A guide to sources in the study of subjects and themes-- including conventions of representation-- in works of art and architecture. For methodologies and related issues in iconographic interpretation, use the term 'iconology' in searches. This subject guide lists selected resources available through the UBC Library and on the web. For addtional help with your research, schedule an appointment with the Art librarian or visit our reference desk in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre.
UBC Departments UBC Art History and Visual Art Department Art + Architecture + Planning, UBC Library Classical, Near Eastern, and Religious Studies
Related Guides Art History Medieval Art and Architecture: Western Europe 400-1500 Religious Studies Renaissance Art and Architecture
For help finding articles, see the UBC Library's Finding Journal Articles guide. To find articles on a topic, begin your research in the indexes/databases listed on this page:
Art Full Text Indexes Art, Architecture, Landscape Architecture, and Urban Planning journals. Reproductions of works of art appearing in periodicals are also indexed. ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Article index compiled by the American Theological Library Association, covering Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Covers the subjects of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) / International Bibliography of Art Covers western art from late antiquity (4th century A.D.) to 2007. Fine arts coverage as well as decorative and applied arts, industrial design, popular and folk art, photography, new media and the performing arts as well as material culture of interest to art historians. Grove Art Online Provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates. Iconclass Indexes Print indexes available in the Art, Architecture, and Planning reference collection. MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) The MLA International Bibliography is the core database for English language and literature.
The following are the journals that are most relevant to the collection. For tips on finding journals and journal articles, see the "Articles" tab. Iconography of religions Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institute Studies in iconography
Try the following search: [your topic] in art (use the "Subject heading starts with" option in the catalogue) Books on this subject can also be found in the UBC Library catalogue using subject headings such as: Art- themes, motives Bible- illustrations Christian art and symbolism Idols and images Mythology, classical- in art Religion in art Bibliographies Guide to the literature of art history 2(see entry under "Iconography") Iconclass bibliographies Sources in iconography in the Blackader-Lauterman Library of Architecture and Art, McGill University: an annotated bibliography Dictionaries and Encyclopedias Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art Encyclopedia of comparative iconography: themes depicted in works of art Encyclopedia of themes and subjects in painting: mythological, Biblical, historical, literary, allegorical, and topical Illustrated dictionary of symbols in Eastern and Western art Guides and Handbooks Baroque and Rococo pictorial imagery (Ripa's 'Iconologia') Iconography of religions: an introduction Introduction to iconography
Buddhism and Hinduism Dictionary of Buddhist and Hindu iconography, illustrated : objects, devices, concepts, rites, and related terms Iconographic dictionary of the Indian religions : Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism Iconography of Chinese Buddhism in traditional China Iconography of minor Hindu and Buddhist deities Christianity (Byzantine) Art of the Byzantine Empire, 312-1453; sources and documents Transfigurations : studies in the dynamics of Byzantine iconography Christianity Christian iconography Dent dictionary of symbols in Christian art Iconographic index to New Testament subjects... Iconographic index to Old Testament subjects... Iconography of Christian art Oxford companion to Christian art and architecture Signs and symbols in Christian art Classical mythology Gods and heroes in art Gods and heroes of classical antiquity Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae Oxford guide to classical mythology in the arts, 1300-1990s Islam Iconography of Islamic art Muslim religious architecture Judaism Index of Jewish art (Iconographical index of Hebrew illuminated manuscripts) Jewish historiography and iconography in early and Medieval Christianity Jewish images in the Christian church : art as the mirror of the Jewish-Christian conflict, 200-1250 C.E. Jewish symbols in the Greco-Roman period
Brandeis University - Iconography and Iconology Iconography and Iconology research guide from Brandeis University's Methods and Approaches in the History of Art Guide. McGill University - Iconography Iconography research guide from McGill Library. Stanford University - Iconography A list of iconography resources from Stanford University.