Research Help
Data Sources
There are a large number of dataset repositories, catalogs and portals which can be used in business research. This page presents a selected list of resources, organized in broad categories by type of data:
|
|
|
Identifying alternate data sources
Use Library Research Guides
Search Institutional Repositories
Conducting Primary Research
Researchers also conduct primary research, collecting and managing their own original data.
- Research Data ManagementIf this is an area that interests you, please review UBC Library's Research Data Management guide.
Obtain help
Canadian data
- CANSIM (CANadian Socioeconomic Information Management) Database (Statistics Canada) This link opens in a new windowCANSIM is a comprehensive database from Statistics Canada containing more than 52 million numeric time series covering a wide variety of social and economic indicators.
- Canadian Census Analyser This link opens in a new windowCanadian Census Analyser features census profiles for multiple levels of geography as far back as 1961, online analysis of public use microdata files 1971- , and postal code conversion files 1996- .
- Canadian Trade Data OnlineTrade Data Online provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada's and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries.
Financial data
- Bloomberg This link opens in a new windowInvestment analysis database. Use to find stock prices, ratios, betas, business news, freight rates, stock exchange members, etc. Available on specific machines in the Canaccord Learning Commons, Wayne Deans Investment Analysis Centre (current Sauder students and faculty and staff only) and UBCO Library.
- WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) This link opens in a new windowWRDS is a Web platform hosting data from Standard & Poor's Compustat, CRSP, CSMAR, Execucomp, Global Insight, I/B/E/S,Thomson Reuters Mutual Fund (s12) Holdings, and Institutional (13f) Holdings and more.
- Standard & Poor's Capital IQ This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of global public and private companies, banks, investment firms and M&A transactions.
US and international data
- Penn World TablePWT is a database with information on relative levels of income, output, inputs and productivity, with country and period coverage depending on the release.
- UNdata This link opens in a new windowSelected statistics from the entire UN system. Summary tables cover agriculture, population, industry, national accounts, energy, health, human development, trade, refugees, education, employment, and technology.
- World Development Indicators (WDI)The World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Public data sites
Bilateral trade
Exchange rate data
Other