Research Guides: HIST 381D: India and the Raj: Primary Sources

India Specific

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary documents, supported by interpretive essays and other secondary materials, for the study of 'Empire'.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
Drawing upon the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this collection looks at History of South Asia.
Times of India (1838 - 2008) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to the English language daily newspaper founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India.

17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A full-text/full-image searchable digital archive of about 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom; digitized by the British Library.
19th Century British Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National, regional and local British newspapers from the holdings of the British Library. Includes the full text of 71 newspapers, totalling over 3 million pages.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The full text of hundreds of periodical titles from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.

Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2008.
Access is available to all residents within British Columbia via the Points to the Past Portal.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Tracks the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth.