IntroductionThis subject guide provides resources for studies on Indonesia and Indonesian language as well as basic information on Southeast Asian countries.
Related Guides Indonesia : Country Studies Online resources for Indonesian Country Studies in North American libraries compiled by the Library of Congress. Southeast Asia (English language sources) Southeast Asia Digital Library
UBC Departments Asian Library Centre for Southeast Asian Research (CSEAR) The Centre for Southeast Asian Research (CSEAR) is now located in the new C.K. Choi Building. It is one of five regional research centres in the Institute of Asian Research at the University of British Columbia. Asian Studies: Department
CORMOSEA A committee on research materials on Southeast Asia, "established to enhance the collection of Southeast Asia research materials and to assist in making them available to Southeast Asia scholars, faculty, and students nationwide"(CORMOSEA). Library of Congress Office - Jakarta, Indonesia The Association of Southeast Asian Nations The Southeast Asia Council (SEAC) SEAC is one of four regional councils of the Association for Asian Studies (AAS). The Southeast Asia Microform Project (SEAM) Established in 1970, SEAM provides films of research materials related to the study of Southeast Asia, including historic newspapers, journals and historic manuscripts. SEAM materials are only available for loan to member libraries.
E-Books Malaysia Full text online The History of Indigenous Agriculture in Southeast Asia This bibliography is compiled by Professor R.H.Hill. It includes its origins in both documentary and field research in Malay Peninsula and It has 11,000 entries in total.
New Books Bintang bunting / Valiant Budi. PL5089.B8275 B567 2008 At Asian library Budak pulau surga / Soegianto Sastrodiwiryo PL5089.S3534 B83 2009 At Asian Library Dua kota tiga zaman: Surabaya dan Malang : sejak zaman kolonial sampai kemerdekaan DS646.29.S8B38 2009 At Asian library Ekspedisi Anjer-Panaroekan : laporan jurnalistik Kompas : 200 tahun Anjer-Panaroekan, jalan untuk perubahan. HE365.I54 J38 2008 At Asian Library Ethnic relations and nation building : the way forward DS595 .I585 2010 At Koerner Library Lobakan: kesenyapan gemuruh Bali ’65: antologi cerita pendek PL5088.L63 2009 At Asian library Membaca sejarah Nusantara : 25 kolom sejarah Gus Dur / Abdurrahman Wahid ; pengantar, A. Mustofa Bisri DS634 .W34 2010 At Asian Library Perahu kertas / Dee PL5089.D4P47 2009 At Asian Library Pita Prada: Golden creativity / Biennale seni lukis tradisional Bali pertama ND1026.6.B34B54 2009 At Asian library Ruang publik, identitas, dan memori kolektif: Jakarta pasca-Soeharto / Abidin Kusno DS646.29.D5K87 2009 At the Asian library Sejarah Indonesia : perspektif lokal dan global : persembahan untuk 70 tahun Djoko Suryo DS634 .S335 2010 At Asian Library
Databases ProQuest Dissertations and Theses The PQDT database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It "includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations available for download in PDF format" (ProQuest).
Print Resources Monash University theses on Southeast Asia, 1961-1987 ZDS521 .M65 1988 At I.K Barber Learning Centre ASRS storage Theses on South-East Asia, 1965-1985 ZDS521 .S74 1986 At Koerner Library (non-circulating)
Malaysia Berita Harian Malaysian Star Online (In English) New Straits Times The Malaysian Insider Utusan Malaysia Malay language with English version available.
Other SE Asian countries Bangkok Post (Thailand, in English) The Manila Times (the Philippines, in English) The Straits Times (Singapore, in English)
ABIA South and Southeast Asian Art and Archaeology Index A freely accessible annotated bibliographic database, providing "entries on scholarly publications in Asian and European languages relating to prehistory, (proto)historical archaeology, art history (including modern art), material culture, epigraphy, palaeography, numismatics and sigillography" (ABIA). Bibliography of Asian studies "More than 700,000 records for western-language materials on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide since 1971" (UBC Library). CultureGram -- Indonesia Provides information about the people, customs, society and lifestyles of the Republic of Indonesia. Southeast Asian Serial Index (SASI) SASI indexes academic and current affairs serials about Southeast Asia. Subjects covered include Southeast Asian economics, politics and other social sciences.
E-Journals Contemporary Southeast Asia Explorations "A student publication of the Southeast Asian Studies Student Association in conjunction with the Center for Southeast Asian Studies at the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa" (UBC Library). Journal of current Southeast Asian affairs Journal of Southeast Asian History Journal of Southeast Asian studies Regional outlook. Southeast Asia Southeast Asian affairs Southeast Asian journal of social science
Print Journals Aula (Surabaya, Indonesia) JQ779.A53 A94 Available at I.K Barber Learning Centre ASRS storage Crossroads - An Interdisciplinary Journal of Southeast Asian Studies DS520 .C76 Available at Koerner Library Humaniora PL5071. H862 Available at the Asian Library Indikator ekonomi. HC446. A16 Available at the Asian Library Populasi (Yogyakarta, Indonesia) HB3647 .P668 Available at the Asian Library Situasi dan arah kependudukan Indonesia HB3647 .D64 Available at the Asian Library
Dictionaries Indonesian-English-Indonesian Dictionary Indonesian Kamus Malaysia (Urban Dictionary) Philipine Vietnamese-English Dictionary
Encyclopedias Divine inspirations : music and Islam in Indonesia ML345.I5 D58 2011 Available at Music Library The encyclopedia of Indonesia in the Pacific War DS643 .E537 2009 Available at Koerner Library reference
Animated TimeMap of the Khmer Empire 100 CE - 1550 CE "...a through-time animation of the political geography of Southeast Asian empires and the Khmer empire in particular."(TimeMap) Historical Maps of Southeast Asia A digitized collection of selected map holdings from sources including the University of Alabama Map Library, the Geological Survey of Alabama, the W. S. Hoole Special Collections Library, NOAA Central Library, etc. Map Library - The Geography of East and Southeast Asia Provides a collection of maps (in PDF format) related to a variety of topics on the geography of East and Southeast Asia. Southeast Asian Archaeology Scholarly Website Created by the University of Pennsylvania Museum, this website contains a searchable bibliography and a set of archaeological databases. SouthEast Asian Images and Texts Provides access to the research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff, and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries Southeast Asian Pictures Online gallery of historical paintings from Southeast Asia. Southeast Asia Visions A collection of historic travel narratives (Cornell University Library). World Digital Library - Southeast Asia Includes significant primary materials from Southeast Asian countries and cultures.