Reference Sources / Background Reading
Handbooks and encyclopedias provide overviews of topics. The entries will describe the key themes, readings, and authors and are a good introduction to a topic. They should have short lists for further reading which can guide you to key or critical sources on a topic. This is especially helpful when a topic is new to you - it's easy to get overwhelmed by search results when you are new to a topic.
Some examples of online handbooks and encyclopedias relevant to morphology:
The Oxford Handbook of Morphological Theory by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2019This volume is the first handbook devoted entirely to the variety of theoretical frameworks adopted in the field of morphology, including Minimalism, Optimality Theory, Network Morphology, Cognitive Grammar, and Canonical Typology.
The Cambridge Handbook of Morphology by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2016The Cambridge Handbook of Morphology describes the diversity of morphological phenomena in the world's languages, surveying the methodologies by which these phenomena are investigated and the theoretical interpretations that have been proposed to explain them.
The Handbook of Morphology by Call Number: Call Number: Koerner P241 .H36 1998Publication Date: 1998The chapters deal with issues such as inflection, derivation, compounding, productivity, and various aspects of the interface question, the relationship between morphology and phonology, syntax, and semantics, the role of morphology in a wider perspective.
The Oxford Handbook of Derivational Morphology by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2014Provides a comprehensive and thorough overview of the study of derivational morphology.
The Oxford Handbook of Compounding by Call Number: Koerner P245 .O94 2009Publication Date: 2011Presents a comprehensive review of theoretical work on the linguistics and psycholinguistics of compound words and combines it with a series of surveys of compounding in a variety of languages from a wide range of language families.
A Glossary of Morphology by Call Number: Koerner Reference P241 .B378 2004Publication Date: 2004This alphabetic guide introduces terms used in the study of linguistic morphology, the study of the structure of words.
Handbook of Word-Formation by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2005Traces the many strands of study in the field of word formation that have developed since the seminal work of Marchand and Lees in the 1960s.
