Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THTR 562 - Studies in Dramatic Theory and Criticism

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a valuable search tool for doing research, especially for finding citation information in the humanities.

When you are using Google Scholar off campus, make sure you access it via UBC Library Indexes & databases so that it will display the links to access full text articles through the library.

Try searching for the book: semiotics of performance which was published in 1993.

Citation Searching

Web of Science consists of five databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals and, just recently, conference proceeding, in all areas of research, including: the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded. In addition to cited reference searching, you can search these databases by topic, author, source title, and address. It is an excellent database to use for searching interdisciplinary topics.

Let's start by searching for articles by Jerry Wasserman. Enter: wasserman j* in the search box and change the index to author. Limit your search to Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Note: Web of Science use initials only for first names of authors and an asterisk will broaden your search.
You will get over 90 results which you can refine by subject and Document types. By refining the subjects Web of Science Categories you can reduce the number of results and by narrowing the results to journal articles only in Document Types. Now change the sorting of the results from Publication Date-latest to oldest to Times Cited-highest to lowest.

Click on the article DADDYS GIRLS, FATHER-DAUGHTER INCEST AND CANADIAN PLAYS BY WOMEN. On the right you can click to see who cited this article and also find other relevant articles by clicking on Related Records. You can analyze the results in various ways.

There's another way to find your author in Web of Science. Let's go back to the initial search screen and use author finder to find Kirsty Johnston. Enter her last name and first initial, then select johnston k, then ARTS & HUMANITIES, then UNIV BRITISH COLUMBIA. Select all the entries, click on the first article and view related records.. You can do cited reference searching in the Web of Science database. Assume you have a citation to an interesting journal article, you can find other articles that have cited 'your' article. You can also find articles that have cited specific books. For example, try a citation search for Judith Butler's 1988 article in Theatre Journal "Performative acts and gender constitution: an essay in phenomenology and feminist theory".

  • Select Cited reference search
  • Follow instructions for entering Cited author, work and year
  • Click on Search
  • Click on Select all then Finish Search

For more information, see: Cited Reference Searching: An Introduction.

Citation Searching?

Woodcut carved by Johann von Armssheim (1483). Portrays a disputation between Jewish and Christian scholars (Soncino Blaetter, Berlin, 1929. Jerusalem, B. M. Ansbacher Collection).