Contact Us
Looking for specific content but can't find it?
Looking for specific content but can't find it?Don't hesitate to reach out to us!
Christina (christina.sylka@ubc.ca)
- Operations and Logistics
Irena (irena.trebic@ubc.ca)
- Finance
- Accounting and Systems
- Organizational Behaviour
- Human Resources
- Sustainability and Ethics
Kimberly (kimberly.fama@ubc.ca)
- Marketing and Behavioural Science
- Strategy
- Business and Economics
- Entrepreneurship and Innovation
- Law and Business Communications
Business Article Databases
Tips for Searching Article Databases Efficiently
Tips for Searching Article Databases Efficiently- Use "and" between different search terms to narrow down your results
- Use "or" between similar search terms to expand your results
- Use " " around a phrase to search as the words together. Eg: "marketing strategy"
- Use * at the end of a word that can end in different spellings. Eg: entrepreneur* (it will search for entrepreneurs, entrepreneurial etc.)
- If there is a dropdown beside the search box, choose Subject Term if you want your results to be focused on that topic
- Do not forget about the Filter Function of each database after you generate the results.
They can help you narrow your results down to the type of publication, year it was published, geography and many more!
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowABI/INFORM Collection is a comprehensive business database, which contains journals, business periodicals, dissertations, and country-and industry-focused reports
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides access to journal articles, books and videos related to business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Use for finding articles, case studies, and company and industry information.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals, magazines, and newspapers published in Canada in the fields of business, current events, education and general reference.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowCanadian Newsstream offers the full text of almost 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail, National Post and the Vancouver Sun.
- Emerald Publishing This link opens in a new windowArticles on major management disciplines including strategy, leadership, marketing and human resource management.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva provides access to a deep archive of news and business information, allowing users to conduct in-depth research on companies, industries, regional affairs.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest academic search engine providing free searching to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports).
- Warc : World Advertising Research Center This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, reports and case studies on advertising. Includes advertising expenditure data. Can search by brand, advertiser, and agency.
Streaming Video
IMPORTANT: Course instructors should enter streaming video titles into LOCR if they are recommending films to their students. Many streamed video databases are subscription-based and access to individual titles can be time-limited. If titles have been entered into LOCR then Library staff will be able to contact instructors before access is lost.
Searching for Videos at UBC Library
Searching for Videos at UBC Library- Type name/subject of video of interest, for eg: "business strategy" (include quotation marks to search it as a phrase)
- Narrow down results by the left hand filters:
Content Type: Streaming Video - Click Apply and the search results will only include streaming video
Business Video Resources
Business Video Resources- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowWithin the database contains the Harvard Seminar Series of streaming videos. In the database, hover on More in the top blue navigation bar, click Image/Business Videos and then search by topic.
Filter the results further to show videos on the left hand side menu. - Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy includes business content such as business skills, economics and globalization and leadership.
Some videos on Kanopy may be listed as not available. In that case, please fill out the form within to request the title. - Warc : World Advertising Research Center This link opens in a new windowWARC hosts a great collection of marketing webinars. On the home page, click on the WARC Webinars icon to access their library,
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowScroll down and look for the Webinar and Events icon to gain access to an overview of the growing trends in tech and scientific developments in the industrial, pharmaceutical and high technology sectors worldwide.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new windowO’Reilly for Higher Education includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers, along with videos, case studies.
Enter search term in the search bar and filter the format to videos once you reach the search results page.
For titles to streaming videos that are not available through our subscriptions at UBC, please reach out to Irena Trebic at irena.trebic@ubc.ca
For titles to streaming videos that are not available through our subscriptions at UBC, please reach out to Irena Trebic at Case Studies from Business Databases
Add the phrase "case studies" to your search
Add the phrase "case studies" to your search
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides access to journal articles, books and videos related to business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Use for finding articles, case studies, and company and industry information.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals, magazines, and newspapers published in Canada in the fields of business, current events, education and general reference.
- Emerald Publishing This link opens in a new windowArticles on major management disciplines including strategy, leadership, marketing and human resource management.
- Warc : World Advertising Research Center This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, reports and case studies on advertising. Includes advertising expenditure data. Can search by brand, advertiser, and agency.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new windowO’Reilly for Higher Education includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers, along with videos, case studies, learning paths and self-assessments.
Journals with Business Cases
Search bar function is available within the journals
Search bar function is available within the journals- International Journal of Cases in ManagementAvailable in ABI/Inform Collection from 2003-2012
- The Times 100 Business Case StudiesJournal issues available from Sep 1, 1997 - Sep 1, 2013