Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 231: Introduction to Indigenous Literatures: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

A good starting point for all research, references sources provide an overview of research topics and historical context, identify key events and people, and often include a short bibliography of important books and articles for further reading.The Library has specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and bibliographies for literature which can provide an overview of your research topic and key authors.

Selected Online Reference Sources

·  Artemis Literary Sources (formerly Literature Resource Center)
Over 1 million full-text articles from scholarly journals & literary magazines, critical essays, topic overviews, biographies, & more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.

Select Advanced search then Person search and search tomson highway. Use the filters in the left column to sort the results.

·  Encyclopedia of literature in Canada [electronic resource] / edited by William H. New.
Try searching "first nations literature".

·  Native American literatures [electronic resource] : an encyclopedia of works, characters, authors, and themes / Kathy J. Whitson.
Try browsing table of contents.

·  Native writers and Canadian writing [electronic resource] : Canadian literature special issue / edited by W.H. New.
Try searching first nations, inuit, native, or individual names of language groups.

·  Dictionary of Native American literature [electronic resource] / Andrew Wiget, editor.
Try searching "british columbia".

·  North American Indian Drama
Contains 172 plays by 33 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Try searching theater companies by place.

North American Indian Thought and Culture

Brings together more than 100,000 pages of personal stories, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. Fifty-four volumes, representing 15,000 pages, are from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries alone.Virtually all North American regions are represented. Some nations are covered in great depth, including the Eskimos and Inuit of the Arctic; the sub-Arctic Cree; the Pacific Coastal Salish; the Ojibwa, Cheyenne, and Sioux of the Plains; the Luiseno, Pomo and Miwok of California; the Apache, Navajo, and Hopi of the Southwest; the Creek and Cherokee of the Southeast; the Peqout, Iroquois, and Seneca of the Northeast; the Metis and Nez Perce of the Great Plateau; and peoples of other regions, with nearly 500 nations represented in all.

 Go to the Table of Contents for Peoples. Click on view by State and Province. Click to expand on Canada, then click to expand on British Columbia to see a list of Indigenous peoples that have been located in the province.

·  NFB Explore (National Film Board)
The collection features over 850 films including animation, documentaries, experimental productions and alternative dramas.
Click on Films by subject and try searching Aboriginal Peoples in Canada.

Selected Reference Books