Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Aboriginal Treaties

An introduction to treaties in BC and Canada, and Métis settlements.

Getting Started

Historic treaties refer to treaties negotiated between 1701-1923. For transcripts of the treaties listed below see Treaty Texts from the Government of Canada.

Image result for historical canadian treaties

Map retrieved from Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada.            

Treaties of Peace & Neutrality (1701-1760)

Peace & Friendship Treaties (1725-1779)

Signed between the L'nu (Mi'gmaq, Micmac, Mi'kmaq), Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet, Malicite), and British. ​

Royal Proclamation of 1763

"[A] foundational document in the relationship between First Nations people and the Crown and laid the basis for Canada's territorial evolution" (From Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada). 

"Most Indigenous and legal scholars recognize the Royal Proclamation as an important first step toward the recognition of existing Aboriginal rights and title, including the right to self-determination" (From Indigenous Foundations).

The Robinson-Superior and Robinson-Huron Treaties (concluded 1850)

Consists of nine agreements between Hudson's Bay Company and the Songhees, Klallam, and T'souke.

Douglas Treaties (1850-1854)

Also known as the Vancouver Island Treaties and the Victoria Treaties.

Numbered Treaties (1871-1921)

There are 11 treaties that were negotiated between 1871 and 1921, referred to as the Numbered Treaties.

Upper Canada Land Surrenders (1781-1862) & Williams Treaties (1923)

Fifteen land surrenders took place from 1783 to 1812 in Southern and Central Ontario.

Other Treaties

Treaty of Paris (1763)

  • The Treaty of Paris was signed by the colonial powers of France, Britain, and Spain. France ceded colonial territories in North America to Britain, creating the basis for the modern nation state of Canada. 
  • The Canadian Encyclopedia provides a summary of the Treaty of Paris.

Peguis-Selkirk Treaty (1817)

  • The Peguis-Selkirk Treaty was signed by five chiefs and Lord Selkirk in the area that is now known as the Red River Valley of Manitoba.
  • The website Peguis-Selkirk 200 Years commemorates the anniversary of the treaty-signing and provides information related to the treaty.