Research Help
Need help? Please don't hesitate to contact me.
Helen Brown, Librarian
Email | Book an Appointment During Office Hours
For quick research help, you can also contact Woodward Library via email and in-person, or use the AskAway chat service.
Key Resources
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowCore database of articles and supplementary materials containing the world's zoological and animal science literature. Searchable on the Web of Science platform.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
Taxonomy Tools
- NCBI Taxonomy BrowserFor browsing the taxonomic structure or for retrieving sequence data for a particular group of organisms.
- Integrated Taxonomic Information SystemFor browsing the taxonomic structure or for retrieving sequence data for a particular group of organisms.
- Index to Organism NamesData related to organism names, gathered from the scientific literature.
Online Reference Sources
- E-Fauna BC: Electronic Atlas of the Fauna of British ColumbiaBrowse BC fauna by species group.
- Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)An online encyclopedia of animals, plants, fungi, protists, and bacteria with text, images, video, maps, and data.
- Interactive FlyA guide dedicated to Drosophila information, including embryology, development, anatomy, and behaviour. There are also several study aids and a gene index.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes Dictionary of Animal Behaviour, Dictionary of Ecology, Dictionary of Zoology, Encyclopedia of Mammals, New Encyclopedia of Birds, New Encyclopedia of Insects and their Allies, New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians.
- Zebrafish Information Network (ZFIN)Links to many zebrafish resources on topics such as embryology, gene expression, mutant lines, fish health, and genomics.