UBC Library Catalogue Search
Enter topic keyword(s) AND video?
Example: "First Nations languages" AND video?
Summon Search
Enter topic keyword(s)
Example: "Cree language"
Select content type: Film, Streaming Video, Video Recording
X̱wi7x̱wa Library Guide
Finding Videos & DVDs
Streaming Video at UBC
The following is a selection of video streaming resources available through UBC Library. For a comprehensive list, see Streaming Video @ UBC in the Film - Finding and Using research guide.
- Ethnographic Video OnlineThis collection covers every region of the world and features the work of documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
- Global Environmental Justice CollectionThe documentaries in this collection are suitable for use in a wide range of subject areas including Asian, Indigenous and environmental studies, geography, film making, journalism, anthropology, conservation biology, forestry, soil sciences, religion and the humanities.
- KanopyOn-demand streaming for educational institutions. Content includes documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Explore subjects such as: "Indigenous Studies," "Indigenous Artists," "Indigenous Rights," and more.
- NFB Campus (National Film Board)Online viewing of films produced by the National Film Board of Canada, including animation, documentaries, experimental productions, and alternative dramas. Explore subjects such as: "Indigenous Peoples in Canada (First Nations and Métis)," "Indigenous Peoples in Canada (Inuit)," and "Indigenous Peoples outside Canada," and more.
- North American Indian Thought and CultureLearn about Indigenous peoples’ experiences from their own point of view. This collection contains multiple formats, including text, image, audio, and video.
Short Films Online
- InuktitubeYouTube for people who speak Inuktitut.
- IsumaTVIndigenous community videos in 70 languages.
Apps
- File Hills Qu'Appelle Tribal Council Education DepartmentiPhone and iPad apps for learning the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Nakota, and Lakota languages. From Treaty 4 territory in Saskatchewan.
- First Peoples' Cultural CounciliPhone, iPad, and Android apps for learning First Nations languages of BC.
- Honour WateriPad app that passes on songs in Anishinaabemowin, the Anishinaabe language.
- Inuit-Specific Online Learning ResourcesiPhone and Android apps.
- List of Indigenous Apps (Ontario Institute for Studies in Education)iPhone and Android apps. Includes language apps as well as culture and community, music and radio, and children's apps.
- List of Latin American Indigenous Language Apps (Remezcla)iPhone and Android apps.
- Maskwacis Cree Language AppiPhone and iPad app from the Samson Cree Nation.
- Michif To Go (Gabriel Dumont Institute)The first English-to-Michif dictionary app available for Android.
- Ogoki Learning SystemsiPhone and iPad apps. Includes First Nations languages of BC.
- Thornton MediaiPhone and iPad apps for First Nations across Canada.