Asian Studies - English Language Resources

Scroll down this page to see individual statistical sources for China, India, Japan and Korea.

These sources compile statistics for many or all countries in Asia:

These resources are entirely in English or have substantial English-language content. Where applicable, the link is to the English version of the website.

• OECD Economic Survey: China
  Short term outlook, policy recommendations and extensive statistical information.
• OECD China Statistical Profile
  Economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, etc.
  

• China Data Online / 中国数据在线
  Outstanding resource with comprehensive statistical and census databases, including municipal, provincial and national information. Coverage begins in 1949.
• China monthly statistics (1992-)
  HA4631 .C586 Koerner Library Reference
• China Yearbook Full-text Database (1912 onward) / 中国年鉴全文数据库 
  A full-text database of over 1,900 yearbook titles,  including more than 300 statistical yearbooks
• National Bureau of Statistics of China 
  Detailed annual economic and demographic data, from the mid-1990's onward.

• Financial Statistics: Taiwan District, Republic of China
  Made by Taiwanese Government. Includes only financial series.  HG187.T28 F56 Koerner Stacks
• Census & Statistics Department: The Government of the Hong Kong  Special Administrative Region
  Key economic & social indicators including  population, labour and employment, wages, national account, balance of payments, consumer price indices,  trade & commerce.

• OECD Economic Survey: India
  Short term outlook, policy recommendations and extensive statistical information
• OECD India Statistical Profile
  Economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, etc.
• Census of India
  From Office of the Registrar General, India. Includes data from 1991 and 2001 censuses. Statistics by administrative units, for population, population 0-6 years, literate population, employed and unemployed.
• India: Ministry of Statistics
  Free downloads of a variety of statistical reports and publications from the Government of India's Central Statistical Organisation.
• Digital South Asian Library: Statistics
  Digitized copies of Statistical Abstract Relating to British India from 1840 - 1920, plus links to current South Asian Census sites.
  
  

• OECD Economic Survey: Japan 
  Short term outlook, policy recommendations and extensive statistical information
• OECD Statistical Profile
  Economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, etc.
• e-Stat: Portal Site of Official Statistics of Japan
  Use the search box to search for statistics from more than 30 government agencies. In English
• Japan: Statisical Yearbook
  Summary of basic statistical information, including land, population, economy, etc. In English
• Historical Statistics of Japan
  From 1868 to date, classifed by broad topic. In English.

• OECD Economic Surveys: Korea (1994-)
  Short term outlook, policy recommendations and extensive statistical information.
• Bank of Korea
  From the Bank's Economic Statistics System, balance of payments, national accounts, exchange & interest rates, business & consumer surveys, etc.
• Statistics Korea
  From Korea's National Statistical Office.  Surveys include international migration, life/death, population projection, housing, economic & social trends, household economy, retail/wholesale sectors etc.