This research guide was created for Plan 506 students, and lists a selecton of available resources. If you are researching a paper discussing legal issues, the Law Library homepage has several useful links. The research guide Beginning Your Legal Research can help you get started on your research. UBC Law Library's Research Resources includes a list of interdisciplinary indexes, including Academic Search Complete. To connect from outside the library, see Connect from Home (EZproxy & myVPN).
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ CONTACT A LIBRARIAN FOR HELP: UBC Law Library Reference Staff
The best place to start your research is often a textbook which will give you an overview of the topic. Rogers. Canadian Law of Planning and Zoning, 2nd ed. LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE5258 .R63 (LC) The only Canadian text comprehensively treating all aspects of municipal regulation of land use. This loose-leaf set includes coverage of cases and legislation in every Canadian province Kushner. Comparative Urban Planning Law: An Introduction to Urban Land Development Law in The United States Through the Lens of Comparing the Experience of Other Nations LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KF5692 .K87 2003 (LC) Covers subjects ranging from traditional planning techniques such as zoning and smart growth management systems, to affordable housing, transportation, economic development, and urban revitalization. Other topics such as land use controls and land development laws in different countries are also included. Browse its Table of Contents for details. Jones and de Villars. Principles of Administrative Law, 5th ed. LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE5015. J66 2009 (LC) Provides a concise statement of the principles of administrative law. It covers constitutional considerations, the concept of a statutory delegate, the acquisition of jurisdiction, procedural fairness, discretionary powers, standards of review, and public and private law remedies against governmental action. (Earlier editions are also available at LAW LIBRARY level 3: KE5015 .J66). Mullan. Administrative Law LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE5015. M84 2001 (LC) or Online Provides a clear overview and analysis, and explores the complex issues involved in balancing effective and efficient government with the protection of individual interests and concerns. Administrative law ensures governments (and government officials) deal with citizens in a lawful and fair manner. Browse its Table of Contents for details. Note: Chapter 3 covers procedural fairness. Rogers. The Law of Canadian Municipal Corporations, 2nd ed. LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE4904. R726 1971 (LC) Text on all aspects of the law governing municipalities in every province. Search the Library catalogue for other books using topical KEYWORDS such as: city and planning and design In addition, try searching the Library catalogue for other books using SUBJECT HEADINGS such as: Cities and towns -- Growth City planning City planning and redevelopment law Inner cities Metropolitan areas Regional planning Regional planning -- Law and legislation Suburbs Urban renewal Urbanization Zoning law
Journal articles are another excellent source for information on your topic. Use the following periodical indexes to help you find journal articles; Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) provides thorough coverage of Canadian law journal literature. It indexes articles and case comments from over 140 law journals, and provides selective coverage of textbooks, government publications, legal research institute publications and theses. The print Index to Canadian Legal Literature can be found at LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE1 .I532 2001 (LC). Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature (Scott Index) (1998-) covers over 20 000 texts including legal articles published in more than a hundred Canadian legal journals, legal articles published in journals from related fields, texts from legal conferences, and case comments. Indexes to Legal Periodicals guide provide access to a variety of periodical indexes to find relevant legal articles. LegalTrac and Legal Periodicals and Books are particularly useful. Searches should include the word planning or redevelopment or zoning PLUS keywords describing the desired topic, e.g. zoning and "freedom of religion" Research Resources includes broader, interdisciplinary indexes. One interdisciplinary index, Academic Search Complete indexes over 160 urban and regional planning journals. Finally try Google Scholar which searches for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. It is NOT as current or comprehensive as UBC's article Indexes, but it can be a useful resource. Most articles available in UBC Library databases will be indicated with .
After using Article Indexes you may still need to access some periodicals via Journals --> Print & Electronic Journals search on the blue bar of library webpages to locate journal holdings.
Databases of particular interest include: UBC Library's Subject Resources for Community and Regional Planning for a complete listing of useful databases. Academic Search Complete can be very useful. It is a very large, multidisciplinary database, which includes scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines. It covers business, economics, and law as well as many other disciplines. For many journals, full text is included online.
Local Government Act, RSBC 1996, c 323. Part 25 — Regional Growth Strategies Part 26 — Planning and Land Use Management
Municipal and Planning Law Reports (M.P.L.R.) LAW LIBRARY level 4: KE5295.A45 M862 (LC) Features all important municipal law decisions (1976 - ) from the courts and planning tribunals of all Canadian jurisdictions. Includes cases on municipal corporations and their powers, municipal wrongs, subdivision and development control and zoning by-laws, municipal and school taxes and assessment, trade regulation, and public authorities and public officers. Articles, annotations and case comments are also included. LexisNexis Academic provides access to case law from Canada and the United States. CanLII Canadian Legal Information Institute provides free access to Canadian case law and legislation on the Internet via a uniform search interface. Check CanLII's Scope of Databases. Search for cases by keywords. BAILII, AustLII and LII provide access to British, Australian and American cases and legislation, respectively.
Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism explains how and when to cite sources used for term papers and assignments.
UBC Library's Subject Resources for Community and Regional Planning includes a link to Web Resources in Planning. Information on community and regional planning is located in several UBC Library locations. The core of the collection is in the stacks of the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre.