Skip to main content

Open Resources

This guide provides you information on finding, creating, and sharing open resources.

What are Open Textbooks?

An open textbook is a textbook licensed under an open copyright license and made available online to be freely used by students, teachers, and members of the public. They are available for free as online versions, and as low-cost printed versions, should students or faculty opt for these. They are an affordable, flexible alternative to traditionally-published textbooks.*

Did your know?**

  • only 24% of UBC students expect to graduate debt-free
  • the cost of textbooks increases at several times the average rate of inflation
  • many students skip buying textbooks due to cost, even though they know it will hurt their learning

*BCCampus Open Textbooks 101   **Open UBC - Student Fast Facts

Open Textbook Sources

The following resources contain existing open texts that are openly-licensed and free for educators to use and adapt to their own needs.

OpenStax College

  • OpenStax College offers students free textbooks that are peer-reviewed & written by professional content developers.

Open Academics Textbook Catalog

  • Hosted by the University of Minnesota, this site is a catalog of 150 open textbooks covering Business, Accounting, IT, Economics, Math, Humanities, Law, Math & Statistics, Natural, Physical and Social Sciences.

Orange Grove Text

  • Florida’s operational repository project of open source educational materials.

College Open Textbooks

  • Lists open textbooks by subject, many of which have been peer reviewed.

Global Text Project

  • The Global Text Project is a joint project of the Terry College of Business of the University of Georgia and The Daniels College of Business of the University of Denver. A collection of open textbooks in the areas of Business, Computing, Education, Health, Science and Social Science.

Connexions

  • Content Commons of free, open-licensed educational materials in fields such as music, electrical engineering and psychology.

​CCCOER

  • Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources

Finding Open Textbooks in Summon

UBC Library has several open collections, including open textbooks, accessible through the Library search Summon. Among the collections are: 

All of the collections may not be accessible through the UBC Library systems.  To review additional open textbook collections and their full catalogue of items, review the "Open Textbooks Databases" content below.

 

Step 1 - Go to UBC Library and search for "open textbooks" in the '''General''' search bar.

Step 2 - Using the filters on the left side of the results page, limit the search results to '''Full Text Online''' and '''Books/Ebooks'''. This will yield a list of items that are either open textbooks or cover open textbook issues.

Step 3 - To find textbooks in your discipline, limit to an area of study using the '''Discipline''' filter.