Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA 8th Edition Citation Style Guide

MLA 9th Edition Coming Soon!

Book: 1 author (MLA 14, 21)

Format:

Last name, First name Middle name or initial. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

In-text citation: (Author Last Name Page Numbers)

Example:

Grinnell, George C. The Age of Hypochondria: Interpreting Romantic Health and Illness. Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.

In-text citation: (Grinnell 32)

Book: 2 authors (MLA 14, 21)

Format:

Author Last Name, First Name or Initial, and Author First Name or Initial Last Name. Title. Publisher, Publication Date.

Example:

Chambers, Ruth, and Jan Gattrell. Okanagan History Vignettes: Readings for Adult Literacy Students. Okanagan University College, 2001.

In-text citation: (Chambers and Gattrell 52-53)

Note:

  • Arrange the authors in the order in which they are presented in the work.

Books: 3 or more authors (MLA 14, 22)

Format:

Last name, First name Middle name or initial, et al.  Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

Example:

Gillis, Sander, et al. Grammar of the English Language. Random, 1987.

In-text citation: (Gillis et al. 27)

Note:

  • Only the first author’s name is included.  Et al. takes the place of the rest of the authors’ names.

Electronic Book from the internet (MLA 31, 34, 47)

Format:

Author Last Name, First Name or Initial. “Title of Chapter.” Title of Book, Other Contributor (editor), Version, Publisher, Publication Date, Location  (pages of chapter), Internet Site, Location (URL).

Example:

Clarke, George Elliott. “What was Canada?” Is Canada Postcolonial: Unsettling Canadian Literature?, edited by Laura Moss, Wilfrid Laurier UP,  2003, pp. 27-39. Google Books, books.google.ca/ books?id=MuR0CwAAQBAJ&pg1257.

In-text citation: (Clarke 28)

 

Electronic book from a database (MLA 31, 34, 47)

Format:

Author Last Name, First Name or Initial. Title. Publisher, Publication Date, Title of Container (Database), Location (URL).

Example:

Lawrence, Sean. Forgiving the Gift: The Philosophy of Generosity in Shakespeare and Marlowe. Duquesne University Press, 2012. Project Muse, muse.jhu.edu/book/13511.

In-text citation: (Lawrence 53)

Edited book/ Editor as Author (multiple editors) (MLA 23)

Format:

Editor Last Name, First Name or Initial, editor (or editors). Title. Publisher. Publication Date.

Example:

Crane, Mark, et al., editors. Shell Games: Studies in Scams, Frauds, and Deceits (1300-1650). Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies, 2004.

In-text citation: (Crane et al. vii)

Notes:

  • This is a source with three editors. They selected and edited all of the essays that are included in the book.
  • If you have one or two editors you would list their names in full followed by editors.
  • If you are citing one of the essays in the book, you should instead cite the name of the author who wrote the particular essay cited. Use the example of chapter in an edited book.

Chapter in an edited book (MLA 30)

Format:

Author Last Name, First Name or Initial. “Title of Chapter.”  Title of Book, editor (or editors), Publisher, Publication Date, Location (pages).

Example:

MacArthur, Janet. “Imaginary Homelands and Thoughts Abroad: Dennis Brutus’ Hybrid Modernism.” Critical Perspectives on Dennis Brutus, edited  by Craig W. McLuckie and Patrick J. Colbert, Three Continents, 1995, pp. 70-85.

In-text citation: (MacArthur 70)

Notes:

  • Editors’ names are both arranged in first name last name order.
  • Sometimes you will need to cite an item that has another title as part of the title.  In this case, the book title Thoughts Abroad is italicized within the chapter title which is printed in regular type and enclosed by quotation marks.

Book with no author or editor (MLA 24)

Format:

Title of Book. Version (if applicable). Name of Publisher Publication Date.

Example:

MLA Handbook. 8th ed. The Modern Language Association of America, 2016.

In-text citation: (MLA Handbook 117)

Corporate author (MLA 25)

Format:

Author. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

Example:

Okanagan Writers’ League. A Few Loose Feathers: An Anthology. Sabre, 1994.

In-text citation: (Okanagan Writers’ League 65)

 

Poem in an anthology (MLA 16)

Format:

Author Last Name, Author First Name or Initial. “Title of Poem.” Title of Anthology, editor (or editors), Version (if applicable), Publisher, Publication                                 Date, Location (pages).

Example:

Page, P.K. “Images of Angels.” The Norton Anthology of Modern Poetry, edited by Richard Ellmann and Robert O’Clair. 2nd ed., Norton, 1988, pp.                                  941-43.

In-text citation:
When describing angels, Page writes, “Perhaps only a dog could accept them wholly, / be happy to follow at their heels / and bark and romp with them in the green fields” (59-61).

Notes:

  • When inserting poetry in an essay, use a forward slash at the end of each line of poetry. If quoted line in poetry starts with a capital letter, leave it in upper case, even in the middle of the sentence.
  • If the book is a second or revised edition, place this information after the editors, or after the title if no editors.

Dictionary entry: Print

Format:

Author (if applicable). “Title of Entry.” Title of Book.  Version (if applicable), Publisher, Publication Date, Location (page).

Example:

“Ideology.” Gage Canadian Dictionary. Revised ed., Gage Educational, 1997, p. 758.

In-text citation: (“Ideology” 758)

Notes:

  • If published electronically, include URL after page number.

Entry in an online reference work

Format:

Author (if applicable).  “Title of Entry.” Title of Book, Other Contributors (such as editor if applicable), Version (if applicable), Publisher, Publication                                 Date, Container (Title of Online Resource), Location (URL).

Example:

“Keats, John.” The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature, edited by Margaret Drabble and Jenny Stringer, 3rd ed., Oxford UP, 2007,      Oxford Reference Online, www.oxfordreference.com/ view/10.1093/acref/ 9780199214921.001.0001/ acref-9780199214921-e-3350?rskey=dRJKya&result=3349.

In-text citation: (“Keats, John”)

Notes:

  • In in-text citation, give source title in a shortened version of one or two words.
  • The title of the online resource is an example of a 2nd container.

Entry from Oxford English Dictionary

Format:

“Title of Entry.” Specific definition indication. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date, Location (URL).

Example:

“Passion.” Entry 1, def. 6a. Oxford English Dictionary. Oxford UP, 2016, www.oed.com/ view/Entry/138504?rskey=AyOUOQ.

In-text citation: (“Passion,” Entry 1, def. 6a)

Thesis or Dissertation: Retrieved from Online

Format:

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Thesis. Date of Publication. Name of Institution, Description of Work. Name of Database or Repository retrieved from, Location (URL or DOI).

Example:

Eikenaar, Jannik Haruo. The (Im) Proper Name of Salman Rushdie: Hybridity, Migrancy, and the Rushdie Persona. 2015. U of British Columbia, PhD dissertation. cIRcle, dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0165805.

In-text citation: (Eikenaar 65)

Note:

  • Example of DOI as a location.

Graphic novel

Format:

Author Last Name, First Name or Initial. Title of Book. Other Contributors (such as Adaptation or Translator if applicable).  Series Number (if applicable), Publisher, Date of Publication.

Example:

Yoshida, Akimi. Banana Fish. English adaptation by Matt Thorn and Cari Gustav Horn. Translated by Matt Thorn, Vol. 19, Viz, 2004.

In-text citation: (Yoshida 121)

Custom course materials: Reprinted from another source

Format:

Author Last Name, First Name or Initial.  “Title of Article.” Title of Book, other contributors (such as editor), Publisher, Publication Date, Location (pages).

Example:

Scudder, Samuel. “In the Laboratory with Agassiz.” Custom Course Materials: Engl 112, edited by Shirley McDonald. U of British Columbia Okanagan, 2010, pp. 1-3.

In-text citation: (Scudder 3)

Government Report: Print

Format:

Author (city or country. Dept. name).  Title of Report. Publisher, Publication Date.

Example:

Canada. Health Canada. Best Practices: Early Intervention, Outreach and Community Linkages for Women with Substance Abuse Problems.  Health Canada, 2006.

In text: (Canada. Health Canada 12)