Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education

Consider this library guide as your bookshelf. These Okanagan library books are only steps away from your office.

Instructional Techniques

           

Teaching inclusively in higher education

Moira A. Fallon, Susan C. Brown

LB2322.2 .T424 2010

This book is designed for higher education instructors. The focus of the book is to assist all faculty instructors in higher education to better meet the needs of their student populations. It addresses the major issue of higher education teaching today: the need to reach all higher education students using active learning strategies. Higher education today is rapidly changing and faculty members are being presented with new types of students; ones who often have clear goals for bettering themselves, but at the same time lack what might have been considered to be basic skills necessary for success in a college or university setting. Instructors today must reach and bring all students into the college or university setting in an inclusive manner. The emphasis of this book is on student-focused strategies for teaching inclusively

Teaching tips
McKeachie's teaching tips : strategies, research, and theory for college and university teachers

Marilla D. Svinicki & Wilbert J. McKeachie

LB2331 .M394 2014

This indispensable handbook provides helpful strategies for dealing with both the everyday challenges of university teaching and those that arise in efforts to maximize learning for every student. The suggested strategies are supported by research and adaptable to specific classroom situations. Rather than suggest a “set of recipes” to be followed mechanically, the book gives instructors the tools they need to deal with the ever-changing dynamics of teaching and learning

Tools for teaching

Barbara Gross Davis

LB2331 .D37 2009
                               

This edition includes more than sixty-one chapters designed to improve the teaching of beginning, mid-career, or senior faculty members. The topics cover both traditional tasks of teaching as well as broader concerns, such as diversity and inclusion in the classroom and technology in educational settings.

Teaching with emotional intelligence: a step-by-step guide for higher and further education professionals

Alan Mortiboys

LB1072 .M67 2012
                               

This practical book looks at how teachers can develop and use their emotional intelligence to enhance their teaching and their students' learning effectively. Taking the reader step-by-step through the learning process and looking at the relationship from the perspective of both the teacher and the learner, this book will help the reader to: - plan the emotional environment; - learn how to relate and listen to learners effectively; - read and respond to the feelings of individuals and groups; - handle and reveal your feelings as a teacher, as appropriate; - recognise your prejudices and preferences; - improve non-verbal communication; - plan for the physical experience of learners; - deal with your learners' expectations, comments and questions.

Enhancing university teaching: lessons from research into award-winning


David Kember with Carmel McNaught

LB2331 .K385 2007

Also

Online

Written by experts in the field, this book aims to provide an alternative approach to quality teaching in higher education by deriving a model of good university teaching from the academics which universities have chosen as their best teachers. Award-winning teachers outline their beliefs and practices as a teacher, covering key topics including: assessment motivating students planning courses and lessons teaching large classes reflection and feedback managing discussion and group work. Illustrated with extracts from interviews with the award-winning teachers, and packed with activities and further reading, this textbook provides a set of principles for good teaching internationally.

Learning to teach in higher education

Paul Ramsden

LB2331 .R28 2003

Also

Online

The first part of the book provides an outline of the experience of teaching and learning from the student's point of view, out of which grows a set of prinicples for effective teaching in higher education. Part two shows how these ideas can enhance educational standards, looking in particular at four key areas facing every teacher in higher education:
* Organising the content of undergraduate courses
* Selecting teaching methods
* Assessing student learning
* Evaluating the effectivenesss of teaching

Tools for teaching in an educationally mobile world

Jude Carroll

LB2331 .C337 2015

Tools for Teaching in an Educationally Mobile World examines the challenges that undergraduate and postgraduate teachers often encounter when working with students from different national and cultural backgrounds. It focuses on the consequences for interactive teaching and for course design in a world where students, ideas and courses are mobile, using examples and experiences from a wide range of disciplines and national contexts.

Guide to teaching effective seminars : conversation, identity, and power

Susan Fiksdal

LB2393.5 .F55 2014

A Guide to Teaching Effective Seminars provides college and university faculty with a new approach to thinking about their teaching and helps them develop a deeper understanding of conversation itself. Seminars often inspire collaborative learning and produce rich educational environments, yet even experienced faculty find these conversations can range in quality.

A concise guide to improving student learning : six evidence-based principles and how to apply them.

Diane Cummings Persellin and Mary Blythe Daniels

LB2331 .P425 2014

This concise guidebook is intended for faculty who are interested in engaging their students and developing deep and lasting learning.

* Summarizes recent research on six of the most compelling principles in learning and teaching
* Describes their application to the college classroom
* Presents teaching strategies that are based on pragmatic practices
* Provides annotated bibliographies and important citations for faculty who want to explore these
topics further

Facilitating seven ways of learning : a resource for more purposeful, effective, and enjoyable college teaching

James R. Davis and Bridget D. Arend

LB2331 .D377 2013

Learner-centered teaching : five key changes to practice

Maryellen Weimer

LB2331 .W39 2013

Also Online

In this new edition of the classic work, one of the nation's most highly regarded authorities on effective college teaching offers a comprehensive introduction to the topic of learner-centered teaching in the college and university classroom, including the most up-to-date examples of practice in action from a variety of disciplines, an entirely new chapter on the research support for learner-centered approaches, and a more in-depth discussion of how students' developmental issues impact the effectiveness of learner-centered teaching

A guide to better teaching : skills, advice, and evaluation for college and university professors

Leila Jahangiri and Tom Mucciolo

LB2331 .J34 2012

A Guide to Better Teaching is a self-help book that provides anyone teaching a college course with a thorough understanding of what it takes to be an effective teacher. Derived from the authors' extensive research, several interactive assessment tools are included that measure levels of effectiveness according to learner preferences. Each chapter is filled with detailed explanations, relevant stories, and action-driven tables that help them in understanding and applying skills.

Fostering creativity : a diagnostic approach for higher education and organizations

Arthur Cropley and David Cropley

LB2331 .C75 2009

Innovation is universally recognized as a key components of first world economies that is vital for continued prosperity. Innovation is driven by the generation of effective noveltyin other words, creativity. However, both in higher education and also in business and industry, insufficient effort is being made to encourage and develop creativity, with negative consequences for innovation. This book draws on complementary views of creativity and innovationas a business process and as a social-psychological modelto create a more detailed and more highly differentiated model which is capable of serving as a practical foundation for diagnosing, analyzing, optimizing and fostering creativity and innovation in a variety of organizational settings

The graphic syllabus and the outcomes map : communicating your course

Linda B. Nilson

LB2361 .N55 2007

This book shows college instructors how to communicate their course organization to students in a graphic syllabus—a one-page diagram, flowchart, or concept map of the topical organization—and an outcomes map—a one-page flowchart of the sequence of student learning objectives and outcomes from the foundational through the mediating to the ultimate. It also documents the positive impact that graphics have on student learning and cautions readers about common errors in designing graphic syllabi.

How to teach international students : a practical teaching guide for universities and colleges

Paul J. Kurucz

LB1738 .K87 2006

Paul Kurucz here. I wrote this book.
Why? Because I found when I started teaching 19 years ago that I didn't really know how to teach international students. More importantly, I came to the conclusion that my inability to teach international students might actually be harming them! . My ignorance meant that I was teaching and assessing international students through my own cultural lens, beliefs, values, and likes/dislikes. Ouch!  Now, while I can't completely remove my cultural lens, I am more able to see, hear, and teach to the needs of international students. Becoming a better teacher of international students is really, really rewarding for me.
Perhaps this book can help you find new and deeper rewards from teaching international students

Idea-based learning : a course design process to promote conceptual understanding

Edmund J. Hansen

LB2361.5 .H354 2011

Also Online

Idea-based Learning takes as its point of departure the big conceptual ideas of a discipline that give structure and unity to a course and even to the curriculum, as opposed to a focus on content that can lead to teaching sequences of loosely-related topics; and aligns with notions of student-centered and outcomes-based learning environments.

Adopting a backwards design model, it begins with three parallel processes: first, identifying the material that is crucial for conceptual understanding; second, articulating a clear rationale for how to choose learning outcomes based on student needs and intellectual readiness; and finally, aligning the learning outcomes with the instructional requirements of the authentic performance tasks.

A handbook for teaching & learning in higher education : enhancing academic practice

edited by Heather Fry, Steve Ketteridge, Stephanie Marshall

Online

This best-selling handbook is one of the most popular and influential books for those developing their careers in higher education. The combination of wide ranging, accessible and authoritative guidance and advice, with case studies, vignettes and a real understanding for the needs of those working in HE today, make it an essential book for many. The focus remains firmly on developing professional academic skills in terms of teaching, student learning, research, career development and subject excellence.

Lesson study : using classroom inquiry to improve teaching and learning in higher education

Bill Cerbin

LB2331 .C43 2011

Also Online

This volume offers guiding principles, theoretical underpinnings, fresh thinking, detailed examples, and, importantly, a window into the larger community that is now assembling itself around this important work. This is not only a book about lesson study but about teaching and learning more broadly

Optimizing teaching and learning : practicing pedagogical research


Regan A.R. Gurung and Beth M. Schwartz.

LB2331 .G797 2009

Also Online

Optimizing Teaching and Learningwill serve as a practical guide for anyone, anywhere, who is interested in improving their teaching, the learning of their students, and correspondingly, contribute to the scholarship of teaching and learning.
  • Bridges the gap between the research and practice of SoTL
  • Provides explicit instructions on how to design, conduct, analyze, and write-up SoTL work
  • Includes samples of actual questionnaires and other materials (e.g., focus group questions) that will jumpstart investigations into teaching and learning
  • Explores the advantages and disadvantages of various pedagogical practices and present applications of SoTL using case studies from a variety of disciplines

Teach! : the art of teaching adults

Leo A. Meyer.

LB1025.3 .M494 2005

Packed with proven insights and advice from a master teacher, this handbook enables instructors at all levels to successfully teach any subject to adults. Candid about the realities of the adult classroom, these techniques enable teachers to optimize their teaching skills, polish their presentations, and effectively manage students. Beginning with basic teaching techniques and progressing through lesson plans, discipline, and avoiding common mistakes, this book offers a step-by-step approach to achieving positive results. A comprehensive overview of presentation skills for business, educational, professional, and informal settings contribute to the handbook's effective use in the classroom and workplace.

Story Smart: Using the Science of Story to Persuade, Influence, Inspire, and Teach

Kendall Haven

LB1042 .H3886 2014

Based on breakthroughs in the fields of neural and cognitive sciences, this book demonstrates how stories can exert influence and persuade audiences. Through step-by-step guidance, you will learn how to construct communications for impact, meaning, and accuracy. This practical guide is organized into four sequential parts: the neuroscience of words; the set of tools provided to each user; the influence of narratives in changing beliefs, attitudes, values, and behaviors; and the techniques needed for building powerful, influential, and effective (PIE) stories. This book will help you master the tools and critical skills of effective story-based communication.

Ideas that work in college teaching

edited by Robert L. Badger

LB2331 .I336 2008

Fifteen authors from thirteen different disciplines discuss their varied approaches to teaching.

Teaching at its best : a research-based resource for college instructors

Linda B. Nilson

LB2331 .N55 2010

This expanded and updated edition of the best-selling handbook is an essential toolbox, full of hundreds of practical teaching techniques, classroom activities and exercises, for the new or experienced college instructor. This new edition includes updated information on the Millennial student, more research from cognitive psychology, a focus on outcomes maps, the latest legal options on copyright issues, and more. It will also include entirely new chapters on matching teaching methods with learning outcomes, inquiry-guide learning, and using visuals to teach, as well as section on the Socratic method, SCALE-UP classrooms, and more.

Teaching for quality learning at university: what the student does

John Biggs, Catherine Tang

LB2331 .B526 2003

Online

This best-selling book explains the concept of constructive alignment in education and aids implementation of this at multiple levels.

Becoming a critically reflective teacher

Stephen D. Brookfield

LB2331 .B677 1995

Brookfield offers a very personal and accessible guide to how faculty at any level and across all disciplines can improve their teaching. Applying the principles of adult learning, Brookfield thoughtfully guides teachers through the processes of becoming critically reflective about teaching, confronting the contradictions involved in creating democratic classrooms, and using critical reflection as a tool for continuous personal and professional development.

Blueprint for learning : constructing college courses to facilitate, assess, and document learning

Laurie Richlin

LB2361 .R476 2006

An outstanding faculty development tool. It neither overcomplicates nor oversimplifies instructional design, and it provides numerous illustrations and references, making it a well-rounded tool. It would be best utilized as a study guide for faculty interested in engaging, learner-centered, accountable instruction

Green Guides

The guides are intended to be relatively short, easy to read handbooks on different aspects of higher education, with a particular focus on teaching and learning issues.Green Guides appeal to faculty across disciplines and offer pragmatic advice on a wide variety of the tasks and responsibilities of university teachers, with the aim of encouraging reflection on current practice and enhanced teaching and learning effectiveness

The portfolio process / Eileen M. Herteis and Nicola Simmons
Leading effective discussions / Erika D.H. Kustra, Michael K. Potter.
Cultural diversity and inclusive teaching / Shibao Guo, Zenobia Jamal.
Creative problem solving / Daryl Caswell.
Teaching for critical thinking / Geraldine Van Gyn, Carole Ford
Teaching with cases / David Dunne, Kim Brooks.
Feedback : key to learning / Sergio J. Piccinin.
Teaching the art of inquiry / Bob Hudspith, Herb Jenkins.
Active learning / Beverly J. Cameron.
Teaching large classes / Allan J. Gedalof.