Books and eBooks
Summon
The search bar that is on the library landing page of UBC Vancouver, UBC Okanagan, UNBC, and UVic libraries is called Summon. At UBC, we recommend logging in to Summon before searching (click LOGIN at top right and choose "OpenAthens Login"). Some publishers require that users authenticate in order to view bibliographic/item data through a search tool like Summon. To ensure you are seeing the complete set of search results, please log in. Your OpenAthens session will last for several hours.
Summon searches across most, but not all of what the libraries have available. Run your search, and select 'Books/eBooks' from the list of Publication Types on the left-hand pane of your results page.
Key Resources
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowApproximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, and a USMLE self-assessment tool and 50+ clinical cases.
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowCollection of books, drug information, multimedia, cases, and patient education. Books include DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach.
- Books@OVID This link opens in a new windowCollection of full text e-books for medicine, nursing and pharmacy. Includes The ICU Book, Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, and the Joanna Briggs Institute series on Synthesis Science in Healthcare.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
- JAMAevidence This link opens in a new windowJAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. Includes classic textbooks, calculators, critical appraisal forms, and other tools.
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new windowPsychiatric references and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, featuring DSM-5 and The American Journal of Psychiatry.
- Red Book Online This link opens in a new windowFrom the American Academy of Pediatrics, provides up-to-date, reliable, clinically useful findings on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis and treatment of over 200 childhood infectious diseases.
- McMaster Textbook of Internal MedicineExpert overview of a wide range of topics, from cardiology and endocrinology to hematology and infectious diseases, reflecting the Canadian and North American approach. UBC medical students can access the app for free. Please contact a UGME librarian for more info.
Articles
While you can use Summon and Google Scholar to look for journal articles, UBC subscribes to many databases that are subject specific, offer enhanced search capabilities, and are populated predominantly with scholarly publications.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
- EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowInternational (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to regularly updated systematic reviews by the Cochrane Collaboration. Includes completed systematic reviews and review protocols in development.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- DTES Research Access PortalPortal to research, reports and community-generated materials from Vancouver's Downtown Eastside. Featured topics include health, housing, and community memories.
Indigenous Health
Key Resources
- Believe Me: Identifying Barriers to Health Equity for Sexual and Gender Diverse Communities in British Columbiaby Health Equity Collaborative
Selected Titles
Determinants of Indigenous Peoples' Health: Beyond the Social by ISBN: 1773380389Publication Date: 2018
Research Resources
- Research 101 : A Manifesto for Ethical Research in the Downtown Eastside byPublication Date: 2019
- Indigenous HealthResearch guide from UBC Library.
Anti-Racism in Health Education
Selected Titles
Me and White Supremacy: Combat Racism, Change the World, and Become a Good Ancestor by ISBN: 1728209811Publication Date: 2020
Re‐examining our roots: Queer history and anatomy by Publication Date: 04/2022From the journal Anatomical record
Dermatology eBooks
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, Ninth Edition by ISBN: 9781264278015Publication Date: 2023-04-17This classic text is the recommended dermatology text for the medical program.
Taylor and Kelly's Dermatology for Skin of Color 2/e by ISBN: 9780071805520Publication Date: 2016-03-04
Clinical Dermatology: Diagnosis and Management of Common Disorders, Second Edition by ISBN: 1264257376Publication Date: 2022-03-29
Atlas of Dermatological Conditions in Populations of African Ancestry by ISBN: 9783030726164Publication Date: 2021-07-03
Video and Image Resources
- Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new windowSeries of anatomy lessons on video using unembalmed human specimens to illustrate anatomical structures.
- Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th edition (Streaming Videos) This link opens in a new windowBates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination is an updated collection of online videos of the classic textbook on physical examination and history taking.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowContains 300+ procedure videos. Search for a specific topic or select 'browse' to view the complete collection.
- Concept Media Streaming Video Collection This link opens in a new windowA streaming collection of health videos. Covers topics such as 3-lead EKG, respiratory disorders, cardiac disorders, dementia, diabetes, elder issues, infection control, respiratory disorders, & urine elimination.
- Reaching TeensCreated to benefit all professionals who serve adolescents, Reaching Teens integrates a trauma-sensitive model with the core belief that identifying, reinforcing, and building on inherent strengths can facilitate positive youth development. In this 2nd edition, more than 400 videos combine with written chapters to show how strength-based communication engages and empowers teens.
- Dermatology eBooksA selected list of recent dermatology ebooks, including books about black and brown skin.
Drug Resources
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowCollection of books, drug information, multimedia, cases, and patient education. Books include DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach.
- CPS This link opens in a new windowFormerly RxTx and e-Therapeutics. Comprehensive drug information resource produced by the Canadian Pharmacists Association. Includes e-CPS and a drug interactions module.
- Drug Information PortalThe Drug Information Portal is a free resource created by the US National Library of Medicine that pulls together information basic and consumer drug information, including published literature, drug inserts, clinical trials, toxicology, breastfeeding, liver toxicity, and pill identification.
For more, please see:
Consumer Health
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowClick on the "Patient Ed" tab to access hundreds of overviews geared toward patients (PDFs also available).
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClick on "Patient Education" to access thousands of print-friendly information sheets for patients, many of which are available in multiple languages.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowClick on "Patient leaflets" to view hundreds of handouts for patients.