, with emphasis on professional ethics and the critical role of research in developing best practices and effective policy for prevention and treatment. Among the topics covered: · Transdisciplinary research perspective: a theoretical framework for substance abuse research · Longitudinal methods in substance use research · Considerations in blending qualitative and quantitative components in substance abuse research · The use of biological measures in social research on drug misuse · Using surveys to study substance use behavior · Applications of GIS to inform substance abuse research and interventions · Evaluating substance use prevention and treatment programs Research Methods in the Study of Substance Abuse is an essential resource for health services and public health professionals, policymakers, and researchers working and training in the field of addiction. It encourages the rigor and understanding necessary to address widespread social and public health concerns.
Publication Date: 2017-07-05
The Routledge Handbook of LGBTQIA Administration and Policy by Wallace Swan (Editor)See "Health and Social Issues" section (ch. 9-14)
The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, Asexual, and Allies community (abbreviated LGBTQIA or "LGBT") is responding to a radically changed social and political environment. While a host of books have analyzed legal dimensions of LGBT public policy, this authoritative Routledge handbook is the first to utilize up-to-the-minute empirical data to examine and unpick the corrosive "post-factual" changes undermining LGBT public policy development. Taking an innovative look at a wide range of social and policy issues of broad interest--including homelessness, transgender rights, healthcare, immigration, substance abuse, caring for senior members of the community, sexual education, resilience, and international policy--through contributions from established scholars and rising stars, this comprehensive and cutting-edge volume will be a landmark reference work on LGBT administration and policy for decades to come.
Publication Date: 2018-10-26
Why a Gay Person Can't Be Made Un-Gay: The Truth About Reparative Therapies by MD, Martin KantorPRINT COPY AVAILABLE IN WOODWARD LIBRARY STACKS.
Despite an abysmal "success rate," practitioners still use reparative therapy in an attempt to turn gays and lesbians straight. This text exposes the pitfalls that should be considered before gays embark on this journey that typically leads nowhere. Although homosexuality is becoming less stigmatized in American culture, gays and lesbians still face strong social, familial, financial, or career pressures to "convert" to being heterosexuals. In this groundbreaking book, longtime psychiatrist Martin Kantor, MD--himself homosexual and once immersed in therapy to become "straight"--explains why so-called "reparative therapy" is not only ineffective, but should not be practiced due its faulty theoretical bases and the deeper, lasting damage it can cause. This standout work delves into the history of reparative therapy, describes the findings of major research studies, and discusses outcome studies and ethical and moral considerations. Author Kantor identifies the serious harm that can result from reparative therapy, exposes the religious underpinnings of the process, and addresses the cognitive errors reparative therapy practitioners make while also recognizing some positive features of this mode of treatment. One section of the book is dedicated to discussing the therapeutic process itself, with a focus on therapeutic errors that are part of its fabric. Finally, the author identifies affirmative eclectic therapy--not reparative therapy--as an appropriate avenue for gays who feel they need help, with goals of resolving troubling aspects of their lives that may or may not be related to being homosexual, and of self-acceptance rather than self-mutation. Presents thorough descriptions of the various reparative therapies, contrasts these techniques with traditional therapy, and exposes the faulty theoretical bases of this form of treatment Details the author psychiatrist's unsuccessful 5-year-long therapeutic attempt to change his own homosexuality Provides essential information that gays and their parents need to know before embarking on what the author feels is a futile course of changing sexual orientation. The content will enlighten politicians and reparative therapists themselves as well Supplies an essential, informed counterpoint to the existing literature on reparative therapy
Call Number: WM611 .K16w 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
Young Disabled and LGBT+ by Alex Toft (Editor); Anita Franklin (Editor)Young, Disabled and LGBT+ brings together the work of an international team interested in exploring the intersection of sexuality, gender identity, and disability in the lives of young people and aims to further develop this area as a distinct area of study. This volume features original research and writing into lives that are often misunderstood, marginalised and under-represented in research. It is framed with artwork, poetry and writing from young disabled LGBT+ people, and centralises the voices and lives of young disabled LGBT+ people throughout. Drawing from disciplines including: sociology, psychology, disability and youth studies, and with contributions from practitioners, it examines experiences and research from a number of perspectives, such as education, personal lives and activism. Featuring work from the UK, Canada, United States, India and Australia, it is a timely and topical book which will appeal to scholars particularly interested in sexuality, gender, disability and youth studies; professionals within health, education, social work and youth work who aim to understand and support young disabled LGBT+ people; and young people themselves.