Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Online Reference Sources
Oxford Reference Online
Includes the following titles: Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre, The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature, The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, The Oxford Companion to English Literature, etc.
Search sarah siddons. To refine your search results, use the box on the left to narrow the search to entry title. Change the results Sort from Relevance to Length-Longest to shortest.
Oxford bibliographies online
Combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia with a selective list of bibliographic citations, supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult by academic experts in the field.
Search English Renaissance Drama.
Gale Literary Sources
Over 1 million full-text articles from scholarly journals & literary magazines, critical essays, topic overviews, biographies, & more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
The Oxford companion to Canadian theatre
Also in print at PN2301 O946 1989 Koerner
New Oxford Shakespeare
Interactive resource presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship.
Theatre in Video
Contains more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. Includes leading playwrights, actors and directors. Students, instructors and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues and staging.
Try searching: brecht
North American Theatre Online
Comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies.
Try searching sharon pollock
World Shakespeare Bibliography
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000.
American National Biography Online
Selected as one of the Best Reference sources by the Library Journal, the ANB Online features nearly 18,000 biographies, thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. Updates are published quarterly; in April, July, October, and January.
Berg Fashion Library
Anchored by the 10-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, the Berg Fashion Library is the first online resource to provide access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion and will be useful to anyone researching or studying fashion, anthropology, art history, history, museum studies, and cultural studies.
To find more reference books, try browsing these subject headings in the UBC Library Catalogue:
- Theater- Dictionaries
- Theater- Encyclopedias
- Drama- Dictionaries
- Drama- Encyclopedias
- Performing arts- Dictionaries
- Performing arts- Encyclopedias