Introduction to Piano Pedagogy
Piano pedagogy is the study of teaching piano and encompasses a wide variety of skills and topics, from teaching piano musicianship and theory, to developing educational strategies and approaches, to managing a studio or classroom.
This research guide provides you with information on where and how to find piano pedagogy resources such as reference books, teaching literature, pedagogical materials, articles, dissertations, recordings, and more at the MAA Library. It also provides some recommended resources to help you get started with your research.
General Pedagogy Books
-
The Adult Music Student: Making Music Throughout the Lifespan
by
Call Number: MT1.P545ISBN: 9780367434588Publication Date: 2021Equips music educators and professional musicians with the skills to provide optimal learning environments for adult music-makers, and explores the process of learning and making music across the entire adult lifespan. -
Dynamic Group-Piano Teaching
by
Call Number: MT220ISBN: 9781138241435Publication Date: 2017-05-16Examines learning theory, student needs, assessment, and specific issues for the group-piano instructor. -
Etudes for Piano Teachers
by
Call Number: MT220.G67 E8 1995ISBN: 0195093224Publication Date: 1995-02-23A series of essays preparing piano teachers to meet the problems encountered in piano performing and teaching. -
The Independent Piano Teacher's Studio Handbook
by
Call Number: ML3795 .K54 2009ISBN: 9780634080838Publication Date: 2008-12-01A guide to help the independent piano teacher in all aspects of running their own studio. -
Marginalized Voices in Music Education
by
Call Number: MT3.U5ISBN: 9781315225401Publication Date: 2017-10-30A collection of 15 contributed essays looking at marginalization and privilege in music education as a means to critique prevailing assumptions and paradigms. -
Music, Disability, and Society
by
Call Number: ML3820 .L83 2011ISBN: 9781439900260Publication Date: 2010-12-17Writes about music in relation to disability studies, addressing the ways in which people with disabilities are denied the opportunity to participate in music and criticizing the biases in music education and the music profession. -
Piano Pedagogy: A Practical Approach
by
Call Number: MT220 .P238 2006ISBN: 9780973950045Publication Date: 2006A guide for all new piano teachers as well as more experienced teachers, covering technology and the modern piano studio, learning styles and personalities of students, how to teach advanced technique, and many more topics. -
Practical Piano Pedagogy
by
Call Number: MT220.B15 P7 2003ISBN: 9780757922206Publication Date: 2004-03-01Chapters on the business of piano teaching, learning styles, methods and materials, technology, jazz in the traditional lesson, motivation, and teaching tips. -
Teaching Piano Pedagogy
by
Call Number: MT1ISBN: 9780190670528Publication Date: 2019-06-28Helps teachers develop pedagogy course curricula, design and facilitate practicum-teaching experiences, and guide research projects in piano pedagogy. -
Thinking As You Play: Teaching Piano in Individual and Group Lessons
by
Call Number: MT220 .C72 2006ISBN: 0253346762Publication Date: 2006-02-08Gives piano teachers tools to help students develop creativity and critical thinking, and guidelines for organizing the music taught into a comprehensive curriculum. -
The Well-Tempered Keyboard Teacher
by
Call Number: MT220.U9 W4 2000ISBN: 0028647882Publication Date: 1999-11-29Discusses current learning theories, the history of keyboard pedagogy, educational materials, teaching techniques, specific repertoire and technique for all levels of students.
-
Jazz Theory Resources
by
Call Number: MT6.L434 J3 2001ISBN: 0634038613Publication Date: 2001-12-01A jazz theory text in two volumes. -
The Musician's Guide - Theory and Analysis
by
Call Number: MT6 .C57 2011 textISBN: 9780393930818Publication Date: 2010-12-20Shows how music theory directly relates to practice and performance, focusing on real music literature that students know and play. -
The Musician's Guide to Aural Skills
by
Call Number: MT35.P45 M8 2005ISBN: 0393976645Publication Date: 2004-12-22A comprehensive introduction to the skills of complete musicianship, integrating theory and analysis, aural training, and performance. -
Music Theory Essentials
by
Call Number: MT6.S6822ISBN: 9781138052505Publication Date: 2019-03-21A concise yet comprehensive introduction to music theory that is accessible to students of all backgrounds. -
Piano Pedagogy
by
Call Number: ML128.P3 C66 2009ISBN: 0415955750Publication Date: 2009-06-18Provides a detailed outline of resources available for research and/or training in piano pedagogy. -
Teaching Approaches in Music Theory, Second Edition
by
Call Number: MT6.R767 T4 2004ISBN: 0809325950Publication Date: 2004-08-25A comprehensive survey and evaluation of the teaching styles, techniques, and materials used in theory courses. -
Teaching Piano
by
Call Number: MT220 .T423 1981ISBN: 0825680395Publication Date: 1981-01-01A handbook covering theoretical, practical, and technical matters, as well as piano performance and basic keyboard skills for the young or adult beginner. Contains charts, glossaries, and bibliographies.
-
Developing Piano Performance: A Teaching Philosophy
by
Call Number: MT220.C25 D4 1981ISBN: 0937276014Publication Date: 1981-01-01Discusses the performance development of a student from the early stages of learning to the advanced level, and examines piano teaching and playing from philosophical, historical, psychological, and practical standpoints.
-
The Performing Pianist's Guide to Fingering
by
Call Number: MT232ISBN: 9780253053169Publication Date: 2021-02-09Provides practical fingering solutions for technical musical passages by returning to the unedited original compositions to help the advanced pianist think through the composer's musical intent. -
The Pianist's Craft: Mastering the Works of Great Composers
by
Call Number: ML700 .P53 2012ISBN: 9780810882058Publication Date: 2011-12-2119 articles on the teaching, preparation, and performance of works by the greatest composers in the standard piano repertoire. -
The Pianist's Craft 2: Mastering the Works of More Great Composers
by
Call Number: ML700 .P532 2015ISBN: 9781442232655Publication Date: 2015-09-17A collection of essays by renowned performing artists and teachers, discussing the preparation, pedagogy, and performance of selected works by composers whose works are standard in the piano literature. -
The Pianist's Guide to Historic Improvisation
by
Call Number: MT68ISBN: 9780190920425Publication Date: 2020-04-01Teaches Baroque improvisational techniques, pairing every concept with hands-on exercises for step-by-step practice of each skill as well as musical examples. -
Playing Beyond the Notes
by
Call Number: MT220ISBN: 9780199859504Publication Date: 2013-04-12Demystifies the concept of musical interpretation in Western tonal piano music by boiling it down to basic principles, focusing solely on musical interpretation. -
Practicing Perfection: Memory and Piano Performance
by
Call Number: MT220ISBN: 0805826106Publication Date: 2002-05-01Discusses memorization, detailing how an experienced pianist organizes her practice, identifying stages of the learning process, characteristics of expert practice, and practice strategies. -
Teaching Performance: A Philosophy of Piano Pedagogy
by
Call Number: LC8-6691ISBN: 9783319125138Publication Date: 2015-07-27First full-fledged philosophical theory of performance pedagogy, grounding pedagogy in the disciplines of music theory and analysis, music philosophy, and historical musicology. -
Voicings for Jazz Keyboard
by
Call Number: MT224.M24 V6 1986ISBN: 0793534852Publication Date: 1986-12-01A "how-to" book for keyboard players interested in developing better jazz chord voicing.
-
A Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers
by
Call Number: ML102.P5 D44 2002ISBN: 0313319898Publication Date: 2002-02-28An annotated catalogue of the available piano music in print composed by 144 women born before the 20th century. The work also features biographies and extensive bibliographical information for each composer.
-
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire, Fourth Edition
by
Call Number: ML128.P3ISBN: 9780253010223Publication Date: 2013-12-03Guides readers to solo piano literature. Includes enhanced indexes, listings of anthologies and collections organized by time period and nationality, and expanded entries to account for new material, works, and resources. -
The Pianist's Guide to Standard Teaching and Performance Literature
by
Call Number: ML128.P3 M24 1995ISBN: 0882846558Publication Date: 1995-03-01A guide for evaluating and selecting piano solo literature, with thousands of works from the Baroque through the Contemporary periods graded and evaluated in detail. -
Piano Music by Black Women Composers: A Catalog of Solo and Ensemble Works
by
Call Number: ML128.P3 W3 1992ISBN: 0313281416Publication Date: 1992-02-28A catalog of over 300 piano works composed by African American women, with an introductory overview on the contributions of black women in music and biographical sketches on the fifty-four composers profiled. -
A Practical Guide to Solo Piano Music
by
Call Number: ML132.P3 B33 2006ISBN: 1574630458Publication Date: 2005-12-01A listing of the most significant works composed for solo piano, with entries including an at-a-glance overview of a composer's output, information on difficulty levels, opus numbers, movement titles, and publisher sources. -
The Teacher's Guidebook to Piano Literature
by
Call Number: ML132.P3 K4 1964Publication Date: 1964Graded piano literature covering the 16th to 19th centuries, for elementary, intermediate, and lower-advanced students.
-
Woman Composers: A Graded Anthology for Piano
by
Call Number: MT245 .W872 2022ISBN: 9783795725488Publication Date: 2022-03-01This three-volume series of piano music by women composers is a progressive compendium of educational literature covering a broad repertoire from the 17th century to the present day.
Lesson and Graded Books
Beginner Method Books
Alfred's Premier Piano Express
Book 1: MT746 .A4384 Bk. 1 2016
Book 2: MT746 .A4384 Bk. 2 2016
Bastien New Traditions All in One Piano Course
Primer A: MT746.B372 B3 2016
Primer B: MT746.B372 B32 2016
Level 1A: MT746.B372 B33 2016
Level 1B: MT746.B372 B34 2016
Level 2A: MT746.B372 B35 2016
Level 2B: MT746.B372 B36 2017
Mix and Match
Primer: MT746.C43 M5 2017
Level 1: MT746.C43 M51 2017
Older beginners: MT746.C43 M58 2017
Pedagogical Literature
-
Beginning Piano Lessons in the Taubman Approach, Book I: Basic Alignment & Rotation
by
Call Number: MT220 .B44 2008 v. 1Publication Date: 2008Provides a detailed, step-by-step guide to teaching the basic fundamentals of the Taubman Approach with more than 100 color photographs of students and 22 musical selections.
-
Fundamentals of Piano Pedagogy
by
ISBN: 9783319655321Publication Date: 2017-09-14Investigates the multilayered role piano teachers play right from the very beginning - the formative first four to five years during which teachers empower students to explore and expand their own emerging musical foundations. -
Professional Piano Teaching, Vol 1
by
Call Number: MT224 .J28 2006ISBN: 0739032224Publication Date: 2006-04-01A comprehensive introduction to the profession of teaching piano, focusing on beginner and elementary students. -
The Young Pianist
by
Call Number: MT220.L38 Y68 1992ISBN: 0193222876Publication Date: 1985-09-12Provides guidance and suggestions to both new and experienced teachers working with students who are in the first few years of piano playing.
-
Artistic Pedal Technique : Lessons for Intermediate and Advanced Pianists
by
Call Number: MT227 .F374 2004Publication Date: 2004Includes pedal exercises, technique lessons, and extensive discussion of the stylistic principles of applying the pedal in Baroque, Classical, Romantic, Impressionistic, and Contemporary music -
Intermediate Piano Repertoire: A Guide for Teaching
by
Call Number: ML132.P3 A52 2000ISBN: 0887977162Publication Date: 2000Discusses solo period and ensemble setting repertoire, as well as selected holiday literature, concerti for young pianists, music instruction software, software resources, and materials for adult instruction
-
The Jazz Piano Book
by
Call Number: MT239 .L46 1989ISBN: 0961470151Publication Date: 1990-01-01Presents all the information a student of jazz piano needs in an easy-to-understand, yet thorough, manner. For intermediate to advanced pianists. -
Teaching and Understanding Contemporary Piano Music
by
Call Number: ML707 .T49 1976ISBN: 9780910842068Publication Date: 1976-08-01This book provides a wealth of information with musical examples on teaching & understanding contemporary piano music.
-
Tradition and Craft in Piano-Playing
by
Call Number: MT220 .F48 2014ISBN: 9781909325524Publication Date: 2014-05-07Discussions of many well-known works of the classical piano repertoire with a focus on Liszt, based on direct and authentic oral tradition of continental European pianism. Includes composition extracts and an accompanying DVD.
-
The Basic Book of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences
by
Call Number: MT755.P35 B3 1994ISBN: 9780882848594Publication Date: 1994-08-01An invaluable collection of scale, chord, arpeggio and cadence studies in all major and minor keys. -
Classical Patterns: A Style and Technique Workbook
by
Call Number: MT222.N66 C593 1977Publication Date: 1977Presents the intermediate pianist with a working knowledge of musicianship through representative pieces from the various historical periods, with work pages distinguishing elements of form, style, and texture, and set technical exercises.
-
Mastering Piano Technique: A Guide for Students, Teachers, and Performers
by
Call Number: MT220.F44 M3 1992ISBN: 0931340462Publication Date: 2003-03-01This holistic approach to the keyboard, based on a sound understanding of the relationship between physical function and musical purpose, is an invaluable resource for pianists and teachers. -
Preliminary Grade: Piano Technique
by
Publication Date: 2015Simple exercises covering: finger control and legato touch, a balanced arm and staccato, thumb preparation for scales, two hand coordination for mixed touch, balanced tone between two hands, two note slur phrasing, mixed touch in the fingers of one hand, and balanced tone in the fingers of one hand (voicing). -
Sight-Reading For Advanced Pianists
by
ISBN: 9781876829322Publication Date: 2014Sight-reading exercises for advanced pianists, focused on rhythm training, solo repertoire in four mainstream musical styles, and duet playing.
-
The Virtuoso Pianist: In Sixty Exercises for the Piano
by
Call Number: MT225.H35 P54 1928Publication Date: 1928A compilation of sixty exercises meant to train the pianist in speed, precision, agility, and strength of all of the fingers and flexibility in the wrists.
Audio/Visual Resources
-
The Anatomy of a Piano: How Your Grand Piano WorksOne of New York City's most respected piano technicians, John Serkin explores the intricate and fascinating workings of the modern grand piano.
ML652 S47 A53 1991 VIDEO. The Anatomy of a Piano: How Your Grand Piano Works (75 min.) -
Boris Berman: Sound and TouchThe pianist practices. Lecture
MT220D675 1997 Video. Boris Berman: Sound and Touch (31 min.) -
Carola Grindea Introduces On Video, A Piano TechniqueThe videos, with accompanying brochure, explain clearly how to maintain the freedom of muscular co-ordination in practicing and in performance.
MT220.G75 C3 1990z. (56 min.) -
The Dorothy Taubman Master ClassesPianist Dorothy Taubman conducts five piano master classes at the Taubman Institute of Piano.
MT220 D676 1988 Video V. 1. Scherzo in C# minor, op. 39 / Frederick Chopin (40 min.)
MT220 D676 1988 Video V. 2. Piano Sonata in F minor, op. 57 (Appassionata) / Ludwig van Beethoven (44 min).
MT220 D676 1988 Video V. 3. Paganini étude in A minor, no. 6 / Franz Liszt (38 min.)
MT220 D676 1988 Video V. 4. 32 variations in C# minor / Ludwig van Beethoven (46 min.)
MT220 D676 1988 Video V. 5. Variations Sérieuses, op. 54 / Felix Mendelssohn (38 min.) -
Freeing The Caged Bird: Developing Well-Coordinated, Injury-Preventive Piano TechniqueBarbara Lister-Sink, assisted by movement and anatomy specialist Glenna Baston, discusses piano technique from a neuromuscular and bio-mechanical viewpoint and addresses optimal skeletal alignment and efficient muscle use.
MT225 .F74 2008. Freeing The Caged Bird (160 min.) -
The Instrumentalist's Guide to Fitness, Health & MusicianshipJulie Lyonn Lieberman shows how your mind and body work together when you create music and how the power of positive imagery can help you achieve the results you want in your playing.
MT170 L54 I5 1991 Video. The Instrumentalist's Guide to Fitness, Health & Musicianship (105 min.) -
The McLaughlin Method: A Multi-Station Approach To Group Piano Lessons in the Development of Comprehensive MusicianshipPaula McLaughlin shares her insights about student motivation, and combining the positive benefits of group lessons with the individual focus of a private piano lesson.
MT222 M18 2001 VIDEO. The McLaughlin Method (18 min.) -
Nelita True at EastmanDemonstrates Nelita True's principles of piano playing and teaching with excerpts from a master class and private instruction. Featuring Bach's Prelude, English suite no. 2 in A minor; Beethoven's Sonata in C major, op. 2, no. 3, mvt. 1; Chopin's Nocturne in D♭, op. 27, no. 2; Schumann's Papillons, op. 2; Mozart's Sonata in G major, K. 283, mvt. 1; Brahms' Rhapsody in G minor, op. 79, no. 2.
MT220 N39 1992 VIDEO v. 1 c. 1. Portrait of a pianist-teacher (60 min.)
MT220 N39 1992 VIDEO v. 2 c. 1. The studio lesson (29 min.)
MT220 N39 1992 VIDEO v. 3 c. 1. Technique through listening (47 min.)
MT220 N39 1992 VIDEO v. 4 c. 1. Principles of style for the young pianist. -
Performance Practices in Classical Piano MusicIn this video-lecture, music historian Dr. Maurice Hinson uses compositions by Haydn, Clementi, Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert to explore the performance practices of piano music in the Classical period.
M21 .A5857 2000 DVD. Performance Practices in Classical Piano Music (60 min.) -
Performance Practices in Early 20th Century Piano MusuicDr. Maurice Hinson discusses how, during the years 1890 to 1918, a wealth of composition influenced what we now think of as 20th century music. Pieces of Bartok, Coleridge-Taylor, Debussy, Farwell, Joplin, Grainger, Granados, Grieg, Hindemith, MacDowell, Satie, and Schónberg are used to illustrate.
M21 .A5859 2003 DVD. Performance Pratices in Early 20th Century Piano Music (60 min.) -
Performance Practices in Romantic Piano MusicDr. Maurice Hinson explores how Brahms, Chopin, Liszt, Mendelssohn and Schumann were influenced by their literary and artistic contemporaries. Performance practices are discussed and characteristic musical selections are performed.
M21 .A5858 2002 DVD. Performance Practices in Romantic Piano Music (60 min.) -
Therapeutic Exercises For MusiciansRichard Norris leads a workout that includes stretching, strengthening and aerobics designed for musicians.
ML3820 N67 1990 Video. Therapeutic Exercises For Musicians (60 min.)
For help with finding audio/visual materials at UBC Library, be sure to check out our Audio/Visual resources guide!
Journals
-
Action, Criticism, & Theory for Musical EducationPublishes refereed and invited critical, analytical, theoretical, and policy development articles of international interest that illuminate, extend or challenge the Action Ideals of the MayDay Group.
-
The American Music TeacherOfficial journal of the Music Teachers' National Association.
-
International Journal of Music EducationProvides academic papers on various aspects of music education throughout the world.
-
International PianoCovers interviews with the world's leading pianists and rising talent, and retrospectives on the piano greats of the past.
-
Journal of Music History PedagogyPublishes original research on any aspect of the teaching and learning of music history at both the undergraduate and graduate level, for all audiences (majors, non-majors, and the public), and all genres of music.
-
Journal of Music Teacher EducationServes as a clearinghouse for ideas among professors of music education.
-
Journal of Music Theory PedagogyDedicated to the dissemination of scholarship regarding the teaching and learning of music theory.
-
MTNA e-journalFeatures in-depth, scholarly, research-oriented articles enhanced through the use of sound, image, and video links.
-
Nota Bene: Canadian Undergraduate Journal of MusicologyPublishes undergraduate essays in historical musicology, ethnomusicology, popular music studies, music theory, music education, and interdisciplinary subjects.
-
Performance Practice ReviewPPR is a blind, peer-reviewed journal devoted to the study of Western musical performance practices.
-
The Piano Magazine: Claver CompanionA magazine for people who are passionate about the piano. Formerly "Clavier Companion" and "Keyboard Companion."
-
Research and Issues in Music EducationPublishes thorough research and commentary that energizes, informs, advances, and reforms the practice and pedagogy of music teaching.
-
Visions of Research in Music EducationA fully refereed critical journal appearing exclusively on the Internet.
Online Reference
-
Canadian Music Periodical IndexCMPI is an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. CMPI is a free service provided by Library and Archives of Canada.
-
DRAMDRAM is a not-for-profit resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio, complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives.
-
Encyclopedia of Music in CanadaThe Encyclopedia of Music in Canada describes the full breadth and depth of Canadas musical culture, including the historical and current aspects of popular, folk, religious, concert and other forms of music.
-
List of Open Access Music Journals (LOAMJ)The LOAMJ contains peer-reviewed academic journals; the supplemental list contains several other resources, including the newsletters of scholarly societies, specialized magazines on musical topics, blogs, and personal websites containing significant scholarly material.
-
Music Periodicals DatabaseFormerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP), Music Periodicals Database is the ultimate resource for music periodicals available on the web. It provides indexing and abstracts for 445 international music periodicals from over 20 countries.
-
Oxford Music OnlineGrove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001)
Theses and Dissertations
Music students have produced a wealth of dissertations and theses around piano pedagogy and its related topics. At UBC, all electronic theses are available through the cIRcle repository, and are a useful tool for anyone interested in researching and learning more about piano pedagogy from peers at the forefront of musical research.
For help with navigating cIRcle, please refer to our Research Theses and Dissertations guide.
-
cIRcleUniversity of British Columbia's digital repository for research and teaching materials created by the UBC community and its partners.
-
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology On-lineFor more than forty years, the American Musicological Society has sponsored the publication of listings of dissertations in the field of musicology.
Search Tools
Call Numbers
The MAA Library uses unique alphanumeric call numbers to organize and arrange its materials. The capital letters indicate a general subject area, which the numbers further subdivide into more specific topics. You can find music materials under call numbers beginning with M. There are three general sections of music materials:
M: notated music (scores)
ML: literature on music (books about music, such as biographies, histories, discographies, thematic indexes, etc.)
MT: musical instruction and study (method books, pedagogical studies and exercises, treatises, books on music theory, etc.)
For more information about music subject areas, the Library of Congress (LC) Classification Outline for Music provides detailed information about call number ranges for specific topics in music.
Piano Pedagogy Call Numbers
• MT3: History and criticism of theory
• MT5.5-7: Music theory
• MT9-15: Printed pedagogical aids
• MT17: Music in special education
• MT20-34: Systems and methods
• MT35-39: Notation
• MT40-67: Composition
• MT68: Improvisation
• MT70-74: Instrumentation and orchestration
• MT75: Interpretation
• MT82: Memorization
• MT85: Conducting, score reading and playing
• MT90: Analysis and appreciation of musical works
• MT150: Audio-visual aids
• MT155: Music theory for children
• MT220-255: Instrumental techniques – Keyboard instruments – Piano
• MT740-810: Instrumental techniques for children
Subject Headings
The MAA Library uses Library of Congress (LC) subject headings to describe its materials. You can use these as a search tool in the Books and Media Catalogue search engine to find materials in the library catalogue which cover the same topics. To get started, check out the below list of LC subject headings which are relevant to topics in piano pedagogy.
Piano Pedagogy Subject Headings
- Jazz--Instruction and study.
- Music--Economic aspects.
- Music theory.
- Music theory--Elementary works.
- Piano--Bibliography.
- Piano--Instruction and study.
- Piano--Instruction and study--Juvenile.
- Piano--Methods.
- Piano--Methods--Group instruction.
- Piano--Methods (Jazz)
- Piano--Methods--Juvenile.
- Piano music--Bibliography.
- Piano music--Bibliography--Graded lists.
- Piano music--Interpretation (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.)
- Piano music--Teaching pieces.
- Piano music--Teaching pieces--Juvenile.
- Piano--Studies and exercises.
Additional Resources
-
American Musicological SocietyThe American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 to advance scholarship in the various fields of music through research, learning, and teaching.
-
British Columbia Music Educator's AssociationThe British Columbia Music Educator's Association is a Provincial Specialist Association of the BC Teacher's Federation. Members are music educators in British Columbia, Canada, as well as others with an interest in music education.
-
Coalition for Music Education in British ColumbiaThe CMEBC is an organization made up of parents, educators, students, arts organizations, and professionals from varying walks of life that support school music programs.
-
British Columbia Conservatory of MusicSince its founding in 1986, the British Columbia Conservatory of Music has produced a high level of musical education that is among the highest available in Canada.
-
Royal Conservatory of MusicThe Royal Conservatory is one of the largest and most respected music education institutions in the world, providing the definitive standard of excellence in curriculum design, assessment, performance training, teacher certification and arts-based social programs.
-
RSL AwardsRSL was founded on an ethos to provide innovative, contemporary qualifications for music and the arts. Their operations include Rockschool Graded Music Exams, RSL Classical Graded Music Exams, Professional Diplomas, Vocational Qualifications (VQ's), Performance Arts Awards (PAA) and Creative Qualifications (CQ).
