Indexes over 10,000 journals, with many full-text articles.
Subject Terms: First Nations, Metis, Inuit, Native Americans, Aboriginal Australians, Indigenous peoples, names of specific nations.
Some articles have no Subject Terms assigned, so also try full-text searches.
The documentaries in this collection are suitable for use in a wide range of subject areas including Asian, Indigenous and environmental studies, geography, film making, journalism, anthropology, conservation biology, forestry, soil sciences, religion and the humanities.
Full-text searching of hundreds of journal titles in the sciences, humanities, social sciences, business, and more. Use advanced search or filters to narrow your results.
Search keywords: First Nations, Native American, Indigenous, Aboriginal, Metis, Inuit.
Over 980 education journals. Covers 1969 to the present; most post-1993 articles have full text available. First Nations titles include Winds of Change, American Indian Higher Education, Tribal College, Cultural Survival Quarterly, and Wicazo Sa.
Search terms: Canada Natives, Metis (People), Eskimos, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Indigenous populations. Use the Thesaurus for more terms and more precise terms.
Anthropological focused index of books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, dissertations and US government articles, including the 8-volume "Ethnographic Bibliography of North America". Search terms: Alaska Eskimos, Alaska natives, Baffinland Inuit, Canadian Inuit, eastern Metis, Native Canadians. Use historic keywords: Niska for Nisgaa; Nootka for Nuu-chah-nulth.
Journals, law reports, theses, books, book reviews, essay collections and Canadiana Forthcoming Books. Use the "Terms & Connectors" tab to search using the database's controlled vocabulary. Thesaurus terms: Aboriginal, indigenous, Indian. Subject heading term: "Indians of North America." Use the "Natural Language" tab to search with any keyword.
Indexes over 4,000 journals and series (1926 - present) with some First Nations language and literature coverage. Includes journals such as, Studies in American Indian Literature; North Dakota Quarterly; American Indian Culture & Research; Canadian Journal of Native Studies. Search terms: folk-literature, folk narrative, oral history or search by author name: Sherman Alexie, Joy Harjo, Gerald Vizenor, Lee Maracle, Thomas King, etc.
Looking for more resources?
Remember that First Nations and Indigenous Studies is an interdisciplinary field!