- APA examples for online video, podcast, motion picture and television series.
- MLA examples for feature film, documentary, online video, and podcast.
- Chicago examples for film, film scene, and online video.
General Resources - Online
- Indigenous Studies (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)Kwantlen Polytechnic University has created a series of Indigenous information literacy videos on a variety of topics. In particular see the "Elders and Respectful Research" video and videos on citing Elders and Knowledge Keepers in APA, MLA and Chicago for additional information on citation practices.
- #CiteIndigenousAuthorsThis project was completed as part of the "Indigenous Library and Information Studies
in a Canadian context" course at the University of Alberta. It was inspired by the Cite Black Women Collective movement. #CiteIndigenousAuthors is an ongoing community-built resource designed to increase visibility of Indigenous-authored scholarly work. - Decolonizing CitationsAn online workshop presented by X̱wi7x̱wa Library Student Librarian and UBC's Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology, Indigenous Initiatives in October 2020. Discusses the importance of being critical of citation practices and provides instruction on using templates for citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers.
- Citation Management ToolsThis guide from UBC includes information about a variety of free and paid citation management and generator tools.
Film & How to Cite
-
Sample Citations for Film/ Online Video / TV are provided from each of the links below.
Just ask us!
AskAway
About: provides convenient and expert chat reference help to post-secondary students, faculty, and researchers across BC and the Yukon. For assistance click here.
Featured Resource
Citing your sources essentially means you are giving credit to someone for their work, in other words you are respectfully acknowledging where the information you are using comes from. There are different citation styles, essentially this means that there are different ways to write out how we acknowledge our sources. Academic integrity essentially refers to the standards and expectations people follow regarding citations and plagiarism as part of the academic community. When we do not properly cite our sources we are participating in plagiarism.
Here you can find resources on different citation styles, how to cite an Elder, copyright, and academic integrity.
- Elements of Indigenous style : a guide for writing by and about Indigenous Peoples by Gregory Younging
This link opens in a new window
e-Book. For access click "Online Access" on the right panel and login with your CWL (Campus Wide Login).
Citing Basics
Citation Basics:
- How to CiteUBC Library's research guide on citation.
- Copyright at UBCCopyright at UBC is available to support the university community navigate copyright for teaching, learning and research purposes
- Archival Material – Citing Archival SourcesUBC research guide on citing archival resources.
- Legal Citation GuideA guide to help with legal citation for the most common situations.
Citation Management Tools:
- Citation ManagementThese are tools to help you manage your citations! UBC has access to Citation Management Software available to you.
- BibTexBibTeX is a bibliography management tool that stores your references.
- Finding Articles from CitationsAlso see the "Reverse Citation Search" box above.
Citation Styles
- APA Citation Style GuideThis guide will support you in creating common citation formats in the APA (American Psychological Association) Style - 7th edition.
- Chicago Manual of Style Citation GuideThis guide covers the most commonly cited types of sources and provides examples for types of sources that students frequently ask questions about.
- MLA Online Citation GuideThe examples in this guide cover the more common sources only. For more detailed information, refer to the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed).
Indigenous Citation & Style Guides
Elements of Indigenous Style: A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples [e-book] by Publication Date: 2018Also available from X̱wi7x̱wa Library in print format.
So You Want to Write about American Indians? by Publication Date: 2005Also available from X̱wi7x̱wa Library in print format.- Understanding Peoples on Their Own Terms: A Rationale and Proposal for an Aboriginal Style Guide [thesis] byCall Number: PC Y68 U53 1999Publication Date: 1999
Citing Elders & Knowledge Keepers
Introduction
The official MLA and APA citation style guides do not have guidelines for citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers.
NorQuest College has developed the following templates for citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers (CC BY-NC 4.0) in the spirit of wahkôhtowin and reconciliation, and we thank them for sharing their template.
For information on the development of these templates and how to use them in practice, please see:
Lorisia MacLeod. "More Than Personal Communication: Templates for Citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers." KULA: Knowledge Creation, Dissemination, and Preservation Studies 5, no. 1 (2021). https://doi.org/10.18357/kula.135
APA Style
Unlike other personal communications, Elders and Knowledge Keepers should be cited in-text and in the References list.
In-text citation:
The in-text citation should follow APA guidelines for formatting in-text citations for paraphrasing and direct quotes. Include the Elder or Knowledge Keeper's last name and the year of communication. For example:
Delores Cardinal described the nature of the... (2004).
OR
The nature of the place was... (Cardinal, 2004).
Corresponding References list entry format:
Last name, First initial., Nation/Community. Treaty Territory if applicable. Where they live if applicable. Topic/subject of communication if applicable. personal communication. Month Date, Year.
For example: Cardinal, D., Goodfish Lake Cree Nation. Treaty 6. Lives in Edmonton. Oral teaching. personal communication. April 4, 2004.
MLA Style
Unlike most other personal communications, Elders and Knowledge Keepers should be cited in-text and in the Works Cited list.
In-text:
The in-text citation should follow MLA guidelines for formatting in-text citations for paraphrasing and direct quotes. Include the Elder or Knowledge Keeper's last name. For example:
Delores Cardinal described the nature of the...
OR
The nature of the place was... (Cardinal).
Corresponding Works Cited list entry:
Last name, First name., Nation/Community. Treaty Territory if applicable. City/Community they live in if applicable. Topic/subject of communication if applicable. Date Month Year.
For Example: Cardinal, Delores., Goodfish Lake Cree Nation. Treaty 6. Lives in Edmonton. Oral teaching. 4 April 2004.
Note: If you would like to approach an Elder or Knowledge Keeper for teachings, remember to follow protocol or if you are unsure what their protocol is, please ask them ahead of time.
Chicago Manual of Style
Work is underway to develop guidelines for citing Elders and Knowledge Keepers with Chicago Manual of Style. Please check back for updates.
Academic Integrity
"Academic integrity means practicing honesty and honour when engaging with your academics. Learn about citation, being responsible for your work, crediting the work of others, and concrete steps to ensuring academic integrity" by visiting UBC's Academic Integrity & Citations.
- Understand Academic IntegrityVideo explains what academic integrity means from the student perspective. This includes tips to avoid Plagiarism.
- Respect CopyrightCopyright is about your ability to copy and use content. Here are the basics!
- Cite SourcesWho, what, and when to citations!
- Cite MediaIn this resource discusses examples of how to cite various forms of media. Please refer to the citation practices of your discipline for specific details not covered in this guide.
- Cite DataCiting data has not always been standard practice, especially if it is data you a researcher collected themselves, but as data becomes more and more widely shared proper attribution is increasingly important. Find out the basics of citing data!
Reverse Citation Search
Indigenous scholars often cite Indigenous research. For example, Indigenous scholars across many disciplines cite the book Decolonizing Methodologies by Linda Tuhiwai Smith.
Google Scholar allows you to do a reverse citation search, which allows you to find resources that cite a specified publication.
1. Open Google Scholar and find the title you want to search, then click "cited by".
2. Select "Search within citing articles" and try performing a keyword search to narrow your results.
3. Look for author self-identification or biographies which identify authors as Indigenous within articles.