Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THTR 562 - Studies in Dramatic Theory and Criticism

Core Databases

Search for journal articles in some of the Library's many article indexes or databases.

What are the Best Databases to Search?

The Library now subscribes to hundreds of specialized databases that index journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc, in different disciplines. Use the same kind of keyword search strategies that you used in the library catalogue.

Some recommended databases to search for articles about Theatre topics:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a valuable search tool for doing research, especially for finding citation information in the humanities.

If you are using Google Scholar off campus, make sure you go to Google Scholar Preferences and type in UBC so that it will display links when you access full text articles through the library.

Google works with libraries to determine which journals and papers they've subscribed to electronically, and then links to articles from those sources when they're available. Once you indicate what library you're a member of, they will keep an eye out for that library's subscription materials and provide special links to them in your search results.

To make these links appear:

  • Click on Scholar Preferences
  • Type the name of your library in the 'Library Links' section
  • Click Save preferences
  • Start searching with links to your library's resources (you will need to authenticate yourself to access these resources using EZproxy. All you need is a valid Campus-Wide Login(CWL) or UBC Library Card.)

Try searching "vagina monologues" ensler.

Need Help Finding Journals?

Start at the UBC Library homepage and click on the tab Journal Titles. Enter the title of the journal in the search box, for example Canadian Theatre Review and click on search. Look carefully at the various dates of this journal in different databases. If you need to read articles in volumes published before 1993, you will need to click on UBC Print Holdings to find the call number of the printed volumes in the Koerner Library stacks.