Skip to main content

Open Resources

This guide provides you information on finding, creating, and sharing open resources.

What are Open Education Resource Repositories (OERR)?

An online storage system that allows educators to share, manage and use education resources. The repository contains a collection of learning items that support instruction. These items include:

  • open textbooks
  • lesson plans
  • quizzes (e.g. iclickers, etc.)
  • videos, animations, handouts
  • interactive activities and tools (e.g. apps)
  • powerpoint presentations

Open Education Repository Evaluation

All of the repositories on this page have been assessed with a top score using the Open Education Resource Repositories (OERR) Rubric. The assessment process is ongoing and this page will be updated as new OERR's are added. Click here to see the full list of assessed OERRs.

Note:  check the licenses of any OER materials before using — every effort has been made to identify repositories that prioritize open and reusable content, but licenses may vary.

Assessing Open Education Resources

Unlike libraries, where content is evaluated and curated from a set of items identified through publishers, open education resources can be found everywhere and anywhere and have no set form of evaluation before they are made available to the public. The following guide provides you with processes and tools for developing a open education resource research plan and evaluation considerations for resources:

Developing a Plan for Selecting Open Education Resources

MIT Open Courseware

  • MIT's Open Courseware contains classroom materials from 2150 courses at MIT, including video/audio lectures, lecture notes, online textbooks, and interactive simulations. 

OER Commons

  • OER Commons aggregates Open Education Resources (OER) from a large number of partnership organizations and institutions. Resources are available in every subject area and a large variety of formats (including lecture notes, lesson plans, case studies, full courses, textbooks, and more). 

Jorum

  • Jorum is a Jisc-funded repository of OER from educational institutions in the UK. All subject areas are included. The majority of resources are "narrative text", but others, such as textbooks, exercises, and computer tutorials are included as well. 

Academic Earth

  • Academic Earth aggregates free online courses from a number of prominent academic institutions. All subject areas are included. Most resources are video lectures/tutorials or links to open courseware (OCW) courses. 

Open Education Consortium

  • The Open Education Consortium is a worldwide consortium of higher education institutions and other organizations. Their OER database contains links mostly to OCW courses and open textbooks. 

Open Yale

  • Yale Open Courses is Yale's OCW with full courses from a variety of subject areas (mostly liberal arts). Each course includes a full set of class lectures (downloadable, with audio-only versions available, and searchable transcripts included), as well as supplementary course materials such as syllabi, supplementary readings, and problem sets. 

Khan Academy

  • Khan Academy offers instructional videos and practice exercises in all subject areas, with a heavy emphasis on math skills. Other subjects include science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. (Note: Personal non-commercial use only; Khan Academy does not allow derivatives or adaptations and retains all copyright licensing.) 

Saylor Academy

  • Saylor Academy contains 300+ self-paced, free courses that are built by professors and industry professionals, some of which are peer reviewed by Saylor Faculty. All courses contain learning outcomes, course information, and use a variety of learning objects, articles, and open textbooks that are freely available online. All subject areas are represented. 

MERLOT

  • The Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a repository of over 40,000 learning materials, including websites, open textbooks, online courses, tutorials, and interactive resources. All materials are reviewed for relevance and all subject areas are represented. By creating a free account, users can also create Bookmark Collections and Course ePortfolios.


Open Course Library

  • Open Course Library (OCL) is a Washington State initiative of sharable course materials including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments created by college faculty, librarians, and other experts. Course materials are stored in Google Drive. All subject areas are represented. 

OpenStax CNX

  • Open Stax CNX is an innovative platform for sharing text-based modules of information that can be remixed and adapted. Individual learning objects (pages) are combined to create textbook-style books that are available online and can be downloaded as pdf or epub files. All subject areas are represented. 

CrashCourse

  • CrashCourse is a YouTube channel created by the VlogBrothers with 10-15 minute videos on a variety of educational topics. “Courses” of videos are available in history, psychology, literature, chemistry, ecology, and biology. Videos are licensed with a standard youtube license. 

The Orange Grove

  • The Orange Grove is Florida’s online digital repository. It contains OER from all subject areas, both for K-12 and higher education. Any types of learning objects are accepted, from teaching resources, audio and video files, full courses, animations, lesson plans, and textbooks. 

webcast.berkeley

  • webcast.berkeley is a repository of full course lectures (mostly video, some audio only) and campus events from UC Berkeley. Lectures are available through the webcast.berkeley website, YouTube, or iTunes-U, and videos are licensed as CC BY-NC-ND and contain closed captioning. All subject areas are represented. 

HippoCampus

  • Hippocampus contains over 5,700 educational videos on math, natural science, social science, and the humanities. Videos are collected from other sources such as the Khan Academy and NROC, and they retain their original copyright licenses. The site is primarily directed towards middle and high school, although most videos are appropriate for the undergraduate level. 

Xpert

  • XPERT (Xerte Public E-learning ReposiTory) is a Jisc-funded repository of e-learning resources. Materials include audio/video, handouts, research guides, web resources, and links to full courses in all subject areas. 

UCIrvine Open CourseWare

  • UC Irvine’s Open CourseWare contains full courses and video lectures from UC Irvine faculty, seminar participants, and instructional staff. Courses are available in most disciplines, with the best coverage in health sciences, physics, math, and chemistry. All content is licensed as CC BY-SA. 

OER Africa

  • OER Africa is a repository of teaching and learning resources created by partner institutions of higher education. Subject areas include agriculture, information literacy, health, and teacher education. Resources include academic papers, course syllabi, lesson plans, video, and class assignments. 

Open.Michigan

  • The Open.Michigan repository contains educational content in medicine, dentistry, engineering, information studies, public policy, and other subject areas. The repository includes full course materials and other resources such as guest lectures and open textbooks. 

Open Learning Initiative

  • Carnegie Mellon University’s Open Learning Initiative (OLI) includes 23 full courses in a variety of disciplines such as statistics, physics, engineering, writing, and languages, with a focus on first year university concepts. The courses are broken into modules and include quizzes and practice problems. 

Open Textbook Library

  • The Open Textbook Library is a repository of textbooks that are complete and openly licensed. Some of the textbooks have been openly reviewed using a rubric by faculty from educational institutions. Subjects covered include accounting, business, computer science, economics, social sciences, law, math, and sciences. 

Wikibooks

  • Wikibooks contains open textbooks that anyone can edit and use. Books are available in all subject areas, including computer science, engineering, humanities, languages, math, science, social studies, and test prep. Books are categorized by subject, reader level, and completion status, and all are licensed as CC BY-SA.

PRIMO (Peer-reviewed Instructional Materials Database)

  • The PRIMO repository contains peer-reviewed teaching materials created by librarians. It contains materials such as lesson plans, online tutorials, interactive resources, and instructional videos related to information literacy and the research process.

HumBox

  • HumBox is a Jisc-funded repository of OER in the humanities. It contains humanities teaching resources, such as lectures, powerpoint slides, and class activities. 

Noba

  • Noba is an online repository of learning objects related to psychology. Content includes textbooks (as well as modules of text that can be remixed to create custom textbooks), powerpoint presentations, instructor manuals, and test banks. 

globalEdge Online Course Materials

  • globalEdge contains educational materials related to international business. Materials include a podcast, case studies, terminology, quizzes, and other resources.

HHMI’s Biointeractive

  • The Howard Hughs Medical Institute (HHMI) Biointerative site contains OER related to science topics, including medicine, anatomy, chemistry, biology, Earth science, and paleontology. It contains worksheets, slides with embedded video, podcasts, images, video lectures, apps and interactive tutorials. (Note: Personal non-commercial use only; HHMI does not allow derivatives or adaptations and retains all copyright licensing.) 

InTech

  • InTech is a repository of almost 2500 open access books in the fields of physical sciences, engineering, technology, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. All books are licensed as CC-BY and many are authored by researchers from some of the top universities in the world. 

National Centre for Case Study Teaching in Science

  • The National Centre for Case Study Teaching in Science is a repository of science case studies for use in classrooms. Include active learning classroom materials such as case studies, discussion questions, games, debates, problem based learning, and role playing activities. All materials are freely available to use, but access to teaching notes and answer keys require a small yearly subscription. (Note: National Centre for Case Study Teaching in Science retains all copyright licensing, and there are some restrictions on use).

Bozemanscience

  • Bozemanscience is a collection of hundreds of videos created by science teacher Paul Anderson. Videos are primarily directed towards upper high school students, although most are also appropriate to the lower undergraduate level. Some videos are also directed towards teachers on different educational pedagogies. Subjects include anatomy/physiology, biology, chemistry, physics, earth science, and statistics. 

iBiology

  • iBiology contains over 300 seminars and short talks by the world’s leading scientists. Contains videos such as short clips on issues and techniques, full courses, short seminars, and instructional pedagogy. All videos are licensed as CC BY-NC-ND. 

Applied Math and Science Education Repository

  • AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. Subjects covered include science, math, history, law, medicine, social sciences, fine arts, music, anthropology, and religion, with a heavy focus on science-based classroom resources. 

CodeCademy

  • CodeCademy is an interactive learning resource for programming languages. Learning modules are available for HTML & CSS, PHP, Ruby, Python, jQuery, and Javascript. (Note: CodeCademy retains all copyright licensing. Attribution and distribution are not allowed.)