Research Help
604-822-4440
wd.ref@ubc.ca
University of British Columbia
2198 Health Sciences Mall
Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z3
Woodward Library Research Help
Can't find articles on your topic? Not sure which database to use?
Contact the Woodward Library Research Help Desk https://woodward.library.ubc.ca/research-help/ via email, phone, in-person or AskAway
Woodward Library Session Slides
Key Resources
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest academic search engine providing free searching to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports).
- SummonSummon is a single access point to find most of the UBC Library collections including: print books, ebooks, scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, theses and dissertations, digitized items, conference proceedings, and images.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
Find Open Access books, articles, and more with Summon
Summon currently indexes more than 200 million open access items, including articles, books, thesis, technical reports, images, and more. These items are made accessible in a variety of ways, including as full text resources (e.g. pdf, image, etc.) or through the descriptive metadata allowing you to find the full resource in open access repositories.
On the Library homepage search using Summon (General), and limit your results to openly accessible content using the “Refine Your Search” filter for “Open Access”.
UBC Sites
Research Skills for Engineering Students
- Research Skills For Engineering StudentsThis tutorial is a self-guided overview of engineering information sources and how to find, evaluate and cite.
The content in this guide is for both novice and expert learners building their information literacy skills.
The guide addresses the following information literacy framworks:
1. Authority is Constructed and Contextual
2. Information Creation as Process
3. Information has Value
4. Research as Inquiry
5. Scholarship as Conversation
6. Searching as Strategic Exploration
For more details on the frameworks see Companion Document to the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education: Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.