Texts | Loose-Leaf Services | Journals | Articles by UBC Faculty
Texts
World Trade Organization, WTO Analytical Index
LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): K4610 .W778 2007 (LC)
Online: html
The WTO Analytical Index is the authoritative guide to the interpretation and application of findings and decisions of WTO panels, the WTO Appellate Body and other WTO Bodies.
General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, Analytical Index: Guide to GATT Law and Practice
LAW LIBRARY level 3: K4609.5.A2 G46 1994 (LC)
The GATT Analytical Index is similar to the above noted WTO Analytical Index. It contains notes on the drafting, interpretation and application of the articles of the GATT.
WTO Appellate Body Secretariat, WTO Appellate Body Repertory of Reports and Awards, 1995-2005
LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2) & LAW LIBRARY level 3: K4610.A7 W67 2006 (LC)
The Repertory contains excerpts from WTO Appellate Body Reports, dating from the first Report adopted in May 1996, through to the sixty-eighth Report adopted in May 2005.
Folsom, Gordon, & Spanogle, International Trade and Economic Relations in a Nutshell
LAW LIBRARY level 3: K3943 .F64 2009 (LC)
Part of the WestNutshell series, this book provides a concise introduction to the subject of international trade and investment, covering such subjects as litigation and arbitration issues, including state immunity and acts of the state.
Bethlehem [et al.] ed., The Oxford Handbook of International Trade Law
LAW LIBRARY level 3: K1005 .O96 2009 (LC)
This book places international trade law within its broader context, providing comment and critique on contemporary thinking.
Trebilcock & Howse, The Regulation of International Trade
LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): K3943 .T72 2005 (LC)
A comprehensive introduction to the institutions and rules that govern international trade. This edition includes developments of the Doha Round, national attitudes to the Kyoto protocol, and new material on case law.
Narlikar, The World Trade Organization: A Very Short Introduction
KOERNER LIBRARY stacks: HF1385 .N37 2005
This work provides a concise explanation of what the WTO is, what it does, and how it goes about its work.
Matsushita, Schoenbaum, & Mavroidis, The World Trade Organization: Law, Practice, and Policy
LAW LIBRARY level 3: K4610.A31994 M38 2006 (LC)
This book provides an overview of the law and practice of the WTO, with particular emphasis on the dispute settlement system.
WTO Dispute Settlement Body, WTO Dispute Settlement One Page Case Summaries (1995-31 December 2007)
A case by case, single page summaries of panel and Appellate Body reports.
Online: pdf
This work is intended to facilitate understanding of WTO dispute settlement cases by providing core facts, substantive findings contained in the adopted panel, summaries of key findings on significant procedural matters and, where applicable, Appellate Body reports for each decided case are documented.
Bhala, Modern GATT Law: A Treatise on the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade
LAW LIBRARY level 3: K4609.5 .B43 2005 (LC)
This work explains all the provisions of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), examining the Agreement article by article and steering readers through the case law (including WTO decisions) based upon it.
Mavroidis, The General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade: A Commentary
LAW LIBRARY level 3: K4600 .M388 2005 (LC)
This volume examines the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade. It explains the amount of sovereignty that nations lose by joining the World Trade Organization and gains that ensure from the resulting cooperation.
Jackson, The World Trade Organization: Constitution and Jurisprudence
KOERNER LIBRARY stacks & WOODWARD LIBRARY stacks: HF1371 .J236 1998
This study discusses the strengths and limitations of the World Trade Organization and how it attempts to meet new demands.
Croome, Guide to the Uruguay Round
LAW LIBRARY level 3: HF1721 .G852 1999
The book was prepared so as to make the results of the Uruguay Round of Trade Negotiations easier to understand. A good introduction.
Stewart ed., The GATT Uruguay Round: A Negotiating History, 1986-1992
LAW LIBRARY level 3: HF1711 .G37
This work presents a history of the Uruguay negotiations, portraying how participating nations reached their positions on the proposed major changes in trade in agriculture and textiles, adoption of rules for trade in services, review of existing trade regulations, increased protection of intellectual property rights and the liberalization of the market for many important products.
Jackson & Sykes, Implementing the Uruguay Round
KOERNER LIBRARY stacks: HF1721 .I555 1997
This work examines the implementation of the GATT Agreement and its national and international legal and constitutional ramifications. Each major trading entity is covered and select nations are discussed in detail.
To find other texts using the library catalogue, do a subject heading search and click on applicable search results. A few WTO/GATT related subject headings are listed below:
Loose-Leaf Services
Dennin ed., Law & Practice of the World Trade Organization
LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): K4600 .L38 (LC)
This loose-leaf service includes texts of the foundational documents of the WTO, commentary, and decisions of the WTO Dispute Settlement panels. It is a continuation of Law and Practice Under the GATT [LAW LIBRARY level 3: K4609.5 .L39 (LC)].
Journals
American Society of International Law (ASIL), International Legal Materials
LAW LIBRARY level 4: JX68 .I597
Online: Available via LexisNexis Academic
& HeinOnline
This journal provides the basic, primary documents of research and analysis on topics of international law, including important treaties and agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international organizations’ resolutions and other documents.
Oxford Journals , Journal of International Economic Law
Online: Available via Oxford Journals
, LexisNexis Academic
& HeinOnline
This journal covers a broad range of topics concerning the relation of law to international economic activity.
Articles by UBC Faculty
| |
 |
Ljiljana Biuković “European Community in Disputes Before WTO Tribunals: Challenges of Coexistence of Regional Trade Agreements” (2006) 9 Waseda Proc. Comp. L. 105-139
UBC Print Holdings
|
| |
|
| |
 |
Ljiljana Biuković “Selective Adaptation of WTO Transparency Norms and Local Practices in China and Japan” In Debra P. Steger, ed., Redesigning the World Trade Organization for the Twenty-First Century Waterloo: Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 2010 pp. 193-218
UBC Library Location
|
| |
|
| |
 |
Ljiljana Biuković “Selective Adaptation of WTO Transparency Norms and Local Practices in China and Japan” Full text: (2008) 11 J. Int'l Econ. L. 803-825 |
| |
|
| |
 |
Pitman B. Potter “China and the WTO: Tensions between Globalized Liberalism and Local Culture” Full text: (1999) 32 Can. Bus. L.J. 440-462
UBC Print Holdings
|
| |
|
| |
 |
Pitman B. Potter “The Evolution of Law in Contemporary China: Challenges for WTO Implementation” in Sylvia Ostry, Alan S. Alexandroff & Rafael Gomez, eds., China and the Long March to Global Trade: The Accession of China to the World Trade Organization London: Routledge, 2002 pp. 179-195
UBC Library Location
|