Skip to main content

Special Collections: Canadian Literature

About the Collection

The Robie Lewis Reid Pre-WWII Canadian Literature Collection is a part of the much larger Robie Reid Collection but is described here to draw attention to this valuable collection. Dr. Reid was interested in literature and the arts as well as history. He was one of the founders of the Vancouver Little Theatre Association, and served on the Vancouver Public Library Board. A more complete description of the Reid Collection is given in the guide Canadian History library guide, which features the Howay-Reid Collection.

Featured Materials

Related Archival Holdings

Colocating this Collection

Want to explore this collection but don't know where to start? We've created some links that can help you discover the material in this collection.

 

Indexes, Catalogues, and Bibliographies in Print

A handbook and guide to the Howay-Reid and Northwest collections of Canadiana / compiled by James W. Pilton [for the] University of British Columbia Library. Vancouver: UBC Press, 1951.

Canadian books : [a checklist of Canadiana in the library of Robie Lewis Reid / compiled by R.L. Reid] Published approximately 1900-approximately 1945.

Howay collection ; Reid collection / University of British Columbia Library. Vancouver, [194-?]


Author Search

Allen, Grant, 1848-1899

Halliburton, Thomas Chandler

Carman, Bliss, 1861-1929

Roberts, Charles G. D.

Lampman, Archibald

Scott, Duncan Campbell

Crawford, Isabella Valancy

Moodie, Susanna

Strickland, Agnes


Subject Headings

Publishers and publishing--Canada

Canadian literature

Canadian literature--18th century

Canadian literature--19th century

Canadian fiction

Canadian drama

Canadian poetry

Canadian poetry--19th century


Books Published in Canada Pre-1939

This collections consists of Canadian books which were published before 1939. To see these books in the UBC Catalogue, please click here


Related UBC Library Guides

Canadian History: Howay-Reid Collection