IntroductionThis guide includes information on resources for Persian language learning and cultural studies.
Naked Garden and Pomegranate. Image courtesy of the artist, Pari Azarm Motamedi. Watercolor, acrylic ink. Vancouver, 2010.
English Translation Dictionaries FarsiDic دیکشنری آنلاین انگلیسی و فارسی Aryanpour Persian Online Dictionary
Encyclopedias Encyclopædia Iranica (in English) A comprehensive resource for those studying Persian culture and history. Created by scholars through the support of Columbia University.
Avaz-e parandeh (The Song of the Bird). Image courtesy of the artist, Pari Azarm Motamedi. Watercolor. Vancouver, 2007. Collection of Mrs. Hayedeh Malek.
Websites Persian Online Provides guidance on every aspect of Persian language learning. Includes video and audio components. Created by the University of Texas Austin BBC A Guide to Persian: 10 facts, key phrases and the alphabet Provides concise overview of the language. Farsi Language Learning Games Practice basic vocabulary such as numbers and colours with interactive games. Does not include script exercises and mostly builds conversational skills.
Birds and Pomegranate Trees. Image courtesy of the artist, Pari Azarm Motamedi. Watercolor and 24 karat gold. Vancouver, 1991.
Exercises & Lessons The Persian Alphabet From the University of Texas at Austin, video clips demonstrate how to write each character. Let's Learn Persian Choose the sound that corresponds to the character shown. Virtual Persian: Alphabet Provides examples of each character used in words. Includes streaming audio.
History History of the Language From UT Austin, the subcategories (at the left of the screen) provide a brief history of the language over time. Persian Writing System An overview of the history and structure of Persian writing, from the UBC Language Education Research Centre course "World Language Fair" (LLED 489).
Character Input How to Type In Persian From the University of Texas Austin, a guide to using the Persian keyboard and inputting characters with PC and Mac operating systems. Virtual keyboard in Farsi-Persian Lets users click on characters in a virtual keyboard and immediately transfer these to a google search, or Twitter / Facebook post.
Chahar Bagh and Birds. Image courtesy of the artist, Pari Azarm Motamedi. Watercolor and 24 karat gold. Vancouver, 1988.Collection of Mrs. Junjo Miyanami.
Persian Canadian Paivand پیوند Source for print, radio and television news for the Persian-Canadian community. Daneshmand دانشمند Includes the full text of the magazine's back issues. Shahrvand Provides some articles from the Toronto-based newspaper.
Orange Garden. Image courtesy of the artist, Pari Azarm Motamedi. Vancouver, 2004.Collection of Mr. and Mrs. David Gooderham.