IntroductionThis guide is designed for business students studying social entrepreneurship or working with social entreprises for community projects. It may also be useful for students in other disciplines.
Related Guides Business Planning / New Enterprise Development Nonprofit Management Sustainable Business
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Click here to search the UBC Library catalogue for books on social entrepreneurship topics, or click on a link below for books on that topic. Social entrepreneurship Social marketing
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
Article Databases: Search TipsWhen you are searching in article databases, the words you use have a direct impact on the results you retrieve. Try a few different searches using different combinations of search words to vary your results. Suggested search words/phrases: "social entrepreneurship" | "social entrepreneur" | "social enterprise" | "social marketing" | "social innovation" | "nonprofit organizations" | "social impact" | "social change" Scan your search results to get ideas for additional search words.
Business Article Databases ABI/Inform (Abstracted Business Information) Fulltext articles from 1000+ business journals. Search together with Canadian NewsStand and CBCA Business Source Complete Business articles, market research reports, company swot analyses Canadian Newsstand Complete Canadian newspapers CBCA Complete Canadian journals and magazines Emerald Management Plus Articles on management strategy, leadership, marketing, human resource management Factiva Global business and industry news service LexisNexis Academic News, government, finance, business information. Company directories GoogleScholar A simple way to search selected scholarly literature, with links for UBC users to fulltext
JournalsJournals available through UBC Library Browse recent issues of journals to keep up to date on recent news, trends or issues relating to social entrepreneurship: Journal of social entrepreneurship Philadelphia social innovations journal Social enterprise journal Stanford social innovation review
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
BC & Canada ISIS: A Research Centre (Sauder School of Business) "Focused on leveraging business tools to advance social innovation and sustainability". Research areas include Social Economy the website includes working papers and reports in this area. ISIS also runs a Social Entrepreneur Program. Building Opportunities with Business (BOB) A Vancouver based organization which "connects, coordinates and provides supports to social entrepreneurs, social enterprises and mission based businesses" Social Enterprise Council of Canada. Enterprising Non Profits "A unique collaborative program that promotes and supports social enterprise development and growth as a means to build strong non profit organizations and healthier communities in British Columbia." The website includes a definition of social enterprise, information on "developing your social enterprise", and a searchable library of resources, such as toolkits. The Canadian Social Entrepreneurship Foundation A nonprofit registered in BC created to "develop Canadian social entrepreneurs so that they can contribute to the economic and social development of Canada and the world." Website includes historical and emerging examples of social entrepreneurs; information on events and projects; and aggregates resources from other organizations on social entrepreneurship topics. Social and Enterprise Development Innovations (SEDI) Social Finance.ca The mission of SocialFinance.ca "is to catalyze and sustain a robust social finance marketplace in Canada." The website includes a blog, event listing, and information on a variety of topics, including: social finance and "Structuring Your Social Enterprise".
U.S. & International Ashoka An international association of fellows, entrepreneurs and others supporting social entrepreneurship worldwide Social Enterprise Alliance (SEA)
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)
BC & Canada BC Advisory Council on Social Entrepreneurship Established in February 2011 "to assist the BC government in seeking new and innovative ways to help BC communities tackle the most pervasive social challenges of the day." Website includes the Council's draft recommendations; a "social innovation primer" and other documents from the Council. Non-Profit Partnerships Summit. Collective Impact through Social Innovation Website of the Summit, held on November 25, 2011, of which the Sauder School of Business was a partner. Includes videos, program topics and profiles of speakers. Policy Horizons Canada. The State of Social Enterprise in Canada
U.S. & International OECD iLibrary. SMEs, Entrepreneurship and Innovation: Social Entrepreneurship and Social Innovation Published in May 2010. Provides an overview of social entrepreneurship followed by examples from over 40 OECD member countries. (Note: this is available as part of UBC Library's subscription to OECD iLibrary and requires a CWL login from off campus) OECD iLibrary. The Changing Boundaries of Social Enterprises Published in January 2009. Provides recommendations and best practices for policy makers. (Note: this is available as part of UBC Library's subscription to OECD iLibrary and requires a CWL login from off campus)
Librarians UBC Okanagan Barbara Sobol (Okanagan Library) UBC Vancouver Lindsay Ure (David Lam Library)