Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 231: Introduction to Indigenous Literatures

Finding Articles

Search for journal articles in some of the Library's many article indexes or databases.

What are the Best Databases to Search?

The Library subscribes to hundreds of specialized databases that index journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc, in different disciplines.

·  MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)

MLA International Bibliography is the most important subject index covering literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, and film. Contains over 2.3 million records and annually indexes over 70,000 journal articles, books, Web sites, and dissertations.

MLA Indexers use a thesaurus of over 50,000 topical terms and 327,000 names. Since the research covered is cutting-edge, it sometimes describes concepts not in the thesaurus, and so subjects, names, and cross-references are regularly added.

When searching MLA, advanced searching is more powerful and allows you to limit the search to specific fields.

On the blue navigation bar at the top of the page, click on names as subjects and enter, Clements, Marie. Check the box next to her name and click search.

Includes journals such as, Studies in American Indian Literatures; North Dakota Quarterly; American Indian Culture & Research; Canadian Journal of Native Studies. Search terms: folk-literature, folk narrative, oral history or search by author name: Sherman Alexie, Joy Harjo, Gerald Vizenor, Lee Maracle, Thomas King.

Click on the icon Add to folder to save items that you plan to read, print, email citations, etc.

Be sure to use the help screens for further information about searching this database.

Some other recommended databases to search for articles in this course include:

·  Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete

This is the core database to begin searching about Canadian topics. Indexes newspapers, magazines and academic journals.

Compare the results for these two searches:    truth and reconciliation AND canada 

                                                             "truth and reconciliation" AND canada

Use the search refinements on the left to narrow the results to scholarly articles.

- Artemis Literary Sources (formerly Literature Resource Center and Literature Criticism Online)

Indexes over a million full-text articles from scholarly journals & literary magazines, critical essays, topic overviews, biographies, & more.

Click on Advanced Search, then Person Search and enter Marie Clements.

- Academic Search Complete

Indexes over 10,000 journals, with many full-text articles. Search terms: Indians of North America - Canada, Indians of North America - British Columbia, Metis, Inuit, Eskimos, indigenous peoples, Aboriginal Australians, and names of specific nations. Because some of the articles have no search terms assigned, also try fulltext searches using Canadian terminology, such as, First Nations, and Aboriginal.

·  America History and Life

Definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

Need Help Finding Journal Articles?

See the UBC Library Guide to Finding Articles. The guide shows you  how to search for a known article from a list or in course reserve, find articles on a topic, and what to do when UBC Library doesn't have the article you're looking for.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a valuable search tool for doing research, especially for finding citation information in the humanities.

If you are using Google Scholar off campus, make sure you link to Google Scholar via UBC Library's Indexes and databases which will give you direct links to the Library's electronic materials. Google works with libraries to determine which journals and papers they've subscribed to electronically, and then links to articles from those sources when they're available. Once you indicate what library you're a member of, they will keep an eye out for that library's subscription materials and provide special links to them in your search results.

Try searching:  "burning vision" clements