Print and Online Reference Sources
- Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowCanada's national encyclopedia covering all branches of knowledge. Includes more than 35,000 articles in English and French.
- Dictionary of Canadian biography This link opens in a new windowThe definitive Canadian biographical dictionary. Includes entries for non-Canadians who played a significant role in the history of the country. New biographies are added daily.
- Indigenous Foundations (UBC)This online resource offers an introduction to the histories, politics, and cultures of the Indigenous peoples of Canada.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 0195176324Publication Date: 2008-03-28Provides information about and interpretation of major developments across particular regions both salient events and regional perspectives on common themes such as politics, demography, social class, and gender. Readers can exploretopics that have global implications, such as migration, childhood, and foods.
Racial and Ethnic Relations in AmericaCall Number: E49 .R33 2000 KOERNER LIBRARY referenceISBN: 0893566292Publication Date: 1999-08-01Presents essays on the subject of American racial and ethnic relations with descriptions of ideas and theories, descriptions of people and events, and facts on topics including court cases, education, organizations, and movements.
Encyclopedia of race, ethnicity, and society by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1452265860Publication Date: 2008Offers a comprehensive look at the roles race and ethnicity play in society and in our daily lives, with informative coverage of intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide.
The Oxford Companion to Canadian History by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 0195415590Publication Date: 2005-01-20A guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, people, and places that have shaped Canadian life from earliest times to the late twentieth century.
Newspaper Articles
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowCanadian Newsstream offers the full text of almost 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail, National Post and the Vancouver Sun.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail This link opens in a new windowElectronic full-page newspaper archive from June 1844 to 3 years ago.
Can't find the right database? Search for one in the Indexes, Databases & Articles search window. Use the "Search for Indexes & Databases by Subject" feature to narrow down the list to your subject area.
- List of Japanese newspaper databasesFind the list of Japanese newspaper databases on this list.
Journal Articles
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals, magazines, and newspapers published in Canada in the fields of business, current events, education and general reference.
- America History and Life This link opens in a new windowThe definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from pre-contact times to the present.
- JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new windowIn addition to fully-searchable journal backfiles, also includes current issues for some titles as well as collections of primary-source documents such as their '19th century British pamphlets'.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline access to a comprehensive selection of important journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
Can't find the right database? Search for one in the Indexes, Databases & Articles search window. Use the "Search for Indexes & Databases by Subject" feature to narrow down the list to your subject area.