This guide is a good place to start researching various aspects of the real estate industry. It contains both library databases and freely available sources. Off campus access to library databases is available to currently registered UBC students, faculty and staff. Depending on which aspect of real estate you are reaching, you may find these related guides helpful: Community & Regional Planning Construction Industry - BC Economics Environmental Design Remote Sensing / Geograpic Information Systems Sustainable Building Industry UBC Campus & University Endowment Lands You can also identify and research individual real estate companies by using these guides: Company Research (provides strategies and links to resources like directories and article databases ) Company Profiles (contains sources on specific companies) This guide has been made possible by generous support from the Real Estate Foundation of British Columbia.
UBC DepartmentsStrategy& Business Economics Division, Sauder School of BusinessCentre for Urban Economics and Real Estate, Sauder School of Business Real Estate Division, Sauder School of BusinessSchool of Community & Regional Planning
Small Business Accelerator GuidesThe Small Business Accelerator, an initiative of UBC’s Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, has developed business planning guides for members of the public interested in starting a business in the following real estate industries: Real Estate Business Accelerator Guide Construction Business Accelerator Guide Find all other Construction & Real Estate related guides here.
Contact a librarian for help Vancouver Campus: Librarians at David Lam Library Okanagan Campus: Barbara Sobol, barbara.sobol@ubc.ca / (250) 807-8063
Canada Avison Young. Canadian commercial real estate markets by city including Vancouver. CB Richard Ellis provides reports by local market. Colliers International. Covers major cities, including Vancouver. NAI Global. Canada. Includes rental rates of commercial property in major Canadian cities. Emporis. Global office and commercial high rise information and values, by city RBC Capital Markets. Real Estate Division United States National Association of Industrial & Office Properties (NAIOP). An organization for North American developers, owners and related professionals in office, industrial and mixed-use real estate. The Research Foundation includes reports on green building, predictors of commercial real estate development and economic contributions of the industry. Society of Industrial & Office Realtors. Commercial Real Estate Index.
Canada Sauder School of Business. Canadian Metropolitan Area Data Website. Includes residential house prices. Canada Mortgage & Housing Corporation Canadian Real Estate Association Central 1 Credit Union. B.C. Housing Outlook 2010-2012, Economic Analysis of British Columbia 30(3), 2010. Fraser Valley Real Estate Board. Includes statistic on sales, average price and type of home. Royal Lepage. Reports & Surveys. Includes the Housing Price Survey and Recreational Property Report. Sauder School of Business. Centre for Urban Economics and Real Estate. Canadian Cities Housing & Real Estate Data Site. Includes demographic, employment, residential house price, mortgage rates and inflation data for major Canadian cities, including Vancouver. Teranet Inc. built and manages Ontario’s Electronic Land Registration System. Look under news releases to review the Teranet-National Bank National House Price Index. TD Bank. TD Econoomics. Economic statistics and forecasts help with understanding the factors underlying affordability. United States Federal Housing Finance Agency Harvard University. Joint Center for Housing Studies. The State of the Nation's Housing. S&P/ Case Schiller Home Price Indices track changes in the value of U.S. residential real estate nationally and in 20 metropolitan regions. U.S. Census Bureau. American Housing Survey U.S. Dept. of Housing & Urban Development. HUD User. Includes data on housing markets, fair market rents, and building permits International Jones Lang Lasalle Research. International reports on market conditions. Knight Frank Research Reports. Reports on specific residential and commercial markets as well as some global reports.
Demographic DataResearching demographic statistics is important to real estate decision making. British Columbia. BC Stats. Detailed real estate, demographic and municipal data Canada (includes information relevant for Vancouver and British Columbia) Statistics Canada. CANSIM and E-Stat Sauder School of Business. Centre for Urban Economics and Real Estate. Canadian Cities Housing & Real Estate Data Site. Includes demographic, employment, residential house price, mortgage rates and inflation data for major Canadian cities, including Vancouver. United States US. Census Bureau. Housing and Household Economic Statistics Explore the subject guides below for more sources of demographic information: Vancouver and Local Area Information Consumer Behaviour and Demographics Kelowna, BC
Use news sources and article databases to get recent information on the real estate industry. Local news sources are useful for getting market specific information. Trade journals are good resources for researching issues specific to the industry. Article Databases ABI/Inform Business Source Complete CBCA Complete Canadian Newsstand. Major Canadian news sources Econlit Factiva Geobase. Global literature on earth science, ecology, geography, and marine science HUD User Bibliographic Database . Abstracts of research reports, articles, books, monographs, and data sources in housing policy, building technology, economic development, urban planning Jack Brause Library, Real Estate Institute, New York University
Real estate boards, associations and councils provide rich sources of industry and local information. Content varies from source to source, but you will often find local industry statistics, issues, news releases, regulatory information, position papers, and other very specific industry information. The resources identified below are a selective. If your local board is not represented consider searching for it using google. British Columbia BC Assessment Authority BC Real Estate Association Building Owners and Managements Association (BOMA) British Columbia NAIOP Commercial Real Estate Development Association - Vancouver Chapter Real Estate Council of British Columbia Real Estate Foundation of British Columbia Real Estate Board of Greater Vancouver. Includes statistical data from 1999 to present. Real Estate Institute of British Columbia (REIBC) Fraser Valley Real Estate Board Urban Development Institute (UDI) Pacific Region Urban Land Institute (ULI) British Columbia Canada Appraisal Institute of Canada Canadian Real Estate Association Real Estate Institute of Canada United States American Real Estate and Urban Economics Association American Real Estate Society Appraisal Foundation National Association of Industrial & Office Properties (NAIOP) National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (NAREIT) National Association of Realtors (NAR) National Council of Real Estate Investment Fiduciaries (NCREIF) Freddie Mac Urban Development Institute (UDI) International Appraisal Institute Building Owners & Managers Association (BOMA) International CoreNet Global. Publications & Resources European Real Estate Society International Council of Shopping Centers Urban Land Institute
These tools provide sources of financial data for the real estate industry. Industry Canada. SME Benchmarking Tool. Generate a report on financials for small to medium sized Canadian businesses, using data collected from a sampling of corporate tax returns. Ernst & Young. Global Real Estate Center: Building your business future. Includes Global trends: real estate private equity industry and IFRS Real Estate Survey. FP Advisor. Compare real estate company financials. Global Market Information Database. Provides high level real estate statistics for over 200 countries, specifically consumer spending on housing, housing stock, and the GDP for real estate and rental industries. IBISworld Industry Reports. This market research database includes profiles on real estate appraisal, commercial real estate, reits, real estate sales & brokerages, apartment rental and property management in the U.S., as well as a profile of the global commercial real estate industry. There are also profiles of selected real estate companies and data on risk and U.S. business environment. Investext. Includes investment analyst reports on the real estate industry. Includes international reports. IPD. Includes global property indexes. Statistics Canada. Government of Canada Publications . UBC Library-licensed database. See "Services Indicators" for real estate industry data Industry Canada. Canadian Industry Statistics - Real Estate Rental and Leasing (NAICS 53). Find data on capital investment, labour productivity, GDP, and number of establishments for the Canadian Industry. This site also includes a link to company directories.
UBC's research cIRcle is the University of British Columbia's digital repository for research and teaching materials created by the UBC community and its partners. This is a good place to identify working papers, theses, and other research created at UBC. Sauder School of Business. Centre for Urban Economics and Real Estate Sauder School of Business. Strategy and Business Economics (SBE) Division School of Community & Regional Planning (SCARP). Research Real estate and urban land economics is interdisciplinary in nature and researchers and their work may also be identified in the following UBC departments and faculties: Dept. of Geography. Research Dept. of Economics. Research Faculty of Law. Research
Theses and Dissertations cIRcle: UBC's Institutional Repository UBC theses and dissertations submitted after Fall 2007 are available in full text in cIRcle: UBC's Institutional Repository. A project is underway to digitize older UBC theses, starting with 1992. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text Searchable index of dissertations, some theses. The full text of dissertations and theses added to the database since 1997 are available to UBC users. Covers more than 90% of North American doctoral dissertations plus growing international coverage. Theses Canada Portal Indexes theses and dissertations on microform in Library and Archives Canada's collection. Electronic theses and dissertations are harvested monthly from Canadian universities. UBC Library Web Pages - FAQ: Dissertations and Theses More information about how and where to find theses and dissertations.
Academic Research CentresAcademic research centres are excellent sources of regional data and a produce academic papers, conferences and contribute heavily to industry research. Sauder School of Business. Centre for Urban Economics and Real Estate C.D. Howe Institute Canada Mortgage and Housing (CMHC). Publications & Reports New York University. Furman Center for Real Estate and Public Policy | Jack Brause Real Estate Library | NYU Schack Institute of Real Estate Real Estate Research Institute Rutgers University. Center for Urban Policy Research Texas A&M University. Real Estate Center UCLA. Ziman Center for Real Estate University of California Berkeley. Haas School of Business. Fisher Center for Real Estate and Urban Economics University of Connecticut School of Business. Center for Real Estate and Urban Economics University of Florida. Dept. of Finance, Insurance and Real Estate University of Georgia. Terry College of Business. Real Estate Program University of Pennsylvania. Wharton School. Zell Lurie Real Estate Center University of San Diego. Burnham-Moores Center for Real Estate University of Southern California (USC). Lusk Center for Real Estate Washington State University. Center for Real Estate Research Wisconsin School of Business. Wisconsin Real Estate Program
Real Estate Directories Jurock.com. Real Estate Companies. CIBC Real Estate Investment Banking | Real Estate Finance RBC Capital Markets. Real Estate Division. Includes links to real estate companies. Find additional directories, as well as more resources and strategies, in the following subject guides: Company Research Company Profiles
Use these links to view houses currently being listed for sale: Realtylink Online. Canadian MLS listings Coldwell Banker. Home Listing Report Realtor.com - National Association of Realtors
Articles Brown v. green equals blue landowner, Globe and Mail, Nov 25, 2008, pB.11 Calgary gets first LEED Platinum multifamily residential development, Building Design & Construction, Jan 2008, 49:1. When Brown is Green: Leveraging Capital Under the New Brownfield Tax Law, Real Estate Finance Journal, Spring 2006, 21:4. They're building the village where?, The Province, Oct. 30, 2005. Large scale BC developments get national recognition, Journal of Commerce, Oct. 19, 2005. Contaminated 'brownfields' are developments of future, Ottawa Citizen, Oct. 15, 2005. And the Brownie goes to Victoria's dock project, National Post, Oct. 14, 2005. Brownfields rules streamlined, Journal of Commerce, Nov. 22, 2004. Cleaning old industrial lands vital excavation step, Journal of Commerce, Jul. 28, 2004. Shipyard clean-up example for future, Journal of Commerce, Mar. 29, 2004. Brownfields Lending. HazMat Management, January 1, 2009. Case Studies Canada Mortgage and Housing. Brownfield Redevelopment for Housing in Canada - Case Studies. Includes remediation cost details. Canada. National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy. Search 'brownfields' for case studies, including remediation cost details. Ontario. aboutRemediation.com. Case studies. Includes remediation cost details. Companies BC Environmental Industry Association Includes company directory Canadian Brownfields Network. Includes list of ~200 members Concert Properties London Landing Development Corporation Pinnacle International Squamish Oceanfront Development Corporation VanCity Enterprises Windmill Developments Government Programs Canada British Columbia. Ministry of Agriculture and Lands. B.C. Brownfield Renewal Strategy and Website and Financial Incentives Section here British Columbia. Environmental Management Act. Provides for reimbursement for remediation costs by previous owners of property British Columbia. Ministry of Environment. Land Remediation Canada. Infrastructure Canada. Building Canada Fund Many Canadian cities now have brownfield remediation programs. A few are listed here: Alberta. City of Edmonton. Brownfield Redevelopment Grant Program Ontario. City of Hamilton. Brownfields/ERASE Program United States U.S. EPA. Brownfields and Land Revitalization Organizations BC Environmental Industry Association Federation of Canadian Municipalities. Green Municipal Fund. Funding opportunities, case studies, RFP's, best practices for brownfield remediation. Reports Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation".Tip: search on the word brownfields for case studies. Check out this section of Redeveloping Sites Canada. National Round Table on the Economy and the Environment. Cleaning up the past, building the future: a national brownfield redevelopment strategy (2003) Canada. National Round Table on the Economy and the Environment. The financial services sector and brownfield redevelopment (1997) Clark Wilson LLP. Environmental Liability and Insurance Coverage in British Columbia: A Primer on Contaminated Sites and Clean-Up Cost Recovery Litigation, November 2004 Clark Wilson LLP. BCReal Estate Links. Spring Cleaning: Good News for Brownfield Developers, May 10, 2005 A Few Real Estate Industry Reports: Avison Young | Colliers International Tools Ontario. Brownfields Redevelopment Toolbox. Property valuation, remediation costs, risk assessment, marketing plan, etc.
Hospitality Trends. Hospitality Industry Trends-Market Reports. Includes Canadian and North American data on occupancy, pricing trends and industry outlook.
Indoor Air Quality & Leaky CondominiumsGovernment Resources BC Green Building Code Background Research. Materials Emission and Indoor Air Quality. Canada. Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC). Re-Sale of Leaky Condos: Did the Buyer Know? British Columbia. Homeowner Protection Office Canada. Canada Mortgage and Housing Corp - search the website by keyword, e.g. indoor air quality or indoor air pollution. US. EPA. Indoor Air Quality Hotlines and Resources. Associations Indoor Air Quality Association - international organization based in the US Legislation Homeowner Protection Act Insurance Act Local Government Act (formerly Municipal Act) Strata Property Act For additional legislation, see the BC Laws website. Cases Courts of British Columbia. Judgements Database
Article Searches on Leaky CondominiumsSearch ABI/Inform and Canadian Newsstand and CBCA Complete for recent articles on this topic. Click here for a sample search using the search term leaky condo*. Click here for another search using the search terms leaky condo* and legislation.
Canadian Association of Accredited Mortgage Professionals. Mortgage Industry. Includes links to the Mortgage Journal, as well as industry surveys, reports, conferences, and news and information sources. Sauder School of Business. Centre for Urban Economics and Real Estate. Canadian Cities Housing & Real Estate Data Site. Includes mortgage rate data for major Canadian cities, including Vancouver.
Retirement HomesNorth American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes are useful for searching databases or government sources. NAICS codes for the retirement homes industry include: 623110 (residential facilities with nursing care) and 623111 (continuing care retirement communities) or 623312 (homes for the elderly). Associations & Societies Alberta Long Term Care Association BC Retirement Communities Association Ontario Long Term Care Association More associations Books Search for online and print books in the UBC Catalogue using the following subject terms: Baby-boom generation Older Consumers Middle-Aged Consumers Homes for the Aged Selected books in UBC Library: Senior living communities: operations management and marketing for assisted living, congregate, and continuing care retirement communities. Rural ageing: a good place to grow old? The cost effectiveness of respite: a literature review Aging and caring at the intersection of work and home life: blurring the boundaries Senior living communities: operations management and marketing for assisted living, congregate, and continuing care retirement communities Respite care: programs, problems and solutions Government reports & regulations Addressing the challenges and opportunities of ageing in Canada, 2008 British Columbia. Ministry of Health Services. Office of the Assisted Living Registrar. Developing An Assisted Living Residence. Canadian Institute for Health Information. OCCPS Analytical Bulletin November 2003, Short Stays in Ontario Complex Continuing Care Facilities Demographics Please consult the resources and strategies identified in the Consumer Behavior and Demographics research guide. The seniors tab has very specific information. Companies Amica Mature Lifestyles Berwick Retirement Communities Chartwell Seniors Housing REIT Extendicare Golden Opportunities Hillside Terrace and the Hillside Seniors' Health Centre, Victoria, British Columbia Piercy Respite Hotel. Part of the Hillside Seniors Centre in Victoria, BC Leisureworld Lower Mainland Adult Day Centre Association. List of member institutions Origin Pacific Sun Retirement Living Regency Care Retirement Residences REIT thecareguide.com. List of providers Other examples. (Google search)
Finding articles on seniors and retirement livingThe following resources are good sources for finding aritcles on seniors, aging, retirement, and eldercare: Academic Search Complete. Database of academic articles on many topics. Combine with AgeLine (free), CINAHL and Family & Society Studies to find articles on this topic. Canadian Social Trends. This Statistics Canada journal has several articles on aging, retirement, and seniors. GoogleScholar. Excellent free resource for finding academic articles and books about respite care for seniors, etc. PubMed. Freely available database, with Advanced Search interface that allows you to search respite and seniors or elderly. Below are some specific articles: The Effectiveness and Cost-Effectiveness of Respite for Caregivers of Frail Older People, Journal of the American Geriatrics Society, Feb 2007, 55:2, p290-299 Aging boomers spark new real estate trend, CMAJ: Canadian Medical Association Journal, 3/21/2000, 162:6
Market Research, Business Plans, Marketing Plans Gero-Sys Adult Daycare Center. Sample business plan Adult Day Services in Iowa: Strengthening a Critical Home and Community-Based Service Alaska. Affordable Assisted Living in Alaska: Honoring Traditions by Keeping Our Elders Close to Home. Financial Feasibility Analysis and Business Plan Guidebook. Excellent publication with step-by-step methodoloy for planning a care facility BC Non-Profit Housing Association. 70 Ways to Reduce the Cost of Developing and Operating Supportive Housing For Seniors, 2004 Canada. Industry Canada. SME Benchmarking Tool. Typical operator costs and ratios in specific BC or Canadian industries Freedonia Focus. Report on Elder Care Services Marketresearch.com Academic. U.S. report on The Long-Term Care Market: Nursing Homes, Home Care, Hospice Care and Assisted Living
Education Sauder School of Business. Real Estate Division. Provides online, distance education programs that serve the needs of the industry locally, nationally and internationally. Sauder School of Business. Bachelor of Commerce (with a specialization in real estate). Course requirements. Real Estate Council of BC provides information on licensing, legislation, regulations, and educational waivers.
Real Estate Law SourcesUBC Library subscribes to legal sources in BC real estate from the Continuing Legal Eduction Society of British Columbia:: British Columbia Real Estate Development Practice Manual. Provides information about land acquisition and more. British Columbia Real Estate Practice Manual. Provides coverage of the necessary steps for conveyance. British Columbia Real Property Assessment Manual. Describes the essentials of real property assessment in this area of law. Please contact UBC's Law Library for more information on legal resources related to real estate.
BC Real Estate Regulations & Legislation B.C. Real Estate Association provides links to legislation, regulation, position papers and briefs. BC Financial Insitutions Commission links to regulation and legislation. Real Estate Council of BC links to Acts, regulations and legislation
A Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT) is a company that owns and, in many cases, operates income-producing real estate such as apartments, shopping centres, offices, hotels and warehouses. Some REITs also engage in financing real estate. The shares of an REIT are freely traded, usually on a major stock exchange. (Source: National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts). REITs are required to comply with applicable securities legislation and stock exchange rules. Analysis Capital IQ. Research financials of REITs. (UBC researchers only). Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage. Choose Industries and select Real Estate Investment Trusts from the list. CIBC Real Estate Investment Banking. Includes links to the Realty Stock Monitor and Canadian REIT Report. Associations Real Property Association of Canada National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts. REIT.com Books Deloitte. Canadian REIT Guide. (pdf) Corporate Filings & Lists REIT.com. List of REIT funds. SEC EDGAR - US electronic filing system for corporate disclosure records of REITs and other public companies. SEDAR - Canada's electronic filing system for disclosure documents of REITs and other public companies and mutual funds. Search for basic information on Canadian REITs on the Toronto Stock Exchange.