This guide is intended primarily for business students researching sustainable (or green) business topics. It may also be useful to students in other disciplines. For resources on renewable energy, please see the Energy Industries research guide. For other sustainabiliity topics, please see the Sustainability research guide, which lists interdisciplinary resources on sustainability available through UBC Library.
Related Guides Construction Industry (for resources on sustainable building and construction) Corporate Governance (includes resources on corporate social responsibility) Energy Industries (includes Alternative Energy resources) Sustainability (interdisciplinary resources on sustainability topics)
Contact a librarian for help Vancouver Campus: Librarians at David Lam Library Okanagan Campus: Barbara Sobol, barbara.sobol@ubc.ca / (250) 807-8063
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Books: Sustainable BusinessClick here to search the UBC Library catalogue for books on sustainable business and sustainable marketing topics, or click on a link below for books on that topic. Business -- Environmental aspects Business ethics Business enterprises--Environmental aspects Consumer goods -- Environmental aspects Corporations--Environmental aspects Eco-labeling Environmental sciences -- Vocational guidance (books about "green" jobs/careers) Green marketing Green products Green technology Industries -- Environmental aspects Industrial management -- Environmental aspects Management--Environmental aspects Marketing -- Moral and ethical aspects Manufacturing industries--Environmental aspects New business enterprises -- Environmental aspects Product management -- Environmental aspects Production management--Environmental aspects Social marketing Social responsibility of business --Environmental aspects Strategic planning -- Environment aspects
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Article DatabasesArticle databases available through the library enable you to search across hundreds of journals and magazines for articles on sustainable business or sustainable marketing topics. The databases listed below are the best databases to search for articles on these topics.
ABI/Inform (Abstracted Business Information) Articles from business magazines, trade publications and scholarly journals. Suggested keywords: "environmental protection," environmental management," "sustainable development," "green marketing," in combination with an industry keyword, company name or other topic. Business Source Complete Articles from business magazines, trade publications and scholarly journals. Try keywords such as "green business," or "sustainable development," or "environmental aspects," in combination with an industry keyword or company name or another topic. ClimateWire: The Politics and Business of Climate Change Provides coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. Includes reporting of issues facing the White House, Congress, the courts, federal agencies and the states. GreenFILE Interdisciplinary database of articles and government reports on green issues, including green building, global warming, etc. GREENR Interdisciplinary database covering the development of emerging green technologies and discussion of issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
Journals & MagazinesBrowse recent issues of journals and magazines to find out about current trends and issues. Here are some journals and magazines relating to sustainable business: Business and the Environment (available online through UBC Library) Business Council of BC. Environment and Energy Bulletin (freely available online) Business Ethics Quarterly (available online through UBC Library) Business in Vancouver: The Green Edition - annual publication highlighting sustainability in BC business (available in print in the David Lam Library) Business Strategy and the Environment: BSE (available online through UBC Library) Clean Technologies and Environmental Policy (available online through UBC Library) Corporate Knights Magazine (available online and in print through UBC Library) Environmental Design and Construction (available online through UBC Library) Environmental Quality Management (available online through UBC Library) Green Business Magazine (freely available online) Journal of Business Ethics (available online through UBC Library)
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Vancouver and British Columbia City of Vancouver. Vancouver Green Capital The brand for Vancouver's green economic development strategy City of Vancouver. Greenest City 2020 Outlines the strategy for becoming the world's greenest city by 2020 Vancouver Economic Development Commission Website includes: information on green economic development initiatives; green economy working papers; an overview of "sustainability-related industries"; and a "green tech map" that shows green technology projects in the lower mainland Metro Vancouver. Sustainable Region Initiative Highlights the Metro Vancouver Sustainability Framework, including measuring sustainability and case studies of technical innovation BC Hydro. Green Your Business LiveSmart BC BC government website, includes information on the "Climate Action Plan", "Resources for Corporate Greening," and incentive and rebate programs.
Canada Environment Canada. Sustainable Development: Corporate Environmental Innovation Includes information on corporate social responsibility reporting and sustainable finance Industry Canada. Environment and Sustainability Information on corporate social responsibility (including green marketing), eco-efficiency and sustainable development Statistics Canada. Environment Accounts and Statistics Publications from the Environment Accounts and Statistics Division, including "Environmental Protection Expenditures in the Business Sector"
Tip: Did you know that you can limit your search in Google to government websites? For example: "sustainable business" site:gov.bc.ca (adding site:gov.bc.ca searches only BC government websites) "green marketing" site:gc.ca (adding site:gc.ca searches only Canadian federal government websites) "green business" site:.gov (adding site:.gov searches only U.S. government websites)
U.S. and International U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. EPA for Businesses and Non-Profits U.S. Dept of Commerce. Sustainable Business Clearinghouse Portal for U.S. businesses to search for programs resources to support sustainable business U.S. Small Business Administration. Green Business Guide Includes case studies, information on green marketing, certification & eco-labeling and green product development European Commission. Enterprise and Industry. Sustainable and Responsible Business Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Green Growth Studies United Nations Environment Programme. Green Economy Plans for a global green economy United Nations Environment Programme.Resources for Business Persons
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Canada ISIS: A Research Centre (Sauder School of Business) "Focused on leveraging business tools to advance social innovation and sustainability". Research areas include: Carbon Management; Clean Technology & Energy; Community Engagement; First Nations Development; Food Systems; Social Economy and Sustainable Transportation. Canadian Business for Social Responsibility (CBSR) Non-profit organization that provides support to members in corporate social responsibility. Website includes a blog, newsletter, jobs, conferences and events, and publications David Suzuki Foundation. Green your workplace Includes a downloadable toolkit International Institute for Sustainable Development. Business and Sustainable Development A Canadian-based institute. Website highlights tools and strategies for companies to implement sustainable practices and provides international case studies Network for Business Sustainability Canadian non-profit which provides free, evidence-based research (conducted by academics) on sustainability priorities identified by their Leadership Council. Topics include business sustainability, climate change, consumerism, environmental policy, organizational culture, stakeholder engagement and supply chains
U.S. and International American Sustainable Business Council C2ES Center for Climate and Energy Solutions. Business WBCSD - World Business Council for Sustainable Development An organization for the global business community led by CEOs. Website includes publications and case studies and a "Vision 2050" report Cornell University. Center for Sustainable Global Enterprise A centre at the Samuel Curtis Johnson Graduate School of Management
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Corporate Knights. Clean Capitalism Report (2010) environmental, social and governance practices of Canada’s largest companies is based on the results of a quantitative research project conducted by Corporate Knights and the Delphi Group for the Globe and Mail’s Report on Business Corporate Responsibility Ranking (available online and in print through UBC Library) Ernst & Young. Climate Change and Sustainability Services KPMG. Sustainability PwC Canada. Sustainable Business Solutions
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
ECO Canada: Environmental Careers Organization GoodWork Canada Green-jobs.ca Green Dream Jobs WorkCabin Canada
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)