A guide to research resources for the painting, sculpture, architecture, and decorative arts of Europe from early to high Renaissance. Resources listed are available through the UBC Library and on the web. For addtional help with your research, schedule an appointment with the Art and Architecture librarian or visit our reference desk in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre.
UBC Departments Art History + Visual Art + Theory Art + Architecture + Planning, UBC Library School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
For help finding articles, see the UBC Library's Finding Journal Articles guide. To find articles on a topic, begin your research in the indexes/databases listed on this page:
Art Full Text Indexes Art, Architecture, Landscape Architecture, and Urban Planning journals. Reproductions of works of art appearing in periodicals are also indexed. Art Retrospective A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Covers the subjects of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Bibliography of the History of Art Covers western art from late antiquity (4th century A.D.) to 2007. Coverage of contemporary art includes critical and theoretical publications. Historical Abstracts An exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Humanities Index The Humanities Index covers many disciplines in the humanities and includes citations from 600 English-language periodicals, over 400 of them peer-reviewed. Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance A bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books. Social Sciences Index Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals. Web of Science Online access to the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Also includes cited reference searching and Journal Citation Reports.
Electronic JournalsFor a selective list of electronic art and architecture journals, browse by subject in the Print and Electronic Journals database. Art, Architecture & Applied Arts Print JournalsFor a selective list of print art and architecture journals, search the UBC Library Catalogue by subject heading. Architecture - Periodicals Art - Periodicals To find other journals and more specifically articles, please see the Articles tab of this guide. Some of the journals that focus on Renaissance Art or Architecture are:
Artibus et Historiae I Tatti Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies The Journal of Medieval and Renaissance Studies Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institutes Medievalia et Humanistica Mitteilungen des Kunsthistorischen Institutes in Florenz Renaissance and Reformation Reniassance Quarterly Renaissance Studies Revue de la Renaissance The Sixteenth Century Journal Studies in Medieval and Renaissance History Viator; Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias Grove Art [Online] Oxford dictionary of the Renaissance [Online] Age of the Renaissance Renaissance: an illustrated encyclopedia Renaissance art: a topical dictionary Bibliographies Central Italian painting, 1400-1465 Shakespeare's world: Renaissance intellectual contexts: a selective, annotated guide, 1966-1971 Renaissance humanism, 1300-1550: a bibliography of materials in English Italian printmaking, fifteenth and sixteenth centuries: an annotated bibliography Flemish painting outside Bruges, 1400-1500 Bibliographie internationale de lhumanisme et de la Renaissance A reader's guide to the Renaissance and Reformation: an annotated bibliography Painting in Bruges, 1470-1550 Fifteenth century North Italian painting and drawing Giotto bibliografia Bibliografia Vinciana Leonardo da Vinci's Trattato della pittura (Treatise on painting) A bibliography of the printed editions, 1651-1956 Michelangelo-bibliographie, 1927-1970 Michelangelo; selected scholarship in English Artists Thieme-Becker. Allgemeines Lexikon der bildenden Kunstler Berenson. Italian pictures of the renaissance: Central Italian and North Italian schools Berenson. Italian pictures of the renaissance: Venetian school Berenson. Italian pictures of the renaissance: Florentine school Mander. Dutch and Flemish painters Iconography Attributs et symboles dans l'art profane 1450-1600 : dictionnaire d'un langage perdu Dictionary of Subjects and symbols in art Encyclopedia of comparative iconography Iconographic research in English renaissance literature: a critical guide Nature and its Symbols Pagan mysteries in the renaissance Renaissance artists and antique sculpture; a handbook of sources Studies in iconology: humanistic themes in the art of the renaissance Symbols and Allegories in Art
UBC Library CatalogueBooks on this subject can be found in the UBC Library catalogue using subject headings such as: Renaissance Humanism Art, Renaissance Art, High Renaissance Arts, Renaissance Art objects, Renaissance Architecture, Renaissance Art - 15th century - Europe Artists - Italy - biography Other possible subject headings include: Type of artwork Altarpieces, Renaissance Geographic location Italy - History - 15th century Florence (Italy)-History-1421-1737 Artist name Alberti, Leon Battista, 1404-72 Name of gallery or site Galleria degli Uffizi Cappella Brancacci
Art theorists of the Italian renaissance [electronic resource] A documentary history of art Italian art, 1400-1500: sources and documents Northern Renaissance art, 1400-1600: sources and documents French painters and paintings from the fourteenth century to post-impressionism Lives of the most eminent painters, sculptors & architects Renaissance treasury: the Flagg collection of European decorative arts and sculpture
Archivision Digital Research Library Archivision is a database of over 53,000 high quality, professionally photographed images of architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, archaeology, and design searchable within LUNA Commons. ARTstor ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images licensed for educational use at UBC, covering the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and the social sciences. Print Index: A Guide to Reproductions Print index located in the AArP reference collection. Sculpture Index Print index located in the AArP reference collection. Web Gallery of Art Image collection, virtual museum, and searchable database of European fine arts (1000-1850). World Architecture Index Print source located in the AArP reference collection. World Painting Index Print source located in the AArP reference collection.