In existence since 1966, JLL provides a scholarly forum for AATJ members and the larger academic world in the area of Japanese literature, Japanese linguistics, teaching Japanese as a second or foreign language, and Japanese culture.
The Journal of Japanese Studies is the most influential journal dealing with research on Japan available in the English language. Since 1974, it has published the results of scholarly research on Japan in a wide variety of social science and humanities disciplines, as well as translations of articles from Japanese and substantive book reviews.
Founded in 1938 and published semiannually by Sophia University, Monumenta Nipponica is one of the oldest English-language academic journals in the field of Asian studies. It carries original scholarly contributions on premodern and modern history, literature, art history, religion, and thought; translations of important Japanese literary and historical sources; and authoritative reviews of recent books on Japan.
Offering a fresh approach to Asia scholarship, positions develops theoretical, philosophical, historical, and critical approaches in a forum open to debate. The breadth and pace of the journal ensure that readers seeking to add "Asia" to their areas of critical competency are included in our debates, challenged and informed.
Summon is UBC Library's most comprehensive search engine. It is a good starting point to find journal articles, print and e-books, newspaper articles, and many other types of resources.
For more help on Summon, see the Summon Help guide.
Nearly 900,000 citations on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present, with coverage of many important journals, particularly ones published in Asia, which are not indexed anywhere else.
A general, multidisciplinary index for Japanese periodicals and scholarly publications dating back to 1957. Some full-text provided. Includes the National Diet Library's periodical index (Zasshi kiji sakuin).
"The Complete Database for Japanese Magazines and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present." This article index provides citation information for articles published from the Meiji period on. The database includes the full National Diet Library periodicals index (Zasshi kiji sakuin), but is especially useful for those looking for resources published before 1948.
J-STAGE is an electronic journal platform developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST). J-Stage promotes open access and 90+% of articles from journals, conference proceedings, research reports, and others, are free to read.
A Japanese multi-purpose database including many reference resources, such as Nihon Kindai Bungaku Daijiten (Encyclopedia of Modern Japanese Literature) 日本近代文学大事典 and Nihon Jinbutsu Bunken Mokuroku (Bibliography of Japanese biographies) 日本人物文献目録.