Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks

Importing by Folder

Follow these steps if you chose the export by folder option. This is the recommended method as it preserves the organization of your references.

  1. Log into Zotero. If you don't have Zotero, Follow the steps on our Citation Management Guide to install and set up Zotero.
     
  2. Choose File and select Import from the menu.
    Screenshot of dropdown menu from file in Zotero. Import is highlighted

     
  3. From the dialogue box that appears, choose A File. 
    Screenshot of Zotero dialogue box titled Where do you want to import from? A file (BibTex, RIS, Zotero RDF, etc.) is highlighted.

     
  4. Choose the file you exported from New RefWorks or Legacy RefWorks
     
  5. In the dialogue box that appears, select Place imported items and collections into a new collection. This will create a new folder (called collections in Zotero). Click Next
    Screenshot of Zotero dialogue box. Place imported collections and items into new collection is selected and highlighted. Copy files to the Zotero storage folder is selected.

     
  6. Your references are now in a new folder. Right click the new folder, and select Rename Collection. Enter the name you would like the folder to have.
     
  7. Repeat as necessary for the other folders you exported from RefWorks.

Importing all at once

Follow these steps if you selected the export all at once option for New RefWorks or Legacy RefWorks.

  1. Log into Zotero. If you don't have Zotero, Follow the steps on our Citation Management Guide to install and set up Zotero.
     
  2. Choose File and select Import from the menu.
     Screenshot of dropdown menu from file in Zotero. Import is highlighted

     
  3. From the dialogue box that appears, choose A File. 
    Screenshot of Zotero dialogue box titled Where do you want to import from? A file (BibTex, RIS, Zotero RDF, etc.) is highlighted.

     
  4. Choose the file you exported from New RefWorks or Legacy RefWorks.
     
  5. In the dialogue box that appears, you can choose to add the items to a new collection or not. If not, they will appear in My Library. Click Next. 
    Screenshot of Zotero dialogue box. Place imported collections and items into new collection is selected and highlighted. Copy files to the Zotero storage folder is selected.

     
  6. Your references are now in Zotero.